Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Okay hotel far away from the highway

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Location: Location is far from the highway especially if coming from the north.
I picked the hotel with high expectation from both the pics and positive review. However it turned out to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed so far during our trip. To start with, the way to the hotel from Venice as directed by GPS and phone was getting more and more challenging and at several moments I feared we would never be able to make it. The zigzagged road was narrow and steep. When we finally got to the hotel, I further doubted my pick as I saw only one car in the yard, and it was 8pm. The two buildings didn't look as beautiful as in the pics. Actually they looked pretty creepy especially in the foggy rain. I was made more disappointed when learning that the two rooms I booked were actually located in two separate buildings, and neither had lifts. As if that was not enough. when we finally got ourselves into the rooms, I found no wifi at all. I was told later on that the dependent building didn't have wifi and the wifi in the other building was down and not fixed. Small room, small beds, pretty aged facilities, mediocre breakfast...I was trying to justify my own choice but unfortunately I couldn't find any. I need to give fair credit to the owner/manager. They were very friendly and helpful. And if you understand this was just a family-owned-and-run hotel, it was actually carefully maintained and had its own proud history. If you appreciate those more than the comfort or convenience, it may not be a bad choice. For me and my family, we won't come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Roger, Hotel Management
Thank you for the appreciation !! Before booking you should read most of what you are booking. It 'clearly written that the rooms booked were in addiction, if he wanted the main building it was enough to book them in the main building. It was clearly written that the wi-fi is only available in the main building !! The highway, coming from the north is only 25 minutes drive away and the road is very simple to follow. Surely you miss a turn. The rooms are exactly as in photos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Well priced hotel in the hills above Florence

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Wotif
Histroric hotel located in a small village 15km away from Florence. Excellent value for money, good breakfast. Facilities a little tired but not bad considering that in was built in 1905. No internet in room but available in the foyer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Be careful with hidden costs

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Cons: (1) WiFi in all rooms for free (2) Have a van to pick you up at the train station, at least, and bring you/pick up in the city every day.
Location: There is nothing close!
Gioto's WiFi is limited to 1 building. If you want WiFi need to do an upgrade room that cost €80. Every time you want to go to the city must pay €50 for a 1-way Taxi. If no, you have a nightmare taking multiple auto-buses wasting your vacation time on this UGLY experience. I choose this hotel because they offered a €33/night rate and they took advantage of me. Once you get there you can not cancel. If so, they charge a penalty. No effective customer service! Never come back. Also they say they have food and it is not true. There is only 1 restaurant and you have to WALK 6-10 minutes to get there.
5 out of 5
by David from Florida

Great place in the Tuscan Hills

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
Very accommodating staff, made an early breakfast for us when we had a morning tour in Florence.
2 out of 5
by Dani from slovenia

REnovation would not harm + breakfast fiasco !

Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
Old hotel was never renewed in last 50 years. Bed is terrible!!! Breakfast was so bad!! You could choose only between to diferent typ of chees - no eggs, no salami, nothing you could choose!!! Terrible. Only good thing is that you are 20 kg out of city and it is quiet surrounding. Without car you are lost and helpless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Il fiasco semmai è di chi pretende al nostro modico prezzo di pernottamento in quadrupla, un brunch completo per tutta la famiglia !!! I nostri letti sono di dimensioni standard, di altezza confortevole e corredati da reti ergonomiche con doghe in legno. I nostri materassi, periodicamente rinnovati, sono prodotti in modo artigianale ed espressamente per noi da una premiata ditta che opera in Firenze fin dal 1954, sono costruiti con materiali di pregiata qualità, con lato estivo ed invernale e sono perfettamente ignifughi. Bivigliano è collegata sia a Firenze che ai principali paesi del Mugello da una regolare linea di autobus. E' inoltre possibile noleggiare auto e moto, nonchè prenotare il servizio taxi. Abbiamo interamente ristrutturato l'hotel 3 anni fa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely Traditional Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff in this elegantly faded marbled hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Lovely hotel in quiet setting.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The beautiful building and grounds.
Cons: Heating, WiFi
Location: The hotel is a little isolated but there is a bus to Florence. We drove to nearby villages for dinner etc..
We loved the hotel and it's grandeur in the little village on top of the hills above Florence. The only issue we had was it was very cold in Tuscany - snowing in fact and our radiator did not quite keep the room warm enough. The staff were lovely and provided us with more blankets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Peaceful and happy

Posted Oct 15, 2014
A car is a pain in Florence but without one you miss the Tuscan countryside. This hotel solves the puzzle with hillside tranquility, free parking and a very friendly hospitality. Leave the car in the morning at piazzale Michelangelo and explore Florence on foot. After hours of hustle bustle, you will be glad at the end of the day to be heading for the hills, feeling at home at Giotto Park. As anywhere in Tuscany, bring some repellent because mosquitoes do come out in the evening.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Lovely hotel but transport essential

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
Giotto Park is 2 grand buildings in a lovely hilltop setting approximately 20 minutes north of Florence. Convenient parking on site if with a car; no wifi in rooms; clean rooms; my en-suite was too small though; overall a good place to stay if not wanting to be in Florence but have access to it
3 out of 5
by Michael

Lovely building overall

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is a good 20 min north of Florence. Definitely requires a vehicle to get to and from. Building & grounds are really lovely as is surrounding area. Rooms are clean & relatively comfortable. Bathroom was too small.