Ratings based on 755 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location and the breakfast
Location: Close to Duomo, train station plenty of great places to eat close by
Great hotel, great location.Staff very friendly.Breakfast was lovely with a great choice.Lovely views from the roof top bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Roberta - Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are delighted to know that you loved your stay here, our hotel and its location, our breakfast, the unforgettable roof top bar view. We wait to have you again as our guest next time you come to Florence
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Never again

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The entrance and foyer are lovely with antique styling. The building itself is old. Check-in was easy and the receptionists was nice. Upon entering our room there was an awful old/stale/moldy smell. We needed to open the windows to air the room, even keeping them open during the night. My husband was even more unhappy as he got bitten by mosquitoes. There was mold in the fridge as well as above the shower. There was no coffee/tea facilities in the room. We didn't even have a box of tissues! We asked reception for an iron and ironing board to be delivered to our room and to our astonishment we were told it wasn't possible as it is a hazard. I have never heard such rubbish in my life!!!!! I was then told I could organize laundry service for my clothes - being picked up that evening... What the hell was I supposed to do? Either sit in my room all day waiting for my clothes to be pressed or walk around town looking like a crumpled sack of potatoes...NOT HAPPY AT ALL. The shower door leaked water which meant there was literally a flood on the bathroom floor every morning. The hairdryer that was also provided did not work. I rang and asked to speak with the manager and always got the run-around. Either they were away or had left for the day etc At check-out we expressed our disappointment. Our details were taken down again and it was promised that all information would be passed on to the manager. We are still waiting for their response.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Excellent Service

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Staff, facilities, convenience.
We had a fabulous stay at this hotel. Luigi, front desk attendant, was incredibly helpful and nice to us. Other customers were also commenting on how efficient and helpful Luigi had been during their stay. The hotel was located within walking distance to the train station, shops, sites, and restaurants. Facilities were clean and breakfast was great. A fantastic 3-day stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Roberta - Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Dear guests, what a beautiful feedback ! We all would like to thank you for the fantastic words referred to your stay and to the service, especial to our wonderful Luigi, your review makes us proud of our work. We wait to see you again soon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yarram, australia

Not a room with a view, no window. Overall, satisf

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Rooftop bar
Cons: Being aware beforehand you had a room without a window so you had a chance to upgrade.
Location: Location was superb, near railway and all activities
Wasnt impressed with the room with no window. Staff were outstanding. After the first night the plug was removed from the bath,eventually got it back, 2nd and 3rd days no soap left by cleaner. Rooftop bar was great albeit a bit hot because of the time of year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Lou (Front office / Guest relations agent), Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback. It’s a pleasure to read that even though it was very hot you have managed to enjoy the rooftop terrace and it’s great view. I am quite puzzled by your comments on the room, all of our rooms have a window, maybe you refer to a room with the window positioned a little bit higher on the wall facing an internal court, whenever the guest is not happy with the room we always try to find an alternative always offering a free upgrade if available. We really hope to have you again here. Best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey USA

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Everything
The staff and management couldn't have been nicer. Because of flight changes I lost two of my paid vacation nights, however the management upgraded us to an even nicer room without any hesitation and allowed us a very late check out time. Everything was so clean and comfortable and the hotel was within walking distance to the central train terminal. I would book there again with certainty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Maurizio - Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Audrey, we are pleased to know that you have appreciated both our works and our hotel so much. We surely look forward to welcoming you once again. Warmest regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from japan

立地良い だけど...

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Hotelはとても良い場所にあるが、このレベルのホテルとしては、朝食はがっかりでした、外に食べに行こうかと思いました。リメイクすれば とても良いホテルになるのに。
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Maurizio - Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, many thanks for your review, we will do our best to improve our breakfast: we are sorry that you didn’t report it during your stay, surely our restaurant could propose you something different for your breakfast. Many thanks and regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Location

Posted Jul 2, 2016
This is a good hotel for the price. The staff are very helpful and the hotel and rooms are clean. The location is really great and you are within close walking distance of all the major shopping areas and attractions. A/C in the hotel room is terrific - especially when it's 90 degrees outside. The hotel could use a renovation though. The elevators sometimes go up or sometimes go down, and it's a 50-50 chance for you either way - despite the call button you press. To access our room, we would have preferred a key card to an actual metal key with a giant key chain - this is hard to carry around all day in your pocket. Finally, we had reserved a room with a regular size bed, but it was actually two separate twin beds put together to make it regular size. This would be fine for one person but not for a couple. Generally, this is a good hotel, just not quite what we would call 4 stars. I would say, 3-1/2 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Maurizio - Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, many thanks for your positive comment: we are constantly working to improve the a/c but, when the outside temperature is extraordinary hot for the period, the air could result sometime not so icy in certain areas. Some renovation works are in progress, we have just restored the main staircase, the building facades the conference spaces and the bar area. Please be sure to come visit us again anyway, as we are always trying to increase our standard and services, surely the lifts are on top of our “to- do” list. Best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

Hotel vieillissant mais très agreable

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Le personnel, le calme, le côté vieux luxe d'antan...
Cons: Les peintures... l'ascenceur qui mène au toit terrasse.... dommage qu'il n'y ai pas un petit jardin ou patio....
Location: En plein centre du quartier historique de Florence. Tous les monuments sont accessibles à pied. Florence est une petite ville très agréable.
Vieux bâtiment ou certaines peintures sont à revoir, mais très cosy, personnel très compétent et gentil. Très agréable séjour de 3 nuits. Très bonne situation géographique.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Maurizio - Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Cher monsier nous Vous remercions de Votre commentaire. Nous sommes heureux que vous avez bien appreciée l’hotel et notre efforts aussi. Nous restons dans l’attente de Vous accueillir encore!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SG

First and the Last time

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Pros: The accessibility and location is good. Very convenient to the shops and train station.
Cons: SERVICE!
Location: Shopping and more shopping.
Compared to the other 2 hotels in Italy during my visit, this is by far the worst. Some of the staff are quite sarcastic and doesn't portray a very welcoming feel. There is also no flask or kettle facilities so each time to make a hot tea or coffee, you will need to walk down all the way to the bar or restaurant to request a small mug of hot water. (Yes, just enough to make 1 cup). When request for more, the staff shows displeasurement. The pillows is the room are also a joke. It's so overused and flat that you feel as though there is no pillow beneath your head. However, the good thing about this hotel is its location and accessibility. That's about it. My first and last. Never will I recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Maurizio - Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations. We do not provide kettles in the rooms but we offer at the bar the opportunity to everyone to come and get as much hot water as needed free of charge. Our standard set up of bed is previewed with two different pillow, the flat one is anatomic and the reason for his flatness is to prevent neck- ache, any way we have a large amount of spare new pillows that anyone can ask to reception and get in the room at any time. We are very sorry to have not the occasion to satisfy our needs Best regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Beautiful Hotel, fantastic location, BYO-Bed.

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: This hotel is easily within walking distance of the train station, even if you are hauling large luggage it is not too bad of a walk. Very close to the Duomo and several other major attractions. The lobby has a beautiful antique look and feel to it as do the rooms. The bathrooms were updated and very nice. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful making reservations. Cons: Words cannot describe how awful this bed was. It seems to be an issue in many European hotels, but this one is the worst i've slept on. -Michael
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by Maurizio - Front office Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased that our location made your trip much easier and it sounds like you liked the hotel very much too. Thanks also for the positive words on our staff, we are glad to be supportive during your stay. On the other hand we are sorry to hear about the issue with the bed, we are aware that our mattresses size differs from the US, but we can assure you that ours are up to standards and all recently changed with new ones. Best regards