Ratings based on 2,394 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new market, maryland

Beautiful hotel with many amenities

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We loved the hotel it was beautiful and the restaurants were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Yosemite National Park Visit

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The lobby/reception area was nicer than the Yosemite Hotel. The rooms were nice with all of the amenities, i.e. shampoo, lotion, soap & hairdryer.
Cons: The vending machines only took quarters and would not take dollar bills. Who has that many quarters?
Location: The hotel is about 30 minutes from Yosemite Valley. Lots of local hiking places near the hotel.
The Tenaya Lodge is a great place to stay. The room was great. The hotel is a beautiful place to stay. The lobby with the giant fire place is a wonderful meeting room and also a place to sit and read. The food was good, a little pricey though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, UK

Close to Yosemite

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Excellent hotel, very clean and comfortable. Very good customer service and always friendly. Very close to Yosemite National Park South gate. Hotel facilities including pool and hot tubs all tidy and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Ideal Location but....

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Quiet setting, staff friendly and lots of activity choice.
Cons: Pool area was small and crowded. Limited restaurant and menu choice.
Location: Lots of activities offered by the hotel including horse riding, fishing, walking treks etc, in addition to being able to explore Yosemite.
Stayed for three nights with my husband and two children. Hotel is ideally situated for exploring Yosemite and provides a tranquil setting. Checkin was efficient and staff firiendly. Room was big enough for the four of us and clean and bathroom was well stocked and clean. Wardrobe space and draw space could have been improved as there was enough dead space in the room to make better use of. We struggled with the space available no nowhwere near enough coat hangars! The three pools described by Tenaya Kodge are actually situated in the one area which becomes very crowded, particularly in the afternoons when everyone has returned from their days activities and we, along with others, struggled to find free sun beds at this time. Sun beds are positioned very, very close together and offer little privacy. Restaurants are, in my opinion, limited. Hardly ever saw anyone dining in Embers and this could be utilised to provide a nicer, friendlier dining experience. All the menus from room service, Jacalopes and Sierrarestaurant are very similar. As this is a hotel where people do not tend to venuture out at night and eat in the hotel because of location then variety is required and the hotel should at least offer a couple of daily specials. All this said, we enjoyed our stay at Tenaya Lodge but would look to see what other options were available nearby if we were to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Hotel was clean friendly and had plenty of events and excellent food. Very expensive to est there. We went into town and ate most of the time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

changed room condition

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Hotel changed room from 2queen to 1King instead of our family is 4 person, no information before check in. finally Hotel prepared 2 roll
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Great hotel, with lots to see and do! The only negative was the cost. Given location guests are a captive market so prices are hugely inflated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Heather B. Sales Assistant, Hotel Management
Hi Ruth, Thank you for your comments. I am so glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope that you will consider a return trip in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A warm and welcoming mountain stay

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Unable to get a room in Yosemite Valley we booked here instead. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, particularly concierge who advised a great day of walks for us for our one day in the valley. We liked everything about the place with its rustic mountain lodge style. Although it felt remote from the closest town the lodge had a well stocked shop and several eateries. The early local Yarts bus picked us up on the highway outside and took us up to the valley where we then shuttled our way around on the free valley buses. It was good to leave our own car back in the lodge car park for the day. The Yarts bus then dropped us back to the Fish Camp general store (it couldn't drop us back to the lodge because there was nowhere to stop) and the driver rang ahead and the lodge sent a car to pick us up. It was all very easy. The only complaint I would make about the place was the noise. This place urgently needs to install soft closing devices on all room doors. Every time someone used their door it would slam so hard that our walls would shake - this went on all day and into the night and I can't work out why they haven't done anything about this. It would be so easy to fix and would make a huge difference. The other problem was that we were in an interconnecting room and the noise from our party central neighbours floated through until midnight- request a room that doesn't share these doors. Despite this, I would stay at Tenaya again though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family trip to Yosemite

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The hotel staff couldn't be more pleasant and helpful. The hotel is well placed for the south entrance. The food at the hotel is expensive and the pizzeria is disappointing as the bases are frozen. The hotel does a BBQ tho which has great food and a great atmosphere in the forest. Overall a fab hotel and wd go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Heather B. , Hotel Management
Hi Traveler, Thank you for your review! I am thrilled that overall you had a great experience. I have passed along your comments regarding the pizzeria to our restaurant manger and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on an area that may need improvement. Thank you again for your comments and for your patronage. We hope you will stay with us again soon! Thank you, Heather B.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
The rooms were spacious and clean. One issue that we had was that the bathroom door, which was a rolling barn door style , did not close all the way. We could always see out of the door while in the bathroom, which was kind of disturbing. Wished for more privacy in the bathroom, but overall a nice hotel and good experience