Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Florence la magnifique

Posted Oct 20, 2008
Hotel is well situated but it would need a refurbishment. It looks like "old"
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sønderborg

ikke imponeret

Posted Oct 14, 2008 on Hotels
Hotellets standard ikke svarende til 4 stjerner
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit MI

Great Location/Great Service

Posted Sep 27, 2008
The hotel is less than 5 minutes from the train station and an easy walk to all the sights, shopping and restaurants in Florence. Made for a very convenient stay. The staff was very helpful in booking reservations for the museums and had brochures in the lobby for different tours. My only complaint is that the hotel is dated with worn carpets. The tub had a hand-held nozzle but no shower curtain if you wanted to take a shower. The service and convenience more than made up for the condition of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Bed Bug Alert!

Posted Sep 25, 2008
This was the most hideous hotel I have ever stayed in! It was dark, dank and smelled of damp. The carpets in the reception area, hallways and rooms were stained. The reception area stank of smoke despite displaying a huge "no smoking" sign. Our room was large but the bed had no headboard and seemed to be raised off the floor but a strange wooden platform. The mirror in our room was so rusty you couldn't see your reflection in it. The over bath shower had no curtain so was of no use. The bath was old and rusty and there was only a tiny trickle of hot water when I did try to bathe. Worse was to come! When my husband and I awoke in the morning and pulled back our bed covers we were horrified to see lots of spots and streaks of blood on our sheets! Some of these "spots" started moving... they were bedbugs!! Needless to say despite booking 4 nights there we checked out immediately. Nine days later my husband is still covered in red, angry itchy spots. The whole experience was absolutely hideous! This place should be closed down!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

More like 3 star

Posted Sep 25, 2008 on Hotels
Grand Hotel Majestic is sure big and rooms are impressive but I can't say that about hotel overall. Although my room was very clean and huge for just one person breakfast needs to improve a lot because it is apparently 4 star hotel and really is more like 3. People in reception are mostly nice and helpful (for example you can get map of Florence and some guides about the city). Hotel itself is very close to train station which helps a lot for traveller like me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Could feature in a nightmare

Posted Sep 20, 2008
Apart from the courtesy of the reception staff, there is nothing good to say about this hotel. Thankfully the reception staff were good enough to find my party another hotel after our first and last night in a very dated/tired hotel which just felt dirty - my first room offered was like an ash tray, it smelt so strongly of smoke, the second room was marginally better although the shower was very mildewed and managed only a trickle of tepid water. The worst aspect however was in my friend's room where she awoke to discover her bed riddled with bed bugs - these were promptly shown to the staff - hence our relocation to another much cleaner hotel nearby. I could never recommend this hotel to anyone apart from the film crew for an Italian 'Fawlty Towers'/Hotels from Hell.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Anything but Majestic

Posted Sep 3, 2008
This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and was very disappointed. The rooms are decaying, the mattresses sit on particale board, the bathroom was not clean (even after requesting it to be cleaned again) and looked like it has never has been or will be. The scary part, the people that "clean" the rooms make the breakfast, needless to say it was bad. This place was worse than many hostels I have stayed at. The staff don't seem to care; we wished we had never stayed there and recommend that you don't!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très correct

Posted Aug 18, 2008
Très correct. On apprécie la clim (enfin perso, comme elle faisait du bruit je la débranchai la nuit !). Chambre spacieuse et propre. Hôtel tout prêt du centre historique, parfait pour visiter Florence.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Would not stay again.

Posted Aug 10, 2008
None of the staff could speak English at all!! Would not recommend this hotel,ever! Most hotels in Europe will have English speaking staff which makes a HUGE, HUGE difference in the quality of your stay in a city. Staff just could not provide any advice or suggestions on local activities, food, etc..Rooms are ok, but not as like pics. Would definately recommend any other hotel..Close to train station but in junkie area of city..
3 out of 5
by Sabine

Nicht beeindruckt

Posted Jul 8, 2008
4 Sterne waren für dieses Zimmer übertrieben! Zentrale Lage.