Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Perfect

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
This is our second visit to the Sands and it remains as fantastic as it was the first time. The beach and pool areas are beautiful with plenty of sunbeds. The rooms are modern and clean. The staff fantastic. Perfect for a quiet beach holiday, though there is plenty of free water sports to try if you want to be a bit more active.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stay here if you love the beach!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The beach is breathtaking and the seaview from the rooms. Good breakfasts and numerous activities to do.
Cons: Poor hotel currency exhange rate, but I guess this is an issue with most hotels.
Location: Walk to Tamarind, the beach and the Temple. Port Louis (eat at the Courtyard restaurant or Lux cafe) Botanical Gardens- beware of car park touts
Imagine stepping out of your room on to a quiet beach at dusk, the sun sliding in to the Indian Ocean, the waves, stars and a gentle breeze. A path of candlelights lead you to a table laid just for you. You chat endlessly, unhurried, over 4 courses of chef prepared food. Then 'Voila' I get on my knee and propose to my future husband and present him with a ring. You can choose your own experience at The Sands: romance, water sports, bike ride, yoga, infinity pool, beach, bar, etc. But it's the staff is what makes the resort outstanding, I cant pick out any staff member as they were all competent and likeable. I have been to other resort hotels where they constantly want to sell you things but not here. As a gay couple we felt accepted by staff and other guests alike, many of whom became friends during the week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quiet hotel with great staff service

Posted Sep 4, 2017
From the check in in our rooms to late check out this stay has been marked by staff's helpfulness especially Brenda at dinner, and the great bar staff and management who gracefully accommodated many of the guests of the wedding party that didn't realise they'd all booked in the same hotel. The hotel is normally a quiet hotel with little happening post-10pm but when faced with guests wanting to dance gamely put on more entertainment for longer. This along with the free water sports, the beautiful views and fantastic breakfast made this a top choice of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very comfortable, peaceful hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed the personal touches of staff and management. At another location we received a welcome letter by The Team. It was so impersonal
Cons: Improve the coffee service at breakfast. Have dedicated staff going around with fresh pots of coffee and tea.
Location: The village of Flic en Flac is not far but sufficiently so that the noise of bus and traffic does not bother the residents.
This is our 5th stay at the Sands. The hotel is very customer oriented and both managers and staff are very helpful trying to solve any small problems. We were very touched by the Welcome back sign made from garden plants that greeted us in our room. We enjoyed the tray of evening cocktail that were brought to our door for our enjoyment. M. Jean, our restaurant manager, was very charming and ensured that we were given good seats for dinner and breakfast. He was genuinely aiming to please at all times. Special thanks to M. Patrick the hotel manager who took time to come and welcome us back to the resort and greet us in the morning. We were always treated as special guests. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and we will be back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Luxury and relaxation

Posted Jun 11, 2017
We chose Mauritius and Sands Suites to celebrate a special occasion. As it was our first time there we hoped that our research would pay off and the holiday would be all that we imagined. In fact, the resort exceeded our expectations and it was quite simply the holiday of a lifetime. The resort itself is set in a fantastic beach location with views of the mountains. The infinity pool and lounging area is very relaxing and great for idling the days away in the sun. The Rainbow bar serves delicious lunches and fabulous cocktails. The restaurant buffet (both breakfast and dinner) is exceptional in its quality (and quantity too if you wanted seconds and thirds!). Last, but by no means least, I have to mention the staff at Sands Suites. Everyone there was dedicated, polite and always happy to help. Above all it was the staff who made our holiday so perfect. A special mention to Selven who always went out of his way to ensure we had the best possible time. I cannot recommend Sands Suites highly enough and we hope one day to return.
4 out of 5
by Anita

Delightful 4 start hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable, large room with large bathroom and decent balcony. Beach towels, bathrobes and slippers provided. Daily cleaning and turndown service at time slots you choose. The food was good, although I would probably have got bored of it on a longer stay as they have loosely themed which seem to repeat during the second week. The main restaurant is buffet style for breakfast and evening meal, and there is a good selection. There is also an a-la-carte restaurant if you fancy sitting down and being served, and the quality and presentation there was a lovely surprise. The staff were always very keen to please – my only criticism being they were not that helpful when we wanted to arrange a tour of the South, so we ended up arranging it ourselves. Good wifi available throughout the hotel. 2 tennis courts opposite the front gates which you can book. Rackets and balls available, but take your own if you are a serious player. We would recommend the Sands to people of all ages who want a pleasant, relaxing holiday. There were couples of all ages there. There were a few babies or very young kids, but not many. There are security guards on the beach, so you feel very safe, and the view is stunning. We had a couple of breath-taking sun sets and saw some beautiful birds and bats. But possibly my favourites were the frogs who live near the pond at reception and who liked to accompany the various bands that played each evening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Memorable stay at Sands!

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
I really enjoyed our stay at Sands! We loved the snorkeling and the beach area. Mary was brilliant from Reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
It was an excellent stay! Would definitely be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Perfect for a quiet, relaxing holiday

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Ebookers
This was our second stay at the Sands and we loved it just as much as our first, five years ago. In terms of facilities there are better hotels in Mauritius, particularly if you have children with you, but what sets the Sands head and shoulders above any other hotel I've ever visited is its team of staff who are utterly superb. If you want to go somewhere you cam completely switch off, relax and unwind, this is the place to do it.