Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Apartments were nice and clean. Beds were very hard. Wall were thin if you had someone staying in the apartment above you could hear everything. Overall a beautiful setting and friendly staff. Maintenance were quick to sort problems. Our apartment did not benefit from free WiFi as the signal didn't stretch that far so we had to sit outside to use it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great countryside retreat in the Tuscan hills

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Lovely apartment with phenomenal views. Pool was lovely and clean. This a a great place to go if you are looking for a quiet holiday off the beaten track. There are a few nice villages and towns nearby, Montaione is about a 10 minute drive and is lovely. Pisa, Florence and Siena are around an hour (ish).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Toscany is beatifull.

Posted Jun 20, 2015 on Hotels
Toscane is a fantastic arena to visit. The landscape, the food,the wine the old villages, Pisa, florence Lucca and Sienna.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location - attractive value for money

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels
Great value for money. Very good restaurant, nice appartment, small bar with nice waiter but a greater vararity could be nice (fancy non-alcoholic drinks maybe). Small shop for last minute shopping. Nice horse riding opportunities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thiago from São Paulo, Brasil

Review

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Awesome property in a beautiful and peaceful area. Friendly and helpful staff and comfortable rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Great place to wind down

Posted Jun 30, 2013 on Hotels
If you like to relax, sunshine, nice swim in your own private villa pool, good wine and food and to take some nice city exkursions to nearby Florence and Pisa then this id the place to be! We got the best of o Both quiet time in our villa and to use all the resorts perks incl a nice small spa. We travelled 3 families and had mezzacosta villa all to our selfs. For best italian dinner we ever had we went down the Hill to casa masi. The best wood fired oven pizza we ever had was just nearby in antoni in a small village just before montaione. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from Naples, Italy (U.S. Military)

Great place to visit and stay for a few days

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: fireplace, and wine/olive oil from vineyard
Cons: The drive is long, steepy, and windy
Location: Very secluded with an incredible view
Our expectations were low because of the price; however, this place was excellent. The apartments included access to the horse stables, spa, church, and included complimentary wine and fire wood for the fireplace. The staff led us to the apartments and came inside and even made the roll-away bed for us. I would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, UK

Stunning scenery but rustic,basic accommodation

Posted Sep 2, 2011 on Hotels
Location is very rural so sight seeing isnt easy in my opinion.The various Tonda farm buildings are spead out so a car is a must and i would insist on an air con flat in summer.I dont think there are many that have it.The flat in `La Casina building' was at least 30 mins walk from reception,cafe & little shop via a narrow country lane.It was dingy,sparse and not clean so we moved to a hotel after a week. The price was cheap though so i couldnt expect 4* more like 2* here.Pool & scenery great though. WIFI only around reception which is just a desk no tables or chairs there but you can sit in the open air cafe to use your laptop.Restaurant/cafe expensive & average food compared to others in the area.On site activites pony riding lessons from age 6 is a great professional run school specialising in Western riding not English,kids club nr the riding we didnt use,very basic golf,tennis exposed entirely to the sun so not easy in the heat,cooking demonstrations. SPA fantastic if only they upgraded the rooms to the same standard i would return.Nearest town Montaonie is pleasant but 10 minutes drive. Everywhere else is at least an hours drive. Mosquitoes & bugs were everywhere but more prolific here due to being deep in the countryside. All in all i wasnt really on a budget so didnt have to put up with the basicness but if you are then its a good bet.For self caterers there is only a hob so take a one pot cooking book. On a plus the staff spoke good English and were helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Silkeborg, Denmark

Castellare di Tonda - Apartments

Posted Aug 2, 2011 on Hotels
We had never booked a holiday in Italy before; the reception we received from the staff and people in was extremely positive. The apartments are spacious, clean and the restaurant makes a convenient place to get a snack, lunch or evening meal. The countryside and towns around the location are truly wonderful - but be prepared to drive. Driving however is rewarded by stunning landscape, towns (like Lucca, Firenze, San Gimignano, etc.) and friendly accommodating people who are very service minded and helpful. We found no language barrier and only found people trying to help us - which was an extra bonus. We would certainly recommend Castellare di Tonda to our friends and will certainly be back for a another holiday