Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Hotel ha no AC, tv's are small, rooms are small, you have to carry your luggage up steep flight of stairs when you get their, also no parking and we had to walk our luggage from a parking garage down the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic North Beach Hotel!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Personal attention, small size, very unique and old-fashioned.
Cons: It was perfect!
Great hotel - within walking distance to everything - great restaurants and coffee shops nearby. The staff is warm and friendly, and happy to help you with anything you need. Very personal and charming experience - great romantic getaway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Ab, Canada

Boutique hotel in prime location!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
My first time staying in a boutique hotel and I loved it! This is not your average hotel and of you are used to swimming pools or room service, it's not for you. The staff our very friendly, rooms are clean and bigger than I had expected based on previous reviews. My room was not facing Columbus so it was quiet and every morning I woke to the smell of croissants and chocolate- from where I can't be sure. It is within walking distance to Fishermans Warf, Chinatown, all cable cars, buses and the Ferry Building. We walked EVERYWHERE. Being in little Italy, you have plenty of choices for coffee and a morning pastry, all of which will be great! I recommend Mara's Italian Pasteries and Cafe Greco. Will definitely stay here again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canon City, CO

Ideal for location

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Good location, comfortable room, check in was easy, only saw one staff, pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel in great position, beware heat/stairs

Posted May 7, 2017
Tough one this. The position could not be better for eateries. Tony's pizza around corner, Greco, Puccini's across road for good breakfast, no problem eating well. The hotel is 100 yrs old, tastefully renovated however in hot weather-hotbox. If you can't climb narrow stairs with cases- forget it. If you would like to watch TV at end if busy day-forget it, minute TV in corner. Staff can't do enough for you and the cleaner is a pearler.
5 out of 5
by Randolph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convienent and clean hotel.

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
European style.Clean. Quiet.
3 out of 5
by Robert

Living the "beat generation" but no wifi

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
In the heart of a happening area but the small room, no elevator, and really poor wifi detracted from our visit. Plenty of Italian restaurants in the area. Noisy room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Make sure you don't have kids

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Has a cool atmosphere. What it doesn't have is AC and elevator. Good for heavy sleepers without children. It really is unique and well maintained.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels