Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Consistent good standard

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Design, friendly staff. Room has great heating, good esp for winter months.
Cons: Providing toothbrush and slippers. More variety for the vending machines.
Stayed at Penta Hong Kong, it was a great experience. Penta Leuven was no exception too. Reception staff and cleaning ladies were all friendly. Interior decor was modern and nice, clean and neat. Generous with amenities. They smell great too. However there's no toothbrush or slippers provided so rem to bring your own. Not sure if there's any heater in the room, but room was warm and nice at night, including the toilet. We did not need to use any air conditioning, except once in a while to ventilate the room. Hotel is not exactly near the bus interchange/terminal but only 2 bus stops and a five mins walk away. So it's still fine. Not much activities at night as it's a student town, so it's pretty safe. Plenty of restaurants nearby too. Otherwise, there's also a vending machine at every level of the hotel with some drinks and food that's not overpriced. Will not hesitate to choose this hotel again if we visit Leuven in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamestown, United States of America

No question only place you should stay in Leuven

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: I spenfd about 200 night in hotels a year, I liked everything about this hotel, the rooms, the decor, the atmosphere, the staff. A bar that is open 24 / 7 !!
Cons: impossible to get too, I did not receive any instructions. I used to live in this city (30 years ago) I knew perfectly where this hotel is located, because of the walking streets and one way streets without knowledge or instructions. it is nearly impossible to get there. For sure a GPS will not get you to the destination. The "free" internet is not reslly an option, it is so slow that you will change to the paid option. Super friendly staff but just not enough.
Location: I have traveled to 52 countries and 100's of cities... Leuven is the best and a well kept secret.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Close to the University

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Convenient location for a traveller to the University, a clean room, friendly staff.
Cons: It would be nice to have more of traditional room furniture.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location reasonable hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Really friendly and helpful staff good location comfortable rooms.
Cons: Maintenance of the lifts would make the rooms quieter and relocation of the breakfast food area to make acces to the food easier
Location: too numerous to mention
Arriving at the by car is a fascinating experience, you will need a code from the hotel to gain access to the pedestrian area and the underground carpark has a very steep and twisty entrance. The main areas of the hotel ground floor are pleasingly quirky, the staff are all very friendly and welcoming. Our rooms were well equipped, however some of the electrical equipment was a little unreliable, that said a quick call to reception elicited a very rapid response from the maintenance team. We were next to the lift so our room was a little noisy, not excessively though. The quality of the food at breakfast was superb however the arrangement of the food left a little to be desired, as it was in such a compact area. On balance I think we would definitely use this hotel again in the future when we visit our son.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Aggressively perfumed near student bars

Posted Apr 30, 2016
The hotel itself is lovely, with a stylish and chic feel to it. the bed is the most comfortable bed I've slept in in Europe. Excellent full American breakfast buffet. Unfortunately the downsides will lead me to choose another option for future visits. Upon entered the lobby, your sense of smell is assaulted with the cloying smell of cheap floral fragrance, like at an Abercrombie and Fitch store. The smell is so strong it never fades into the background. The rooms are thankfully ok. In the evening, the students can be heard carousing us tarting around 10 pm until nearly am, and until 4 am on Thuraday. They are joyful noises at least - lots of singing and chanting in unison. for several hours in the afternoon, my room also smelled noticeable of Chinese noodles - the second floor is directly over a Ramen shop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and Comfortable Hotel in Central Leuven

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Location. Decor. Cleanliness. Helpfulness and pleasantness of front desk staff.
Cons: Perhaps a little more costly than warranted.
This hotel is centrally located, clean, comfortable, and modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Went to pentahotel for the rock werchter festival. It was excellent! keep in mind that there is a ten minutes walk to the train station / bus shuttle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Friendly hotel, great location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Atmosphere, staff (both on the day & when I phoned in before arrival), cleanliness, cozy meeting places off the lobby, good-quality breakfast.
Cons: Paint the dull brown hallways a more cheery color! And add a cheaper breakfast option - 18 euros for a croissant and two cups of coffee is too much.
Location: Wide selection of local restaurants, bars & cafés, though beware the cobblestones - not an easy place if you're in a wheelchair or unsteady.
Pentahotel Leuven was a breath of fresh air after the bland corporate hotels I usually use - quirky, fun décor, very friendly staff, quiet room with a comfortable clean bed. The reception desk is also a bar, but it didn't feel like I was staying in a pub, more that they'd cleverly combined two facilities into one. Good breakfast (though expensive). Note that I stayed here during Leuven University's two-week Easter break so there were very few students around - might be louder during term-time. I'd stay here again without hesitation (and look forward to doing so).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cwmbran UK

central location

Posted Feb 10, 2015
A great boutique hotel centrally located with excellent helpful staff. Excellent modern decor & furnishings. Definitely visiting again
2 out of 5
by Wokkoone from South Wales

Worn out hotel....

Posted Mar 21, 2014
The hotel is in a great position for the centre of town but it is worn out in every respect!!!! It would be only worth 2 stars maximum.... The front of the hotel is a route for students and they noisy to the point I was woken up 4 times....