Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pismo Beach Ca

Adorable

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: in the trees and the brook behind
Cons: wallpaper issues
Location: Yosemite
Super sweet staff !!...loved being in the trees and the babbling brook was adorable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

old and pleasant small motel in the mountains

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: atmosphere, quaintness
Location: old train station, great gardens
friendly staff, quaint environment, beautiful gardens excellent heater, comfortable bed
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Close to Yosemite

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Generally very tired hotel. Breakfast very poor in dark restaurant, badly organized. Restaurant closed at night so had to go to nearby expensive resort to get food. Not in our plan. No drinking water in room due to recent fires in area - hotel provided free bottles. Would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

A beautiful and relaxing stay!

Posted Nov 9, 2017
My partner and I had the most beautiful stay at this cosy little place in the woods. It’s super close to Yosemite so very convenient for anyone looking at staying close by! The complimentary breakfast was absolutely delightful and so delicious we were extremely happy!! The staff are also lovely and the rooms are cosy and comfortable - with beautiful surroundings! Would highly recommend 😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but light on amenities

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Rustic beautiful old inn. Rooms small with no refrigerator or microwave. Clean comfortable and staff was great. Disappointed bar & restaurant closed during week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel for day tripping in Yosemite

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We were a little late in booking a hotel for Yosemite and lots of the hotels in the National Park were booked or too expensive. We stayed 2 nights here in a 2 week trip out west. One day, we drove an hour from here to Yosemite National Park and spent all day there. It was amazing, and the drive there was not bad at all. When we got back in the evening, the dinner at Narrow Gauge Inn was awesome! We really enjoyed this cute inn. The staff was incredibly friendly as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice stay near Yosemite

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The staff, the setting.
This hotel has a real cosy forest cabin feel to it, surrounded by trees and the sound of a running stream. The staff were very friendly and put on a simple but nice breakfast each morning (cereal, bagels, muffins etc...). Our room was comfortable and clean. There is a small pool and a hot tub (which we ended up being too tired to use after all our hiking unfortunately, but I can imagine in the winter this would be great after a long day outside!) It's an hour's drive from Yosemite Valley, but the drive is so scenic that it is very enjoyable and went by very quickly. The Wi-Fi was fine but a bit patchy, but we didn't mind, as we didn't travel to Yosemite to sit on our phones!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Wonderful staff, very knowledgeable about the area and helpful. Definitely take the Moonlight train ride if you go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by -Karianne, Hotel Management
We are so glad you chose to stay here at Narrow Gauge Inn while you were on vacation! Thank you so much for the kind review :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

No Air Conditioner

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: NO
Cons: Update the room and add AC
Location: Good location and beautiful restaurant
NO AC in the hot summer not good, it is over price for an outdated room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
A good location, and a nice place to stay !!