Ratings based on 1,478 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, New Zealand

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Close to Fishermans Wharf. Friendly staff, small but comfy rooms. We would stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Ontario

Great Hotel at Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The San Remo has a charming old world feel. The hallways are winding with skylights and plants and old photos. The rooms are furnished with antiques.
Cons: The pillows on our beds needed replacing, but I loved our bright room with it's interesting decor. The windows are large and the ceiling fans cooling.
Location: Within walking distance are Pier 39, the boat to Alcatraz, Segways, The Golden Gate Bridge, shopping, restaurants, cable cars, and car or bike rentals
This was our second visit to The San Remo. For us, it's the perfect place to stay in San Francisco. The hotel is just a few minute walk from Pier 39 for shopping and restaurants. It's also only minutes away from any tour you'd like to take, whether you want to catch a boat to Alcatraz or ride a Segway on Lombard St. When you return from a tiring day of sightseeing, there are refreshments in the lobby! Coffee, tea and ice water along with an assortment of sweets are complimentary, as are the massage chairs on each floor. Downstairs is the oldest Italian restaurant in the U.S. The "Fior d'Ítalia" is a delicious place for dinner and has a great jazz band on Wednesday nights. The staff at the San Remo are friendly and helpful and always smiling. Don't let the fact that the washrooms are down the hall dissuade you from staying here, they are spotlessly clean and we never had to wait for a shower. The towels are even warmed for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I left my heart in San Remo

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Amazing quirky hotel within short walking distance of the piers
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

every part of the room squeeks; no elevator.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Cons: sink that works; the hotel is full of memorabilia (which is good), plants, etc, but the hotel is not big, rooms are tiny, it felt so crowded.
Location: we only stayed for one night, which is good as i couldn't sleep; i can hear every movement in the hallway,bathroom, the next rom.
i don't think will go back to the hotel. feeling comfortable is the number 1 choice for me in staying in a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Excellent location . Close to Fisherman's wharf. Very quiet hotel with cooperative guests. Great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small and comfy

Posted Jun 27, 2017
This place was just the fit for me. It was a nice small room with a comfortable bed to sleep on. When I first seen it was a shared bathroom and showers I kinda put this hotel on the bottom of my list but I'm so glad I stayed here. Vary quite environment with friendly staff clean bathrooms and rooms with good closet space supper close to fishermans wharf and grocery store. Overall my experience here was a good one. Will be staying here a lot more when I come to visit the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel with atmosphere

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: location, atmosphere, pleasant guests and managers
Cons: at least a sink in the room would be great
Good place, wonderful location and neighborhood in SF
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut USA

Great Location for the price says it all.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: above
Cons: outside sitting area added on roof. rooms are tight so no room to relax before bed.
Location: Excellent location. walk to all major attractions from Mason st. China town short walk, Docks are a few steps.
The hotel has a lot of charm the rooms are small but they are nice it is a romantic little hotel. The bathrooms are clean but you will pass other guests on your floor to the bathrooms. If you traveled in Europe the rooms okay sized but if your 6ft 3" you might want to book their bigger rooms with sink. The hotel does need a rooftop deck and it would be perfect. It would be nice to bring a bottle of wine back and sit outside no area outside at all that's the only draw back in found to the place. Otherwise book away good spot walk to everything no issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Beautiful Hotel Great Staff

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: Decor, Staff, Location, History, Quiet, Comfortable
Cons: 1 rude staff member (I am chalking this up to a one off)
Location: Fisherman's Wharf, Great restaurants, Alcatraz
I arrived at the hotel early due to my train arriving about 5 hours before check in time. I dropped my bags off and went to get something to eat. I returned 2-3 hours before check in time and the woman behind the desk Arren (hope I spelt it right) was more than willing to help out. The staff here made my stay in San Francisco very enjoyable. The room was incredible, the bathrooms and showers were fantastic. The hotel is walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. It is above a great Italian restaurant. The only blemish was after I had checked out. I had left my bags there and dealt with Arren while doing this and everything was great. When I returned later that night I was greeted by a different staff member who seemed to be in a bad mood. Where as Arren had gone out of her way to take my bags and place them in the back area this person had zero desire to be helpful at all. He pointed towards the back room and said "They are back there go get them." Another guest who was also getting their luggage from the back room area looked at me and said "Well isn't he a big cup of joy?" There was no warm greeting or friendliness at all. It was the only incident with my stay there but it was also my parting memory of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Very charasmatic hotel. Absolutely loved the room and the atmosphere. Massage chairs are the best! The showers and restroom were spotless. We will be returning!