Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yucca Valley CA

Location, Location, Location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Location, ambiance, service and price
Cons: Have the restaurant open every night
Location: Close to Yosemite.
Narrow Gauge Inn is close to Yosemite. One of the reasons we booked there. Overall, the facilities are great. The pool is beautiful and relaxing. The trail through Marty's Garden around the Inn is a must do while you are there. And I cannot say enough about Michelle in the front office. She helped carry our luggage to the middle level. My recent knee surgery made me a bit useless in that. If you need front door access, do call and reserve that in advance! They try to assist in any special needs. The room reminded me of staying at my Grandmother's house. Botanical prints and floral curtains. I was very pleased with the cleanliness. No air conditioning was no problem since we were at the park all day. In the evening, the fan and open windows cooled us off sufficiently. One negative was the absence of in room coffee our last morning. We were right next to the breakfast area so it worked. The real negative was the restaurant was not open. It is only open Wednesday through Sunday. I think.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Yosemite

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Nice inn, great restaurant. Lack of air conditioning, a negative
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Back to nature

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Balcony is 10' over a small stream that you can enjoy it's babbling all night long.
3 out of 5
by Brandi

Good location... and that's all.

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel advertises a 3:00 pm check-in, however, when we arrived we were told our room wasn't going to be ready until around 3:30, which was fine. We explored the local area a bit and then came back a little after 4:00 pm. Upon arrival (a different person) we were told that our room still was not clean and wouldn't be for another 30 minutes. He then looked in his system and said, wait, no one stayed there yesterday, it should be fine. We got to the room and it was nice, quaint. However, it most certainly not clean (spider webs in the corners, dead bugs in the windows, and a film of dust flew onto us and the bed when we turned the fan on. They also only had decaf coffee and told us they were out of regular coffee when we asked (this was promptly corrected by another staff member that overheard). My husband ended up using the net to clean the pool of debris so we could take a swim. The room they gave us also happened to be below the restaurant. Kept us up until around midnight the night before we hiked Half Dome. We checked out a day early, after doing the hike, and drove six hours home to stay in our own beds (forfeiting our second pre-paid night) rather than continue the stay. The one plus, probably the closest location to Yosemite you are going to get if you delay in booking inside the park. Next time, we'll camp on the mountain :/.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Poor Customer Service Experiences

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Location: It is located within a one hour drive of Yosemite National Park
The Inn is able to take financial advantage of its proximity to Yosemite and the lack of accommodation in the immediate area. In hindsight, Oakhurst is a cheaper option, albeit adding 20 minutes to the journey to Yosemite. Other reviewers have described the Inn as ‘quaint’ but in my view, it is ‘tired’ and some refurbishment is due. The breakfasts were satisfactory but lacking in variety. Customer Service standards were at best, poor: At check-in, the Receptionist broke off to engage with others. At the end, I felt ‘dismissed’. At check-out, the process seemed troublesome for the Receptionist and again, at the end, I felt dismissed. Following departure, I discovered I had left an item in the room. I took the initiative to contact them by telephone to claim it and organise its return. They were resistant to my proposal that they post it and recover the cost from the reserve held against my credit card, rather, they focused on “we will send an email with a link to instructions”. This email, an automated Lost & Found Service, was sent 5 days later but was a lost property claim only. This was promptly completed and responded to with a ‘found’ message and options for return. The automated service stalled at this point. I emailed the Inn every day for several days and was ignored. When contact was finally established, I was offered a shipping option at $80. I countered with a USPS option at $13 but the Inn will action return at $80 only.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be careful

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Room was dark with dirty carpet. Bathroom shower was VERY small. Balcony was old and dirty. My wife was bitten twice while in the room by what we think were spiders. Parking is very bad. Not at all what was portrayed online.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some TLC

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The location and staff
Cons: All rooms need to be refurbished with new linens, curtains, carpet.
Location: Yosemite is a short 9-10 miles from this hotel
The Narrow Gauge Hotel is in a great location if you are going into Yosemite. This was my first time staying in this hotel and I would not recommend it. The rooms are very outdated and smell of mildew, former cigarette smoke and not being aired out. For the cost I would expect a little more TLC in this facility. The staff were all very pleasant as was the hot breakfast offered.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Expensive for what it is

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Cons: breakfast, upgrade the rooms
This hotel may be nice during the touristic season. We stayed there on May 29th and the swimming pool was closed as well as the Jacuzzi. We chose to pay more for this hotel because of the Jacuzzi ... The bedroom is old style (may be typical but we could feel the hot water going in the shower pipe through the shower tiles). The bed was comfortable but noisy when moving in it. Breakfast was only eggs, bacon , bagels, and industrial oatmeal. For the price ($287 for 1 night), we were expecting a better service and food. Sure it is close to Yosemite south gate but going back I would choose another hotel.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Great place

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
The heating was a little weak in the room. Chilly. But it's an awesome place with great service and excellent food.
2 out of 5
by Helene

Inn near Yosemite

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
The Inn was older and needs updating. Reception and breakfast staff not overly friendly. Tho the area is beautiful.