Ratings based on 1,566 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks, Alaska

Fun, cozy hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
What a treasure is this little place. I loved my little room with its antique iron bed fitted with a very comfy new pillow top mattress. Up rather steep staurstand with narrow but delightful hallways, this would not be a good fit for anyone who can't do stairs or uses a wheelchair. Shared bathrooms were not a problem for me. Very clean. I'll be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location but small rooms with thin walls

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Great location and staff were friendly and helpful; however the room was very small, two twin beds were very soft, walls were poorly insulated and could hear everything in adjoining room, only shared bathrooms and pay parking was two blocks away. Glad we only booked for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: personable & friendly staff. Manager & owner available to meet. So nice! A unique experience from the typical hotels making it a fun experience.
perfect location to walk to all san Francisco has to offer. Loved our stay at San Remo, Thank-you to all of you who made our stay so pleasant. We will be back ! Sincerely Terry & Buck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Staff was very friendly, front desk phone is very quiet if you call it though which makes reaching the hotel on the phone difficult. Shared bathrooms and sinks are nice and well-stocked, though it would be nice to have more than 1 sink per floor. The room itself was very clean and quaint. Some of the first floor rooms had windows open to the inside hallway though, which is strange. At least there was a shade to pull down for privacy, but really weird.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, and for mentioning our clean hotel. We regret that you were not aware that there are many other bathrooms throughout the hotel; guests can use all the facilites in both floors, front and back of the hotel. We are a historic Victorian Hotel built in 1906, just after the big Earthquake. We have not altered the original layout of the hotel as designed, each of our rooms has been lovingly furnished with period furniture. We would love for you to come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milan

Wonderful

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Wonderful hotel! Very nice room and staff. The hotel is located in a very safe area close to many tourist's spots. Very clean and charming place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We have a reputation for being the best budget Hotel in San Francisco. We are located close to many of the most desirable attractions, making our Hotel a walkers paradise. Hope you return soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle,WA

Good Stay near the fisher mans warf.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Neat, Location and good staffs
Cons: Please stop talking and disturbing peoples in the room close to the reception
Location: Fishermans wharf, Bay Area. Shopping, China town etc..
Good stay close to main attractions in the Bay area. We got a room near to the reception area, there was some noise from the reception in the night like people walking and talking always. Other than that Everything was perfect for a short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We try our best to keep after hours noise levels to a minimum, but can not always quell the excitement of our guests. We will continue to work on it. Our goal is to keep the prices affordable and be a different experience, a place you will remember for years to come. We look forward to having you visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice stay

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Lots of charm and interesting guests
Cons: coffee in morning
Location: close to North Beach and Fisherman's Wharf, good public transportation close by
Charming, clean and functional. Shower and toilet down the hall were clean and easy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel. We strive for cleanliness, comfort, and a relaxing stay. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

San Fran 8/17

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: plants, nook and crannies.
charming little hotel. close to the wharf and piers. nice staff. helpful. alot of stairs though! Wish we could have stayed longer than one night
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It can be fun to explore the halls of the hotel looking at all the art work and memorabilia. We hope you will come back soon and stay longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Big on character

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The San Remo is our new favorite hotel in SF. Perfect location in North Beach, walking distance to many sights and activities you already planned to do. The interior of this classic hotel is awesome. Staff is helpful, room is a great price for the charm and location. Shared bathrooms (which are very clean and well stocked) and paper thin walls may not be right for everyone, but if you want to stay in a historic SF hotel that is in a great neighborhood you'll love the San Remo like we do!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for writing your impressions about our hotel. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay. We try hard to show and describe the property as accurate as possible, and let our guests know we are a slightly different kind of hotel, but a comfortable and exciting one that will create unique memories. We hope you return soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Perfect walking location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The decor, peacefulness and atmosphere.
Cons: Stop using the incense burners, awful stuff
This hotel was great value for money and supplied all our needs. It was very very relaxing staying here and the showers etc, were immaculate. I really enjoyed the massage chairs from all the hill climbing we did. Great eating places and tours are on the doorstep. It is safe to walk around here with a great grocery store on the corner. I loved this hotel, it had wonderful period decor with an excellent Italian restaurant below.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy that there were many things that you appreciated about the San Remo Hotel. However, I would just like to clarify, we do not use incense burners. We do have some lavender fragance diffusers in the bathroom areas, like at spas. We look forward to having you visit us again.