Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Yosemite!

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Great place to stay, very close to Yosemite. The only reason it didn’t get 5 stars is the radiator heater is noisy. Also, when I say 5 star, know what you are booking. This place is nothing extravagant, but it’s reasonable price, great location, friendly staff and clean rooms earn it a high rating. I highly recommend if you’re going to Yosemite, that you consider this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hermosa Beach, CA

Loved it!

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Room was clean and had a gorgeous view of the forest. We really enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and the hotel staff was very nice. We will definitely be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable bed and nice staff

Posted Nov 24, 2017
The dining hall was horrible, for some reason there were only two people serving and cooking at the same time. The food was overly priced and the waitress told me it was their first time seeing the menu, however she was genuine and nice as well as the lady at the front desk. Overall it was a comfy stay if you don’t mind the vintage interior, although i wish there would be more charger sockets on the walls.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic and tired

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Very basic lodging in desperate need of updating. The location is very nice, just a shame the place is falling down. The locks on the front door were falling off and door was misshapen so had to be slammed to shut it. You always knew when your neighbours got up in the morning from the loud bang. The internet only worked well close to the main office. Those of us in rooms far away from the office got dial up speeds, making even checking email a pain. Breakfast was very good, hot tasty food. When I return to Yosemite I will probably stay in Oakhurst which is very close by and has many places to eat as well as 2 huge grocery stores. Overall this is a really nice location let down by not properly installing the wireless network and not repairing the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pismo Beach Ca

Adorable

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: in the trees and the brook behind
Cons: wallpaper issues
Location: Yosemite
Super sweet staff !!...loved being in the trees and the babbling brook was adorable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

old and pleasant small motel in the mountains

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: atmosphere, quaintness
Location: old train station, great gardens
friendly staff, quaint environment, beautiful gardens excellent heater, comfortable bed
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Close to Yosemite

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Generally very tired hotel. Breakfast very poor in dark restaurant, badly organized. Restaurant closed at night so had to go to nearby expensive resort to get food. Not in our plan. No drinking water in room due to recent fires in area - hotel provided free bottles. Would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

A beautiful and relaxing stay!

Posted Nov 9, 2017
My partner and I had the most beautiful stay at this cosy little place in the woods. It’s super close to Yosemite so very convenient for anyone looking at staying close by! The complimentary breakfast was absolutely delightful and so delicious we were extremely happy!! The staff are also lovely and the rooms are cosy and comfortable - with beautiful surroundings! Would highly recommend 😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but light on amenities

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Rustic beautiful old inn. Rooms small with no refrigerator or microwave. Clean comfortable and staff was great. Disappointed bar & restaurant closed during week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel for day tripping in Yosemite

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We were a little late in booking a hotel for Yosemite and lots of the hotels in the National Park were booked or too expensive. We stayed 2 nights here in a 2 week trip out west. One day, we drove an hour from here to Yosemite National Park and spent all day there. It was amazing, and the drive there was not bad at all. When we got back in the evening, the dinner at Narrow Gauge Inn was awesome! We really enjoyed this cute inn. The staff was incredibly friendly as well.