Ratings based on 5,492 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Very dirty.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Definitely not a quality room for the money. Charged for everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Great hotel, Amazing location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
This was the only hotel I saw right in Fishermans Wharf. You are litterally across the street from a beach and a wonderful view of the sun setting over the bay and the Golden Gate Bridge. It was walkable to everything! The room was very spacious with a king bed and couch/sitting area. The bathroom was not huge but very functional with a ton of counter space. Had a nice pocket door to save space as well. The cleaning crew did an AMAZING job cleaning the room but they were a little inconsistent with the towels they left and refilling waters in the fridge. But if there was ever an issue or we needed anything we just had to call and we had it within minutes. All in all this was an amazing hotel close to everything. I would definitely stay there again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Our first visit to San Francisco and the Argonaut staff could not have been nicer. Centrally located on Fisherman's Wharf, easy to access the sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to Fishermen wharf

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Close to everything
Location: Close to shopping and great restaurants
Enjoyed our stay. It is close to shopping. Bellman are very courteous and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Location was excellent. Good size room and comfortable.
Hotel is right on the waterfront on Fishermans wharf and ideal for access to ferries, biking the bridge and trams or taxis to downtown or other tourist attractions. Good for families and has all the amenities you would expect of a 4* hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Excellent hotel at SF waterfront

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful, especially the bell and parking staff.
Cons: We only stayed one night, so didn't see anything that needed improvement. Nothing can be done about the lack of views from the rooms.
Location: Great location! Plenty of souvenir shops and restaurants nearby. There is a little museum outside the lobby of the hotel that was interesting.
This hotel is in an excellent location by Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 and all the shops and restaurants along the street that fronts the water. We enjoyed walking around to the shops and especially enjoyed Ben & Jerry's next door and the crepe restaurant about a block down. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful, especially the bell and parking staff. Although no hotels in SF are cheap, this was a good value and great location for the money. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated in a nautical theme. The only major downside was that the hotel is shaped like a rectangle and all of the rooms look down onto the roof of the first floor in the middle of the rectangle (i.e., no water views). However this is easily remedied by stepping outside of the hotel as I'm not one to want to hang out in the room much anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Newtownabbey

Nice hotel close to Fishermans Wharf

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and Concierge
Cons: None I can think of.
Location: You can ride bikes or small motor bike. It is within walking distance of ferry boats to Sausalito, Alcatraz, Pier 39.
We found the staff and the hotel all we wanted as it was close to Fishermans Wharf as well as close to Ghiriradelli square and Trolley rides.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aiea, HI

Fantastic hotel in the best location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Decor, location, cleanness, rates
Cons: None I can think of
Location: It is located on the main strip of Fisherman's Wharf. Pier 39, Ghiradelli Square, Cable Car, many restaurants and shops were within walking distance.
I loved everything about this hotel. The location couldn't be any better. I loved the interior and exterior of the hotel. It is very stylish and clean. Beds were super comfortable. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

I wouldn't stay again

Posted Jul 11, 2017
This hotel is right by the waterfront area, it's a very crowded area. Understanding we stayed on July 4th, we were next to a room who left their music on super loud and left the room until after fireworks. Then when they got back they were loud until way past midnight. We complained to the hotel staff who could not go in the room without someone there because of the privacy light, but they never came back to reprimand them. They did take away one night of parking which is all they said they could do since we booked through Expedia. Now we have a $20 additional charge other than our parking that we have no idea what it's for (we didn't consume any incidentals) that we will now have to dispute. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I will say the staff in general and especially the valet Dominico saves the hotel from an even worse review. I will not be staying here ever again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salinas, California

Excellent location on Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: We typically stay on Union Square but were looking for something different. The Argonaut provided that too us with so many ideas near water.
Cons: The bar area was being used for part of the restaurant so we weren't able to just walk in for a drink.
Location: All that Fisherman's Wharf has to offer; biking; walking; fishing charters; water sightseeing; Alcatraz charters; Ghirardelli Square.
Beautiful; clean hotel with limitless activity possibilities. Close to beaches; wharf; Pier 39; shops; Ghirardelli Square.