Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Good value.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Small family run hotel on the third floor of a building. You will need to climb four flights of stairs. The room was nice and spacious. My teen had trouble with wifi (possibly with his device). Location is very convenient for travelers by train. Somewhat away from crowds but still close to major attractions. If you want to dine like a local, I urge you to listen to owner's recommendations - best dining we had in Italy at bargain prices.
5 out of 5
by ALEXIS

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Really good location. Awesome location. Laundromat 20 feet away. Nice reasonable restaurant 15 feet away. Train station around the block and all the sites within 5 to 10 minute walk. They even waited up for us to check in after 10 pm. Great staff. Simple clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from asia

Good hosts

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: within walking distance from major sites and train station. Excellent host with good recommendations for meal and sights options. Very big rooms. Cons: On the 4th floor with no elevator. (Not advisable for people with lots of luggage). Very cold. Even with the heaters on, the room is very cold. Not sure abt other places in Florence as we were told it is not allowed to turn on the heater throughout the night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a clean historical building rest house.

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
The only thing not good about the hotel is climbing the flight of stairs to fourth level. No lift is available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, wonderful staff

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Bed was extremely comfortable. Room was large for European standards. Long and deep bath tub for nice long baths (notice not all rooms have this feature just the Elisa room (all rooms in hotels have names instead of numbers. Staff/owners very friendly, informative and helpful.
Cons: Had an issue on an unusually warm night in which we needed AC and it did not work so we were moved to another room which with open window the room was much cooler and we slept fine. We had this issue in all four hotels we stayed during our October visit to Italy. Other hotels did not even have AC option in October including one of the largest hotel chain in the world. Anyhow traveler beware of AC issues in Italy during October. Bottom line - staff reacted and solved our problem when discussed with them.
Location: Everything in Florence is nearby. Starting with train station 5 min walk, St. Maria Novella 2 min, Ponte Vecchio about 10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Well situated only 5 minutes from Centrale station and 10 -15 minute walk to everywhere else! Restaurants just outside the front door
This hotel at first appearance looks like it is stuck in a time warp - very old appearance It turns out to be a heritage listed site and we enjoyed the unique charms despite having to climb 3 flights of stairs Alex helped with the luggage going up and down The family who run the hotel were fabulous and made you feel like part of the family - good english too!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Nice family-run hotel. Complimentary water and coffee in room, also refrigerator.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old world charm and great location

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here one night on our Italy Roadtrip. The owner was a charm and made our reservations for us to see David at the University Museum. It is an old world building with all the charm. It is an elevatorless place and on the fourth floor, but for us that was perfect. The owner even hauled our luggage up the stairs for us and that at 74yo. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended!

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here with my partner for 4 days in August 2016. The hotel is extremely quiet (despite it's convenient location near to SMN train station), clean and comfortable. The real highlight is the quality of the staff and their hospitality, We dealt mostly with Alessandro, who runs the place with his father. Both were full of useful tips and took a genuine interest in making sure that we saw the real Florence and didn't pay over the odds in the tourist traps. They have an intimate knowledge of the food scene so make sure you ask for recommendations! The only slight downside was that the AC in our room wasn't particularly effective (it took quite a long time to cool the room down) but we were perfectly comfortable and the AC is sufficient to keep the room at a nice temperature overnight. Otherwise, Bellevue House gets a perfect score from me!
5 out of 5
by Jonathan from Houston, Texas

Great hotel with passionate manager

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel for a sightseeing visit. We stayed for one night and the manager was very helpful in suggesting an itinerary for us to see the important sights. His passion was very clear based on his enthusiasm for the city and the care he took in maintaining the hotel. I would suggest this hotel to my friends visiting Florence.