Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heater on?

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Memories of the year before when we stayed here.
Cons: airconditioning! Or just a "whole-house fan". Customer service training. A word with the neighboring restaurant.
Location: SF and all it has to offer
Despite being 55 degrees outside and cool from fog and the breeze it was stiflingly hot and stuffy throughout the property. Staff at the front desk were uninterested and gave lip-service that they would mention it to the manager/owner. Stayed in room 10 and heat made it nearly impossible to sleep. Windows were full open but the inner courtyard offers no cool breeze only noise from downstairs staff break-area and kitchen. Adjoining restaurant played thumpy music till midnight. Thank goodness for earplugs. Too much to handle for this amount of money. Too bad because it's a charming old building in a great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel but very noisy.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Location is excellent.
Cons: Staff needs training.
Location: North Beach, able to walk to Fisherman's wharf
Staff not forthcoming about kitchen and lobby breakfast noise. Could not respond to broken toilet. Parking, although charged by the day was not available upon arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from palm desert, CA

quick trip to SF, great location

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: location, location and quaint feel of space, 16 rooms Had nightly wine hour in the lobby and morning breakfast in room or in lobby
Cons: they need to update the rooms from a standpoint of having a magnified mirror in bathroom and the window coverings (blinds) should work properly.
Location: Park Tavern is right next door. Nice glass of wine and good food. Foot Court Massage a few blocks away was worth the walk.
a family member recommended the hotel. It was convenient and within walking distance of their house. The check in was easy and Park Tavern next door is excellent. Not inexpensive, but worth the price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Augustine, FL

Pictures are deceiving.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Manners of young lady at front desk. This needs to be advertised as a Ben and Breakfast not Hotel.
Location: Tony's Pizza and Sodini's Trattoria
Great location. NO AIR-CONDITIONING. Room was not a Deluxe room (Which we were charged for.) Location of room was in the court yard so there was no cross breeze to cool room down. There are no screens on the windows to keep bugs out. I had to go buy a fan to cool the room at night. One window would not stay up so I had to prop it up with the box the fan came in. They shower had an aerator attached to it and I could not get the shampoo out of my long hair. There was mold around the tube. Neighbors window was 10 feet from us. we could look in each others windows. Had to keep them open as it was to hot in the room not to. Expedia charged me 900+ for 3 nights. My receipt had a charge for 750. I never received credit for the difference.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth A

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
The sleeping room and bathroom were too small and the mattress too soft. Staff was competent. We wanted to inquire about moving to a larger room, but was told the manager would not be in until middle of the afternoon. Breakfast was good. Location is great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The location and the maids
Cons: upgrade room 2 a bit. I believe you need to be more clear about what room you are paying for.
Location: Great location. I would come to this location again but its questionable if I would stay here again or somewhere else.
We went away to SF for Valentines Day. When we booked the hotel we picked the option for a deluxe room and King bed which was extra. They showed different rooms that had different amenities and views. We paid extra supposedly for a deluxe room. The room we received was quite small and had a view of a wall where the staff came in and out of the kitchen. The toilet was not working at one point and I thought the room looked a little run down compared to other BB places I have stayed. On a positive note I loved the location next to the park and the church. The maids who came in were really helpful and kind. I found them more inviting then the hotel desk clerks.
4 out of 5
by Angela

Convenient and cozy hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location in the middle of North Beach & Chinatown. Super convenient to many SF attractions. Safe area, great for walking to nearby restaurants, bars, cafes, nightlife & shopping. Hotel also had a buzz-in entry. Easy check-in & check-out. Parking is detached, but only about a block away. The room was a little too warm and stuffy for us, even with the windows open, and we were above what I think was the kitchen, so it got loud early, but was very cozy and clean otherwise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but not worth the stay.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Updating, updating, updating and some DEEP cleaning.
I LOVE the North Beach area of SF and they aren't many places to stay in that area, except for B&Bs...I just wouldn't stay at this one again. The shower drain was gross, had a lot of built up junk. The sink took FOREVER to drain. The towels were REALLY old. The room was REALLY small. There were no screens on the windows, so you had either a breeze or bugs/birds. And you could hear when someone was using the toilet...yes, EVERYTHING.
3 out of 5
by CARA

Quaint in a great neighborhood

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is lovely and clean. It is in a great neighborhood, right off little Italy. The room is a little small, but comfortable. The shower is really tiny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with convenient location!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location, staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Bulky furniture took up too much space; felt crowded. A table would be nice to eat breakfast in the room.
Location: We could easily walk to the Fisherman's wharf and tour pick up location.
We spent two nights here. Hotel room was very small but nice. We enjoyed the wine and tea time and met a lot of nice people from different states. The hotel was located close to the wharf and we were able to walk to many places. I would recommend staying here!