Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Reasonably Comfortable Tourist Hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016
I've stayed here before and at many other Florence hotels. This is a tourist hotel (coaches of guided tour groups checking in at random hours). This can be good or bad, depending upon your perspective. I stay here for business. Pros: Multi-lingual staff; VERY comfortable bed; cable flat-screen TV; hair dryer; shower in most rooms, tub shower in others. Limited room service, but in-hotel food service nearly 24/7. Reasonably quiet. Cons: Tourist hotel. Avoid breakfast room before 9:00 AM. Lots of in and out traffic with tour busses. Easy and quick to get a taxi. Hotel is clean but a bit dated. I may or may not stay here again. It's about a 25 minute walk to the Dumo (not that that's where I go).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham UK

High standard, 20 min walk to town

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: large and comfortable with high quality rooms (except AC being OFF)
Cons: AC must be programmable. This is 2016!
High standard, spacious and luxurious accommodation, but be prepared to walk 20 min to Santa Croce or 30-40 min to the Duomo. Friendly and helpful staff. Booking taxis is however a lottery unless you wait in the street. Great room, large bed and very well appointed bathroom. Our biggest problem was however that the air conditioning was switched off and it was very warm in the room at night even at the end of October. We left the windows opened but were savagely attacked by mosquitoes every night instead. This was for us a major inconvenience and could not rest effectively and therefore would factor in for our next reservation in Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Location is good and clean room

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Location is good and quiet area. Bus stop is nearby for transportation and you can walk to many places from hotel within 15 min walking. Room is clean but average ..may be 2 1/2 star based on usa standard (need some painting and update to room). Breakfast buffet was good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LAX

Nice hotel close to many plazas !

Posted Aug 20, 2016
My family and I love to walk every morning from the hotel to Ponte Vechio , Also the bus stop is very close to go around to the town.The double decker, The food is more than what expected for breakfast, The staff excellent. If you need a taxi you just ask them for in less than 5 minutes is in from of the hotel. I like it a lot , I recommend and if go again will stay in!! For the price that I pay is more than a fair deal!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Hotel is a little far from town center But overall clean and quiet. Breakfast Is quite good with fruits and sometimes Even vegetables. Would stay again next time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Good for price, reasonably comfortable

Posted Aug 12, 2016
This hotel is perfectly fine for a short stay in Florence. The room was reasonably comfortable and clean, and looks like any other fairly bland hotel room ( which is fine) the bathroom was clean and nice, however ours was of shampoo which was definitely an inconvenience for us. The best part of the stay was the nice breakfast in the morning. We were tired of croissants so it was nice to have eggs, fruit and yogurt. Also note that this place is a favorite of tour groups so there are a lot of people coming in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel centrally located

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Hotel and staff was fabulous. They were efficient, courteous and very helpful. The only drawback to our stay was a foul smell in the hallway leading to our room. Apart from that it was PERFECT and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Florence.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Average Hotel by the river in Florence

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: sound-proof the walls
Location: Close to all the main attractions in Florence (typically 15 minute walk)
Many of the rooms do not have a nice view and vary in quality and size; we saw four rooms before we found one that was nice - one of the other rooms had a funny drain smell, and a shower door with broken panes of plastic, another room had a bathroom that was so tiny. All but the last one had an inner courtyard view. Bedroom walls are thin enough that you can hear people having a shower in the next door room and we were often woken very early by conversations of other guests in the adjoining room. The wifi is free and reasonably fast, the breakfast was a hot and cold buffet. There was plenty to eat but I did not enjoy what was on offer as much as at other hotels. The staff were very helpful. There are no exercise/fitness facilities. The restaurant/bar serves good quality food at a very reasonable price in the evenings. The hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the main sights in Florence (Ufizzi Gallery, Ponti Vecchio etc) but I did not find that an issue for us, as it is right by the river and so the walk is pleasant. It is also very easy to get to Piazza Michelangelo for the best view of Florence. Overall, I would say this hotel is not quite a 4 star but it is reasonably priced. Would I stay again? Probably, but only with a decent room!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Many Mosquitos

Posted Jun 28, 2016
The hotel was overlooking a dirty river that caused many mosquitos to enter the hotel and bit my kids everywhere. The mosquito bites were painful and all over their faces and arms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Paola , Hotel Management
Dear Guest,thank you for choosing us for your stay in Florence. The Arno River is very close to the Hotel, that’s why during this hot season of the year there are many mosquitoes. Despite of a weekly disinfestations we are sorry but it is impossible to completely solve the problem. We usually invite our Guests to close the windows and to turn on the AC. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience Best regards from the Staff of the Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Nice and comfortable hotel.

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Excellent hotel, only drawback was during peak hours was a little crowed in breakfast room and lobby because of a large number of tour buses that use hotel.