Ratings based on 1,608 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Metaline Falls, WA

Only Good Thing Was That It Was Close To The Wharf

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The view and the comfy bed.
Cons: Everything - start with updating and adding some real amenities.
Location: It's San Francisco, a block off the wharf and three blocks from Pier 39. We walked to Chinatown!
This was NOT the hotel I saw on line. It is dated and not well maintained - there was someone painting the railing a terrible yellow, as if a slop of paint could help. The elevator bounced and creaked, the stairwell was poorly lit and dirty (even the hand-rail hadn't been cleaned since the last time it was painted). When we checked in, I was charged $25 because we were early (after a 300 mile drive...), and the girl was snippy and unhelpful. There was coffee in the lobby, over-boiled or cold depending on the carafe (no coffee in the room!). Our room was way too small for two people - crushed a king bed into the space without real room to move around it. The bathroom hasn't been updated since the 60's - linoleum pealing from the floor and the cobweb above the mirror was a reminder that nothing has been dusted for a while. Good news: the bed was comfortable and the view off the balcony was lovely, and it was easy to park. With such a great location, someone really needs to put some money into this place and then MAYBE it would be worth the price. We've been to San Fran many times, but this was the first time I was every disappointed in the money I spent for a room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Location, location, location

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Good value for the location. Close to Alcatraz departure pier. Very warm in room due to lack of air con. Beds were comfy, parking was free. Room was not ready when we arrived but close enough to everything we went for a walk and it was ready when we returned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Stayed on labour day weekend

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Install AC
Location: Good location near Fishermans wharf.
Last minute stay. Hotel a bit old and tired looking but room well appointed and comfortable. Comfy beds. Good location in town but therefore very noisy. No AC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, OH

Disappointing motel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
We chose this motel because it's within walking distance to everything & the price was right. The motel is older, so we expectedl some wear & tare of the room, but the carpet was disgusting with many stains. The bed was clean & comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The amenities were up to date. Parkin is free here & the parking area is secured. The walls are thin, so we heard voices & banging around until late into the night, as well as all the noise from the streets. If I ever come back up this area, I would pay the high dollars for a better hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Fisherman's wharf hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to the Fishermans Wharf.
Cons: A/C in the room, also drano in the bathroom.
Location: This hotel actually in an awesome location. There are terrific restaurants within a couple of minutes walk, also it is an easy walk along the shore
We loved how close to the wharf this hotel is, along with the in and out parking. We used this as our daily kick-off and it worked well. The room itself was clean and matched the pictures. The hotel is older, and because of that the tub took forever to drain. The A/C did *not* work. When we got back to the room to rest before dinner, the room was 78 which is hot for San Fran. I went to ask about it and was told doesn't the room have a ceiling fan. When I pointed out that all that would do is move the 78 degree air around he shrugged and didn't volunteer a solution, which is why I won't recommend this hotel to anyone,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A good nights sleep

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We found the Wharf Inn a wonderful place to stay, the check in process and staff were amazing. The rooms were a great size and the beds super comfortable for a good nights sleep. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

room was hot no a/c hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: close to beach staff
Cons: clean up construction was old but could be done better
hotel should have let us now their is no a/c the room was hot until it was late tv control did not work properly a lot of noise out side at night waking us up all night bed was good bathroom construction was old messy calking on walls staff where nice respectful and helpful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down old hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: By the water
Cons: Remodel or demolish it.
This hotel is run down and old, nothing like in the pictures. I booked this place for my in-laws to stay in San Fran for 2 nights and they said the bed was horrible. The room had marks on the walls, the sofa was coming apart and the bed was so uncomfortable and lumpy they slept on the floor. This place should be demolished or a lot of money spent on a remodel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west orange,Nj

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The only + they have is their location.also the free parking. Otherwise, the place is very out dated for its price. Room services don't change sheets or even clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Dirtiest, most overpaid place I've stayed

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Unacceptable room for over $400 Canadian a night. There was poop stains in the toilet, gum wrappers in the closet, the previous guests used soap in the shower, and the closet smelt like urine.