Ratings based on 2,932 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Close to wharf

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Close to wharfs, shopping, and restaurants. Nice to have a basic breakfast before heading out.
Cons: For the price a refrigerator should be included. Needs a little updating.
Staff was very cordial and helpful. Spot on in giving directions to sights. Very minimal staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Convenient Access to Pier 39 Area

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfortable. It was quiet. Convenient to main attractions.
Cons: Breakfast was only fair. Bacon and omelettes were the weak links in the breakfast.
Location: Ghiradehlii Square, Pier 39, Alcatraz tours, ferry to Sausalito, plenty of restaurants, bars, tourist shopping, etc.
The Holiday Inn Express is about four blocks from Pier 39, views of the Golden Gate and other tourist attractions. The rooms were exceptionally quiet, even when visiting on one of the busiest weekends of the year. There was almost no room-to-room noise and the windows sealed out external noise well. Don't expect spaciousness. Like all of San Francisco, space is expensive and the rooms are a bit smaller than you'll find in some other areas of the country. The bed and pillows were comfortable. TV worked fine. Bathroom fixtures worked well. The included breakfast is "standard fare" for a Holiday Inn. It's not great, but it will get you started in the morning. If you want great breakfast, the Hollywood Cafe is next door, but you might experience very long lines to get in. Parking at the Holiday Inn Express was very expensive. Thankfully, we used Uber from the airport and other transportation options during out visit. Not parking pays for breakfast for two at the Hollywood Cafe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Hidden fees

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Be upfront with your fees and improve your customer service skills.
Location: Easy to walk to tourist destinations
According to the Expedia website there were two charges for parking- self-park and valet parking. At check in I was informed that only valet parking was available for $51 a night. The front desk staff was not helpful and told me I could call Expedia. If I had known this ahead of time I would of picked a different hotel. The first day at the hotel our room smelled like cigarette smoke even though we were in a non-smoking room. The door to our room let in a lot of noise and light. We stuffed towels in the threshold so we could sleep. After asking the valet for our car he continued to text on his phone for several minutes before getting our car. If I am going to pay this much for a room, I expect better service and accommodations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sanfransico ca.

Very bad experience

Posted Oct 12, 2017
I was over charged for my stay. Room was dirty, sheets were stained, staff was not helpful. I filed a complaint along with pictures of the issues and was told to bad. Then they charged my card for the stay a second time. Don’t stay at this motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close proximity to wharf

Posted Oct 7, 2017
The hotel was close to all the piers. Staff was great. I feel that it was overpriced. There was no little store for amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great location

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Staff was very accommodating as we arrived by 10am, we were able to get into a room within an hour. It was a convenient location to the main drag, 2 blocks and you are along the bay with all the dining and shopping. My only suggestion would be, a small refrig in the room. This is always a nice perk to keep water bottles, etc cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice, quiet hotel despite being right in the middle of the FIsherman's Wharf area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morgan Hill, CA.

Very nice Hotel, close to Fisherman's Wharf.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Closeness to Wharf, attractions and restaurants. Breakfast was good.
Very nice and clean Hotel within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39 and many other attractions. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendly staff.
Location: Walked to Fisherman's Wharf, Lombard Street, Ghiredelli Square, and lots of dining choices.
Very nice facility. Great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great free hot breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Nice breakfast
By the Piers. Many restaurants within walking distance.