Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff, gemsbok (!!) on the lawn, simple but delicious dinner, amazing natural beauty.
Cons: Air conditioning in room.
We loved our stay in this stunning part of the world.
5 out of 5
by Gottfried from Cape Town

African feel

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great location near Fish River Canyon
Comment from Hotel Management
by Social Media Assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback, We hope you have enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Koney
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oasis in the Desert

Posted May 13, 2016
great location tucked in among the rocks, would recommend to anyone took parents and they loved it too
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Koney , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the great feedback and for recommending our establishment. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to our establishment. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from edinburgh, Scotland

Unusual, peaceful, pleasant

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Staff and draught beer.
Cons: More versatile accommodation
Location: Near the Fish River Canyon rim, walks in the local area, trip to Ai-Ais to see the mouth of the canyon
Like an oasis in the desert Canyon Lodge offered a delightful respite from the harsh surroundings. The accommodation consists of 25 small chalets with thatched roof, some built into rock. They have air on but no fridge, and are quite small, but clean. We booked in for 4 nits, but left after 3, as activities were limited. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool, some distance from the other buildings and very peaceful. We would go again, but for no more than 2 nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Social Media Assistant , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. Your valuable feedback has been shared with the housekeeping staff and lodge management; hoping to welcome you back on your next visit to our establishment. We wish you all the fun in your future adventures. Warm regards Koney
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely lodge

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: The setting
Cons: They have done a nice job with small spaces. Step down to the bathroom was a bit dangerqous
Location: Fish canyon is the only thing to see there
The lodge is in an amazing setting. The surrounding rocks were the best part the chalets are lovely but a bit cramped. We had to walk a long way to the main lodge but conversely we had privacy
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2015 by Katrin - Gondwana Social Media, Hotel Management
We thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your experiences at the Canyon Lodge. We appreciate your feedback greatly and look forward to welcoming you back at the lodge again in the future. Kind regards, Katrin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay near Fish River Canyon

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Location in rocky landscape with easy drive to Fish River Canyon.
Location: Although the Lodge feels isolated and in a remote location, it is an easy drive to visit the spectacular Fish River Canyon.
Comfortable well appointed rooms set into the rocky landscape with good outlook. Good meals and chef made a special effort to cater for vegetarian requirements.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2015 by Social Media Assistant, Hotel Management
We are very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the food and the view at the Canyon Lodge. We thank you for taking the time to write us a review as we appreciate your feedback on your experiences very much. Kind regards, Katrin
5 out of 5
by Andre from Cape Town, South Africa

Self driving couple from Cape Town, South Africa.

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
The Eastern side of the Fishriver Canyon is the best side to visit. There are lots of animals on the road, from Impala, mountain zebras and Springbok to little klipspringers. Canyon Lodge is also THE place to be when visiting this area. Fantastic pool area, the honesty bar is a novel idea and the setting is just beautiful. Loads of great photo opportunities here. Then a quick 20km drive to Canyon Roadhouse is an absolute must!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2015 by Social Media Assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your experience at the lodge and it's surroundings. We are very thrilled to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back at the lodge again. Kind regards, Katrin
5 out of 5
by Samuel from Oregon

Enjoyable stay near Fish River Canyon

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice and quiet chalet (# 25) away from other rooms and walking paths (some chalets have paths to other chalets that pass nearby). A bit of a walk to the main lodge, but we liked it that way. Some rooms require walking up and down a series of steps, so if this is an issue for you, be sure to tell reception when you book! We ate dinner one night and absolutely enjoyed it, but only ate 1 night due to the high price for the buffet. Breakfast was included in our room and was also very nice. The lodge may look a bit out of place in the middle of the dessert with all the green lawns and flowers, but for us it was a welcome sight after camping and traveling long distances. Only complaint was that there was dust and spider webs up under the thatch roof and dust on the top of the walls, but it really wasn't very noticeable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2015 by Social Media Assistant, Hotel Management
We apologise for any lack in cleaning and are very glad that you were able to enjoy your stay at the lodge so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Katrin
5 out of 5
by Danuta from Australia

spectacular location

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
The Lodge is a green oasis surrounded by rocks and sand with a magnificent pool setting. Some of he individual rock cottages are actually built against the huge boulders, so parts of the boulder forms the wall of the cottage. If you like your privacy this is certainly the place.The food and service are very good.The Canyon Village is close by (5 minutes drive or 20 minute walk) which allows you to have a change in dining venues.The Canyon Village accommodation is similar except the cottages are not surrounded by lush green lawns, but is much cheaper. I would certainly stay there again, it would take a lot to beat the spectacular setting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels