Ratings based on 5,591 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from OC California

Excellent Location by the Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Complimentary beverage (water) should be included at the rate the hotel commands...
Location: Excellent...walking distance to all major attractions in Northbeach and along Embarcadero.
Had guests visiting from overseas and picked this hotel after wrestling for few days with other options...Excellent location on Jefferson st. on the north end of the Fisherman's Wharf. Check in was easy and we got upgraded to Queen Deluxe. But the excitement was short lived as both of our rooms were located on the other end of the building...far from elevator facing a zero-view street that was bit noisy at night. Rooms were generally clean and had character as over-sized wooden columns and beams outlined an red brick wall complementing otherwise contemporary setup. TV remote seemed out of battery and had to be taped constantly to flip the channels. Location is what makes his hotel work. It's walking distance to all major attractions in and around FW 39, Boudin, Lombard St., Embacadero, Crookedest Street etc. We drove and paid each night for valet parking..If you want in-out option, it will cost extra. Expensive, but finding parking in SF is somewhat of an art and we wanted to use that time to do more productive things. Overall, it was a pleasing stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Mark Thank you so much for the review we greatly appreciate it. The entire team is ecstatic to had made your stay memorable. There so many benefits for staying here at the Argonaut. We offer two free (limited availability) from Blazing Saddles, $10 food and beverage credit to use in the Blue Mermaid, a lot of discounts ant many of our local businesses such as Ben and Jerry's and Sees Candy is just right behind the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Annapolis MD

Great location near Fisherman's Wharf.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff
Location: Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, Cable car
Great location,great staff. Concierge was very knowledgable. On-site restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Room was large and in perfect condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operatons Manger, Hotel Management
Joel Thank you so much for the raving review and perfect score we greatly appreciate it. The Argonaut is definitely a destination because we in the middle of Fisherman's Wharf right in the heart of all local attractions. Like the cable car turn is right next to the hotel, Hyde St. Pier is across the street, Coit Tower is not too far, and Pier 39 is just a step way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Would stay here again. Clean, beautiful, well appointed. Convenient to transportation. Great view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Ted Thank you so much for the raving review and giving us a perfect 5 out of 5 score. The entire team is ecstatic to had made your stay memorable and fantastic. The Argonaut is close to everything it is a perfect place to stay. The cable car turn is right next to the hotel and so are all the other major forms of transportation. Our rooms overlook the beautiful bay and you can see the Golden Gate Bridge as well as Alcatraz. We hope you will come visit us again shortly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Beautiful hotel in historic building with nautical decor. Great location! Easy walk to Fisherman’s Wharf, cable cars, & other attractions. Great restaurant in the hotel too! Very clean, quiet & comfortable room. Highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Kathy We greatly appreciate the raving review and the perfect score! We are ecstatic to had made your stay incredibly memorable and fun. We are located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf right in the middle of all local attractions. The cable car turn is in Victoria Park which is right next to the hotel, Hyde Street Pier is across the street, and Ghirardelli Square is a block away. We hope to see you visit us again shortly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel close to attractions.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Close to many area attractions
Cons: Nothing
Location: Fisherman's wharf, cable cars, many good restaurants
Arrived early but was allowed to check in. Great staff, very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for giving us a review and we greatly appreciate the fantastic score. We are extremely pleased we had made your stay enjoyable and memorable. The Argonaut is in the middle of Fisherman's Wharf right where all the local attractions. The cable car turn is just right next to the hotel and Pier 39 is just steps away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Great Hotel Near Fisherman's Whraf

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Location; clean, quiet, and the staff was friendly, respectful and helpful. The room was nicely decorated and the maid service was excellent.
Location: We suggest a half-day ferry trip to Sausalito. Rent a bike and ride across the Golden Gate Bridge. Take in trip to the Legion of Honor, The de Young
Our four night stay was arranged as a package with our airfare. The Argonaut Hotel was central to all that was happening in and around San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. The staff was helpful and checkin and checkout was speedy. The room was excellent -- the bed was great! We were also given four $10 discount vouchers for meals at the hotel's Blue Mermaid Restaurant which helped to defray expenses and we recommend the restaurant. We did not have an auto and noted that parking would be a problem, however, there is plenty of public transportation available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Joseph We greatly appreciate the raving review and perfect score! The entire team is ecstatic to had made your stay incredibly memorable. The Argonaut is right in the hart of Fisherman's Wharf in the middle of all local attractions the cable car turn is right next to the hotel and Pier 39 is just steps away. To enhance your experience with us we also offer the following benefits. Two free hour (limited availability) bike rental from Blazing Saddles, $10 credit to use in the Blue Mermaid every evening, countless discounts from local business such as Ben and Jerry's and See's Candy which is located right behind the hotel. Our seasoned concierge accommodate your every request from restaurants to an excursion out in the wine country. When you are done site seeing stop by the Blue Mermaid to enjoy a bowl of our award winning, world famous, chowder. When your future travels will bring you back to San Francisco please come visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Great location. Newly renovated. Rooms a bit on smaller side, but nice and clean. Parking expensive (par for the course). Good restaurant downstairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dana Thank you so much for the fantastic review and perfect score we greatly appreciate it. We hope to see you visit us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Very poor, tourist filled hotel. Rude staff and overall unenjoyable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review and talk about your experience. I will take a look into your stay to see where we had failed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Close location to trolley, great restaurants nearby and in hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Carrie Thank you so much for giving us a perfect score we are so please to had made your stay memorable and fun. Please come see us again shortly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel nice but valet parking expensive

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Hotel locates at Fishman Wharf. Good location. The room is spacious and nice with golden gate bridge view. The front desk staff is helpful. Everything is nice but the valet parking cost $69 per day. And the hotel charges $22 per day resort fee. The stay becomes expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and rating us. We are super excited to had made your stay incredible and memorable. The Argonaut is centrally located in Fisherman's Wharf which puts us in the middle of all the local attractions. The cable car turn is right next to the hotel and Pier 39 is just steps away. We hope to see you visit us again shortly.