Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Robert S from San Francisco

Deist

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised and will stay here again

Posted Mar 5, 2016
I had a room in one of the corners on the second floor, so it is not representative. The room was far more spacious than expected, and I loved the uncommon layout. The room was clean, the linnen soft and fresh and the mattrass perfectly level - no bumps or awkward dips. The desk was small and narrow, unsuited for working. This did not bother me, as I managed to spend my time productively working either from the couch or even the floor (yes, the room was that clean!). I was pleased to find a minibar, yet disappointed to only find soda's and beers, nothing stronger. The hotel offers but few services, e.g. check-in before 8 pm, no night staff, no room service. On the other hand, the few services they do offer, they offer well. Staff was friendly, check in uncomplicated, breakfast delightful. The bowl of complimentary chocolate candies gave the almost spartan front desk an unassuming and welcoming air. In short, I was pleasantly surprised and will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by John

Will happily stay again

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was a bit tough to find so prepare before you go. Its up an alley way. Nice place. Room was basic but comfortable. Staff were friendly and breakfast was pleasent. Restaurant/bar across the road did some good food with a great selection of beers. Will happily stay again next time I am in Diest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA, USA

Hotel in historic building in city.

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Attractive old building in city center. Breakfast.
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in each room. Give a choice of room in part with elevator or not, especially for older people and families with little kids.
Location: Center of city with plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby. City museum and Begijnhof. Walking tours. Indoor swimming pool and outdoor park with pool.
I have stayed several times in the Lodge over the last 10 years. Each time in a different room and they are all very different. In the old part of the hotel, there is no elevator so keep that in mind if you have small children and heavy luggage. Ask for ground floor room or new part with elevator. There is no 24hr reception, after hours you need code to get into lobby when first arriving. Breakfast is included and is adequate with breads, cheeses, ham, fruits etc. Would be nice if they still had bacon and scrambled eggs like they used to and also to have coffee and tea facilities in the rooms. Right now, works in the city are going on regarding the river and the noise starts at 7am. Sometimes difficult to find ([paid) parking nearby. But it is in the middle of the city with many restaurants and cafes nearby.
5 out of 5
by Veronica from DC

Love the Lodge!

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful room in the old part of the hotel with a big bath and cozy bed. Loved it! The breakfast was nice with a lot of options. The staff were FANTASTIC and VERY HELPFUL. It exceeded our expectations completely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Diest to visit new baby

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were very helpful and welcoming even to our daughter and son inlaw
4 out of 5
by Pandeli from London

Quite Central Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels
Quite central yet rather isolated location. If it is your first visit to Diest, give it some time to go round and then you will be able to easily find the hotel after a day out. My room was rather dark but there are lights at the table and beside the bed. Also roof of the room was rather low with a window at the ceiling at the far end and another small window very low at feet level, however the room was quite cosy with a small fridge and good size bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and hotel's Bistro serves good food. Reception closes at 8:00pm but you will be provided with keys of the main entrance. Certainly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from London, UK

A great place to stay.

Posted May 3, 2012
Pros: Breakfast!
A lovely hotel with great staff and an awesome breakfast!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2011 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels