Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Okay hotel far away from the highway

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Location: Location is far from the highway especially if coming from the north.
I picked the hotel with high expectation from both the pics and positive review. However it turned out to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed so far during our trip. To start with, the way to the hotel from Venice as directed by GPS and phone was getting more and more challenging and at several moments I feared we would never be able to make it. The zigzagged road was narrow and steep. When we finally got to the hotel, I further doubted my pick as I saw only one car in the yard, and it was 8pm. The two buildings didn't look as beautiful as in the pics. Actually they looked pretty creepy especially in the foggy rain. I was made more disappointed when learning that the two rooms I booked were actually located in two separate buildings, and neither had lifts. As if that was not enough. when we finally got ourselves into the rooms, I found no wifi at all. I was told later on that the dependent building didn't have wifi and the wifi in the other building was down and not fixed. Small room, small beds, pretty aged facilities, mediocre breakfast...I was trying to justify my own choice but unfortunately I couldn't find any. I need to give fair credit to the owner/manager. They were very friendly and helpful. And if you understand this was just a family-owned-and-run hotel, it was actually carefully maintained and had its own proud history. If you appreciate those more than the comfort or convenience, it may not be a bad choice. For me and my family, we won't come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Roger, Hotel Management
Thank you for the appreciation !! Before booking you should read most of what you are booking. It 'clearly written that the rooms booked were in addiction, if he wanted the main building it was enough to book them in the main building. It was clearly written that the wi-fi is only available in the main building !! The highway, coming from the north is only 25 minutes drive away and the road is very simple to follow. Surely you miss a turn. The rooms are exactly as in photos.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glanz vergangener Zeiten

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Die Zeit ist ist für das Hotel Anfang des letzten Jahrhunderts stehen geblieben. Aber alles bestens in Schuss.
wir waren nur auf Durchreise, von Neapel in die Dolomiten. Als Ausgangspunkt für Besuche in Florenz ist das Hotel geeignet. Die Lage auf einem Hügel ist sehr schön.
5 out of 5
by Stephan

Freundliche Unterkunft hoch über Florenz

Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel in parkähnlicher Umgebung in den Hügeln über Florenz. Sehr freundliche Mitarbeiter, Minimarkt in unmittelbarer Nähe. Gut geeignet für Reisende mit Auto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Well priced hotel in the hills above Florence

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Wotif
Histroric hotel located in a small village 15km away from Florence. Excellent value for money, good breakfast. Facilities a little tired but not bad considering that in was built in 1905. No internet in room but available in the foyer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Be careful with hidden costs

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Cons: (1) WiFi in all rooms for free (2) Have a van to pick you up at the train station, at least, and bring you/pick up in the city every day.
Location: There is nothing close!
Gioto's WiFi is limited to 1 building. If you want WiFi need to do an upgrade room that cost €80. Every time you want to go to the city must pay €50 for a 1-way Taxi. If no, you have a nightmare taking multiple auto-buses wasting your vacation time on this UGLY experience. I choose this hotel because they offered a €33/night rate and they took advantage of me. Once you get there you can not cancel. If so, they charge a penalty. No effective customer service! Never come back. Also they say they have food and it is not true. There is only 1 restaurant and you have to WALK 6-10 minutes to get there.
5 out of 5
by David from Florida

Great place in the Tuscan Hills

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
Very accommodating staff, made an early breakfast for us when we had a morning tour in Florence.
2 out of 5
by Dani from slovenia

REnovation would not harm + breakfast fiasco !

Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
Old hotel was never renewed in last 50 years. Bed is terrible!!! Breakfast was so bad!! You could choose only between to diferent typ of chees - no eggs, no salami, nothing you could choose!!! Terrible. Only good thing is that you are 20 kg out of city and it is quiet surrounding. Without car you are lost and helpless.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Romantik pur

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Das Hotel ist eine einsam gelegene Villa, die vermutlich selten mehr als eine Handvoll Gäste hat. Das Personal war das freundlichste das ich seit Jahren getroffen hatte. Die Empfehlungen bezüglich Restaurants waren gut und ehrlich. Man fühlt sich ein wenig in eine andere Zeit versetzt und auch wenn das Frühstück klein ausfiel (was bei der Anzahl der Gäste zu verstehen ist), so entschuldigen dies die Größe und Ausstattung der Zimmer. Hier hätte auch ein Napoleon oder Sissi Urlaub machen können. Man entkommt dem Trubel Florenz, hat eine wunderschöne Landschaft um sich herum und ist in 30min auch in der Stadtmitte von Florenz (wenn man die Zimmerpreise den Parkkosten in der Florenzer Innenstadt gegenüberstellt, lohnt es sich übrigens auch außerhalb zu wohnen). Für Pärchen zu empfehlen!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Soggiorno splendido grazie alla professionalità della signora all'accoglienza e alla sua disponibilità. Ottimo posto se si decide di evadere dallo stress quotidiano e rilassarsi con la propria famiglia o semplicemente con il proprio o propria partner
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely Traditional Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff in this elegantly faded marbled hotel.