Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, beautiful hotel on the hill

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Location: You must take the bus to the tourist attractions in Amalfi, Positano, etc.
The hotel is off the main road and away from the congestion that happens in other tourist towns along the Amalfi Coast. It takes a short little hike up a hill; however, it is close to the bus stop. There is a little grocery store at the bottom of the hill that has just about anything you need. Rosa was wonderful and very helpful when it came to figuring out the bus and ferry schedules.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Il Rifugio di Ela, Hotel Management
You have been wonderful guests
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful views, wonderful owner!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: very spacious and lovely apartment. Wifi was good, and views were amazing!
Location: A couple of very good restaurants within walking distance
Rosa absolutely made this stay wonderful. We would have been lost without her. She helped us so many times making travel arrangements, figuring out the buses, helping us when our daughter lost her purse at a restaurant... And the property was the largest we stayed in while in Italy. The apartment was adorable, clean, and spacious. The market just below the apartment was well stocked, and very kind/friendly. This is a beautiful place, but requires riding a bus to get pretty much anywhere. During the busy summer months, this special area is VERY busy. Be prepared to ride buses early in the morning to get to Amalfi or anywhere and if you don't catch the early buses, you most likely will not be able to get on the bus as they are full, full, full. The local communities have hired smaller shuttles on the weekends in the summer to run routes specifically to address some of this, so they are trying very hard to help visitors get around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL, USA

Clean, comfortable, beautiful ocean views

Posted May 8, 2017
Great location, in quiet town between more tourist areas. Unit is spacious, clean, and lends well to families. Great side for making meals and enjoying time viewing sunny days on the patio, under the orange trees! Grocery store, pharmacy, emergency clinic, several excellent restaurants within a short walk. Great hosts who can also connect you with reliable vendors (scooter rental delivered to your door!). Washer machine came in so handy too!
5 out of 5
by Carlos

Absolutely wonderful!

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hospitality. Incredible view. Great location. So much better than I imagined. Small convenience store next door. Bus stop directly in front. I could not ask for anything better. Very lovely. They even baked a cake for my kids.
5 out of 5
by Ruth from Washington DC

Beautiful Aprtment

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Refugio di Ela is a lovely "refuge" from the hustle and bustle of the more touristy areas of Amalfi Coast. It's perched high up on the coast but only approx. 20 mins. by bus to the town of Amalfi. It is conveniently located near the bus stop, grocery, convenience store ( Tabachi) & post office which is the heart of the town . There were a few restaurants nearby one of which we tried and really enjoyed ( Luca's) . The people are very warm and friendly that after a mere 5 days we really felt sad to leave. The owner of the beautiful, spacious, super clean apartment Rosa is the best! She is very helpful & made us feel so welcome. She's just a lovely, lovely lady! We had the best experience at the Amalfi Coast not only because of its beauty, it's crystal clear beaches but above all because of its wonderful warm , friendly people especially of Furore!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ruth, thank you for your review, I remember of you with great affection, you are a lovely family and it was a real pleasure to have you as guests. A kiss Rosa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Peaceful haven

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing - everything great.
This was a wonderfully peaceful place to stay away from the hassle of Amalfi. We had a car but chose not to drive as the road is rather challenging and the bus stops right outside. It was a great spot for exploring the coast and mountains - we also went to Capri from here. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful - booking trips for us and sorting out problems with rental car. They even brought our washing in for us when we were late back! Our room was delightful and had a huge balcony with a lovely view. Breakfast in the garden was charming each morning. The décor in the whole place is lovely and everything is spotless. This is a great place to stay and highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

A wonderful stay on the Amalfi Coast

Posted Jul 13, 2012
Pros: Great breakfasts and wonderful hospitality.
Location: Well positioned between Positano and Amalfi for great access to the whole Amalfi coast.
This family run hotel was a wonderful place to stay. The breakfasts were great and the warm hospitality and advise on what to see in the area made our stay a memorable experience.
5 out of 5
by Misi D

Wonderful place on the top of the cliffs

Posted Jun 1, 2012 on Hotels
Perfect. Very hospitable, family owned B&B with high standards, welcoming atmosphere. The owners pay attention to the smallest details and are really and honestly welcoming (and even speak some English, too :)... True travel experience at its best! Will be back AND send our parents, too... this place is a go-for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from amersfoort

rustige ligging, net van de doorgaande weg af, bus

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Alles wat je nodig hebt was er, ruime opzet, mooi terras
Cons: ??
Location: locatie ligt mooi centraal, 5 kwartier van Napels Airport, Amalfi, Sorrento, vesuvius dichtbij goede restaurants op loop-afstand
Appartement was mooi, terras ook, zelfs nog een tweede verdieping met slaapkamer, badkamer en toilet eigen parkeerplaats, centraal grlegen. super- aardige verhuurder (rosa)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Excellent rapport qualité/prix et vue incroyable!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Charmant accueil de la part de Rosa et Antonio. Parking à proximité avec vignette fournie. Arrêt de bus devant la maison pour Amalfi (bateau pour Capri et Positano) ou Agerola. Bar, pharmacie et petite épicerie à 20 mètres. Grand appartement avec magnifique jardin. Cuisine très fonctionnelle. Lave-linge pratique (planche et fer à repasser) Climatisation dans toutes les pièces. Seul inconvénient, les chambres sont très humides (odeurs et draps humides).