Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: everything
The description of the room stated that air conditioning was included, we had to pay on the spot 7 euros a night extra to have the air conditioning control to activate the a/c. No where on the page when booking did it specify a/c was extra per night. the room was bare and not hospitable at all. the shower had no curtain and gas lines exposed throughout the room. The only positive was that the wifi was good. I would only recommend this place if its just to leave your luggage bag that's about it,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay location

Posted Aug 8, 2017
This hotel is about 15-20 minute walk uphill towards the main city area of Fira. If you want a clean hotel that you won't spend muc time in then this is it. There is a $7 charge for AC per night. We were not in the hotel much so it didn't matter. The room furniture is old so don't expect anything fancy. It is clean but the bathroom is older. It was all we needed for our stay because we didn't spend any time in the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Jul 27, 2017
This may be a nice hotel once all construction is finished. Potential hazards that may cause an accidents, e.g,. expecting clients to use temporary steps and wood planks to carry the luggage to the rooms. It is also rather far from the Fira centre to walk uphill.
3 out of 5
by robert from Canada

Blue Horizon

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice room,but it was out of the way as the town of Fira is concerned You needed transportation inorder to get to town, 20 minute walk all up hill, not a good spot for seniors. Patio service was expensive ,so avoid anything but the beer,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't go back

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: bar area was OK
Cons: needs a pool - and reception
Location: only folklore nearby - it was closed when I went to see it
Long walk to nearest restaurant (half an hour and no pavements)- poor breakfast
1 out of 5
by Ellen from San Jose

Would not stay for free

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
The experience was so bad we checked out early and moved to a different hotel. Here is a list why: 1. Dishonest employees- maid stole our jackets and did not notify anyone 2. Rooms are dusty and dirty, we had to clean furniture and floors ourselves 3. Bed is squeaky and Mattress is flat and hard- you might as well sleep on the floor 4. Windows have no screens, you will get bug bites 5. Pillows are flat and old, you won’t even notice they’re there 6. Not close to downtown Fira even though listed as a Fira hotel, expect a 25 min UP HILL hike 7. Breakfast is not free and is not worth the $ anyway 8. TV is broken 9. Wifi does not work inside rooms 10. You can hear your neighbors above and below you. You can imagine what we had to listen to. 11. Shower only has curtain, no doors, expect to flood the bathroom floors every time you shower 12. Exposed wires and tubes from walls inside hotel room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic choice for budget

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Our booking was transferred from another property to Fira Blue Horizon therefore we don't really know what to expect. But the young lad at the front desk is extremely friendly and helpful. As long as you ask, he would get out of his way to assist. The location is not the most accessible but with about 10 minutes walk to Fira town centre, not really something we would complain. There are plenty of convenience shops and restaurants. The bed is not the most comfortable, and be aware of mosquitoes during summer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Pictures are not this hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The price was right for our trip and was fine for the limited time that we spent at the hotel.
Cons: The pictures of this hotel show a pool, which it does not have, as well as several other photos are of a different hotel than the Fira Blue Horizon.
We went at the begging of tourist season and they were not ready for us. Our rooms were not clean when we arrived, dirty sheets and pillow cases, mud in the shower, and not enough beds in our room. They brought the other beds but the other aspects were not cleaned while we there (three days and 2 nights). Wifi was inaccessible in the rooms at the hotel but worked as well as any hotel in Greece when up by the bar/breakfast room. The individual who checked us in did not speak English, making check in a bit difficult. She also became very flustered when we and a few other groups all arrived at the same time to check in, however the manager spoke English well and was able to address some of our concerns later on. The hotel was very nice and on our last day allowed us a space to store our bags as our ferry did not leave until 4:30 and check out was at 12:00. The hotel was a bargain hotel which worked out fine for a few college students on Spring break for a study abroad program, I would not recommend the hotel for families or couples looking to vacation on Santorini, there are nicer options.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely but very over worked staff

Posted Jul 2, 2015
The hotel was alright but looked like it needed some tlc e.g broken mirror, dodgy lock, bad aircon. We got transfer to another hotel for our last night which we didn't mind at all and had the same owner but the lady who ran this place (called sandy resort perivolos) was so unfriendly and intimidating (you just have to look at reviews of that place to get a feel for it, I don't advice accepting the a transfer there). The deal was that if we transferred, we'd get a lift to the port for our 3.20am ferry from the owner but he failed to meet us when he said he would leaving us stranded in the middle of the night until 15 minutes before the ferry when he finally appeared. He drove us there in his car which had no seatbelts and the driving was terrifying. It was an awful experience. The only good thing about Fira Blue is the lovely and helpful man who works there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst ever.

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
After arriving in the city later than I has expected, I found the hotel dark and closed. Went to a local convenience store, they called, sent a TWELVE YEAR OLD BOY AS "RECEPTION", hotel said they hadn't booked me because my card was declined (lie). Stayed elsewhere.