Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Nice hotel - minutes away from FCO airport

Posted Oct 1, 2017
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Very clean, friendly staff, spoke English well, and price point was right (don't expect a 5 star hotel). I reserved my stay at Hotel Del Mar on a Saturday night after being turned away from a number of large chain hotels and found my stay quite pleasant. The hotel staff was accommodating and VERY informative. We needed a taxi the next morning and they had made all the necessary arrangements (there was a marathon the morning) for us. If I'm ever near the Rome FCO airport, I would definitely go back. Thank you Hotel Del Mare.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BEWARE - Quad Bed Room 31 s NOT an ocean view room

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: The only good thing about the place is the free continental breakfast.
Cons: I want a refund. I paid for a quad room with an ocean view, not a view of someone's backyard.
Location: The very next street has a well-equipped grocery store. Purchased what we needed and ate on the upstairs patio right beside Room 27-28-29.
Quad Bed Rooms 27-28-29 are ocean front rooms - we were given room 31 (for the same price) at the back of the hotel that has a view of someone's backyard. (see photos). The Hotel Shuttle (40 Euros) requires 2 days notice (Metered taxi is 13.50 Euros). Horrible bed. No restaurant at hotel and staff clueless about what restaurants are open nearby. Originally rated a 3-star decades ago - I would give it a 1-star maximum. The inefficient room air conditioning works only if you put your room key in the slot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Nice stay right across street from beach. With your stay you got a sun chair from Reef Village.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For locals not visitors

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Most everything
Location: Public beach but not much else
Equivalent of motel 6. Ok for one night if you aren't particular. Rooms are basic. Service is basic. They give what they advertise but not much more. We had to fight to get extra towels after our shower leaked. Staff can't do anything without managers consent so don't have problems outside business hours
4 out of 5
by Bonnie

July 10, 2017 visit

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
We got to the hotel late, but the desk clerk was pleasant and offered to tell us about a nice place for dinner. We did have a problem with the tv reception, but we were only there less than 12 hours so it didn't matter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Wotif
taxi €25,00 each way from/to FCO. for the extra €50,00 could possibly get something closer to the airport. room was a bit cramped, couldn't even open the bathroom door fully as it would hit the bed. whilst the bathroom itself was a good size, the actual shower space within the bathroom was very small. fridge didn't keep contents cold. was good that it was directly opposite the beach and the roof top terrace had excellent views. very nice breakfast & staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Dustin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by GERALD

Met our overnight needs.

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Despite the address not coinciding with our cab driver's GPS making it a difficult to find in the dark, we were treated well, had a clean room, woke up to a nice ocean view. Courteous and prompt shuttle driver, (the shuttle was not free). Wish we could've been there during the day to enjoy the seashore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Maryland,USA

nice, close to restaurant, beach, airport, stores

Posted May 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: location
Cons: carpeting
Location: best
met with nice welcome gesture, very practical advice from helpful staff