Ratings based on 5,495 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Alberta Canada

Beautiful Hotel. Fantastic location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Location was fantastic. Everything on the Fishermans Wharf was on your doorstep. I couldn't be happier with the service and the facility's
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great Experience: Location, location, location!!!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The location is fantastic, the staff are friendly and helpful. My room was spacious with a tremendous view. I enjoyed sitting by the fire in the lobby
Cons: I would have liked more information about the parking situation on their website.
Location: It's easier just to google it! I walked almost to the Golden Gate Bridge, did walk to Union Square and Chinatown. Could have walked to Lands End!
Having never been to San Francisco, I chose the Argonaut for its location and view of the gorgeous bay. Internet pictures do not do it justice! The hotel's nautical atmosphere set the tone for a truly memorable stay in San Francisco. A day before I arrived, I called to see if there was an early checkin. The friendly staff member was helpful even though early checkin could not be guaranteed. When I arrived at the hotel, I was more than pleased on so many accounts. The hotel is located across the street from the bay and is in walking distance of countless attractions on the northside. (I walked to Union Square!) When I drove up to the front of the Argonaut, I was greeted by John, who was so very helpful with my parking needs. Once inside, luck was on my side and I was indeed able to check in early! The room was spacious, nicely appointed, and what a view of the bay! I could look out my window and see the Golden Gate Bridge! The bathroom was roomy and modern. Paula, the concierge, helped me tremendously planning my trips to Alcatraz and Muir Woods. Thanks Paula!!!!! I dined multiple times at the Blue Mermaid. The restaurant can be entered from inside the hotel or the Cannery courtyard. It was a delight eating al fresco in the height of the summer! The weather was in the high sixties!) The food was delicious and visually appealing. The servers were pleasant, but could have been a little more attentive. The location speaks for itself! I want to stay here again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly area

Perfect location

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Right in the middle of fisherman's wharf. From the hotel lobby you can look out and see alcatraz through the front door. I'm terrible with names, but the daytime concierge from this past week was outstanding. Entire staff was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Joe, The entire team thanks you for 5 star review! Our concierge is certainly top notch and go well above expectations to make sure your experience is uncompromised. We can't wait to see you again in the near future. Have a great day,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

Great hotel at fisherman's wharf

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Staff was very friendly. Hotel is convenient to everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Good Morning m, Thank you for giving us 5 stars we greatly appreciate it! The Argonaut is well located in the Fisherman's Warf area. Please come visit us again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to fisherman's wharf

Posted Aug 16, 2017
I didn't expect our room to be very small with no view. I couldn't even put my luggage near the bed as there was no space. For the paid per night, I expected a bigger room. That was the only downside to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Anonymous, We are truly disappointed our accommodations was not up to standard. We do have may other room options if your accommodations were not satisfactory. When you come back to visit please let us know so we can take care of you. Until then, have a wonderful evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Nice hotel close to Fisherman's Wharf.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: The location is its strongest selling point.
Location: Fisherman's wharf is within walking distance as well as Gharardelli Square and the famous cable cars are around the corner from the hotel.
Great location. The staff and service were wonderful. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean. The beds were comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Good Evening Texas Gal, Thank you so much for giving us a 5 star review! We are definitely centrally located in Fisherman's Warf where everything is in walking distant. We are extremely pleased to know our service above expectation and hope you will visit us soon again. Have a wonderful day,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017
The hotel was conveniently located close to the piers and restaurants. The staff was very helpful and cheerful. The rooms were very clean and spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous Thank you for the great review. We do our best to ensure your stay is memorable. Please visit us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ny metro area

Hidden charges

Posted Aug 9, 2017
There was a charging of $22 per night in a small print. I was surprised when they charge me this fee at the check in and at our check out. All this time I was under the assumption it was included in the total. Therefore, I was very unhappy when they just give me a discount voucher for $10 to use at their restaurant. Nice hotel, but this hidden charges are very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear jerry, We are disappointed we did not live up to our service standards and your stay was not to expectation. I would like to high light some of the benefits while staying with us. We offer free bike or Urb-E use (limited quantities available), free wifi, $10.00 per night credit used towards the Blue Mermaid, discounts at Ben and Jerrys, as well as See's Candy which is located behind the hotel just to name a few. When your travels bring you back to visit us please let us know and we will be delighted to take care of you. Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, Ca

Great service!

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Everyone was so helpful and friendly! We checked in with ease. They gave my kids a scavenger hunt when we arrived, which was super fun! Our room was spacious and had a mini fridge that we could use to keep some waters and snacks cold. We were upgraded to a view of the park, trolleys and the bay. We will be staying here again in the future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Keith C - Hotel Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Greetings Sarah, Thank you for the fantastic review and 5 star rating! We are pleased to know your stay was beyond expectations and the entire family had fun. We do our best to ensure your experience will bring you back to us in the future. We can't wait to have you stay with us again. All the best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Best place in Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Excellent hotel! Awesome staff, superb accommodations, great location. Can't say enough about this place - book it and don't think twice about it. Loved the nautical decor, enjoyed the very good food (room service is awesome), and appreciated the free bike rental. I have stayed at several different places in the area, and this is the only one I'll be booking going forward. Top notch hotel.