Ratings based on 2,355 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mountain Retreat

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Breakfast at 6:00 a.m.
Location: Went to Yosemite valley the second day. There was a steam train nearby and the valley was not far.
Hotel was beautiful. Especially liked the "campfire dinner" we partook of on our first night. We did some hiking and the trail to the falls was not bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Best Lodge in Yosemite

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Everything! The Spa is an exquisite setting and experience too.
Cons: The towels were stiff & uncomfortable--as if they use fabric softener that clogs the pile. The archery lessons looked interesting but hard to get to.
Location: See above. Took a ton of photographs, but the hotel Web site accurately shows the rooms and venue. There is something for everyone.
We really enjoyed Tenaya and all of its amenities, including the nicest staff, beautiful roomy room, excellent decor, wide-ranging activities and delicious restaurants with three to choose from on site. Don't forget to check out the "Jackalope" in Jackalope's Bar & Grill. Their panko-fried chicken and nachos are to die for. During our stay we took the 6-hour "Discover Yosemite" tour of Yosemite Park and got to see all of the other lodges, falls, rock formations and sites, including The Majestic (Ahwahnee), but in our view nothing compared to the updated freshness and beauty of Tenaya. We have already recommended it to friends and would definitely stay there again. It is surrounded by beautiful trees and mountain views, even though it is just outside the actual park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, CA

Nice respite outside Yosemite

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: The outdoor dining on the patio at night.
Cons: The line in the small onsite store in the morning was a 1/2 hour wait to get a coffee and a banana with just two employees behind the counter.
Location: Best thing was the day tour of Yosemite. We had not booked it ahead and were on a wait list until 10pm the night before, but got on. Perfect tour!
The room left lots to be desired. We had a view of pipes and roof. The room was dark with a door to the bathroom that didn't really shut. So-so in terms of cleanliness. There was some sort of purple blob on the ceiling. The restaurant on the ground was the saving grace with the lovely outdoor patio and very good food. As we were there in the summer, evening dining was delightful. Pool area was so crowded with little to no chance of getting a spot if you came in around 4.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Yosemite resort

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Looks beautiful and rustic close to park.
Cons: Take out carpet
Location: We did the discover Yosemite 150$ for full day tour it was really a good tour we saw everything you could and didn't have to worry about driving.
Tenaya was a beautiful resort, we loved the fire pits and the barbecue the most. The beds were too hard so the staff gladly added soft toppers to the bed that made A big difference in comfort. One day I needed my wine bottle opened because there was not one in our room, the people at the restaurant booking desk said it will cost 20$, I complained at the front desk and instead they gave me a corkscrew. I thought that was ridiculous! Coffee was 5 $ for a small coffee, too expensive. ,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Twas an ok stay

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Check in staff service
Location: Yosemite National Park & Flashlight tour
Check in for this hotel is at 4pm, quite late compared to other hotels and then check out is at 11am. We arrived from a long travel day and hoped to check in a bit earlier, but had to check in at the dot of 4pm as the room wasn't ready even though staff apparently mentioned that we arrived with housekeeping. We registered but didn't have any access to the hotel facilities whilst waiting nor did they offer it for us. Most games in the arcade room were out of order. Did the flashlight tour with the kids and our guide (Logan) was great, very knowledgeable. Concierge also gave us some valuable information. Comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cupertino, CA

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The lodge is fairly close to one of the park entrances. The rooms were clean and the staff were nice. Next time we will hopefully be able to bring our puppy here :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A good base for exploring Yosemite

Posted Jul 9, 2017
A very comfortable hotel to return to after a hard day exploring Yosemite. Great staff, good food... and comfortable beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from idaho

Quiet, lots of amenities

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Lots to do
Cons: A little expensive
Very comfortable , enjoyed the spa and pool, restaurants were good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Tenaya KD, Hotel Management
Sami and Brit, thanks for taking the time to rate us. We appreciate your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, CA

I am not happpy with the Restaurant at the hotel.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
I don't like about this hotel is the restaurant. The service was a horrible. I ordered a Cobb salad. The lettus does not fresh. The chef left cores in which is a terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Heather B. , Hotel Management
Hi Stan, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent experience. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with the Cobb salad and the service during your meal. Please call the hotel directly and ask to speak with the restaurant manager, as we would like the opportunity to correct your experience. Thank you again for your comments and honestly. We will look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dairy,or

cottages

Posted Jun 30, 2017
stayed in a cottage for two nites, a short distance from the hotel. The cottage was beautiful with new furniture and bedding. We had a great stay.