Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London,

Hotel close to the station

Posted Dec 5, 2016
I checked in this hotel and on the first night I complained because it was extremely cold (winter) in the room. One of the staff members came into my room talking to me like I'm stupid saying that even though there was a hole in the window (old AC system installation) if I put the AC on max the Room would warm up. Yes the AC which he thought it was a heater. I left it for that night but when I woke up the next day feeling ill I complained again to the manager. He sent someone to cover the whole with tape. It didn't help at all because the windows were old and there was gaps everywhere. Again the manager wasn't the nicest about it. The following night I had enough and complained again till they gave me a heater which didn't work, so I returned it and asked for another one. It seems like the staff was more frustrated than I was. The breakfast was absolutely disgraceful. Bread wasn't fresh, the salad fruit was made up of canned pineapple and grapes, the coffee and juice machine didn't work properly. Wifi was equally bad! It keep kicking you out and sometimes you had to wait until next morning to have it working. It was an unpleasant experience, I would not recommend. Defn not a 3 star hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Horrible! Watch Your Belongings!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The coffee shop next door.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Florence is a wonderful city with attractions left and right. Food is great and shopping is awesome!
One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. The bed (actually two single beds that were pushed together) was lumpy and extremely uncomfortable. The walls and carpet were dirty, the furniture and fixtures are really old and falling apart. The shower head was held together by a piece of plastic tie but it still splashes so when you're done showering, expect a pool of water on the floor. The worst part of my stay here was that I lost a pair of boots, which I didn't notice were gone until I was unpacking at my next hotel in another city. Watch your valuables and make sure to double check that you have all your belongings before you check out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Siena, Italy

OK given the low price

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Front desk staff, low price, location
Cons: Wifi did not work in room. Hazardous steps leading from the street level down to the lobby level. Street noise.
Location: Near Santa Maria Novella church and train station, as well as Ognissanti church and neighborhood.
Expedia offered a very low price for my single room. Front desk staff were welcoming and helpful. Room was small but clean and bathroom amenities OK. Lots of street traffic noise which woke me up quite early in the morning. Never could get the wifi to work in my room. Front steps leading down from the street to the hotel lobby are not easy to see and a bit hazardous as a result. Very good location in relation to many central Florence attractions. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

It looks better in the picture

Posted Oct 25, 2016
The hotel was ok but they need to update the the beds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AUS

Highly recommend for the location!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location, size of room, friendly staff & hotel manager. The hairdryer was suprisingly very powerful (usually some hotel ones aren't!)
Cons: Needs a refresh (perhaps lighter coloured tiles in the bathroom to open up the space). Full body mirror would be a bonus!
Location: Location is excellent, 10 - 15 min walk to Ponte Vecchio, same amount of time to get to centre. Great eateries and cafes all walking distance.
I chose this hotel because of its location and good price (I stayed for 5 nights). The room it self was quite spacious and very authentic style with tiled floors (which help keep the room cool), wood panel windows, large bed & storage space. The bathroom was very dated (and dark - due to having dark green old fashioned tiles) but cleanliness was good. The hotel is around the corner from the centre (10 - 12 min walk) and as you turn the corner you see the river and Ponte Vecchio - the famous old bridge. I loved the location of this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful (my mini fridge was not working so they replaced it for me!). I recommend this hotel for families (as the rooms are good size). Friends traveling, or a solo traveler. Excellent location and comfortable room with a slightly 60's touch (the bathroom tiles!), but it added character to the space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

It was nice, but need a reno,

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We had great stay there, it was close to everything, water and train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Satisfied customer

Posted Aug 10, 2016
I liked it, close to main attractions, clean and comfy. Reception was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location . Great staff

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Hotel is basic but meets all your needs. A bit noisy at night until bar across road closed . Staff helpful and place clean and comfortable . I know it is not European way but not being able to make hot drinks anywhere in the hotel is a nuisance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Such a great spot!!!!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The hotel itself is close to everything, but a bit off the beaten track, so it was nice and quiet.
Cons: uh......nothing!!
Location: Museums, cafe's, restaurants.....everything you'd ever want is close by.
So we get there early....really early, dog tired, but the clerk let us in and we were able to get a decent sleep before starting our day. The room was small, but just perfect for our needs. There's an amazing Museum up the street, cafe's and shops close by.....what's not to love??
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place is well past its prime

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: good location
Cons: a lot of things need to be improved here. I hope someone will invest the money this hotel deserves...
Location: 15 minutes' walk from the city centre, 7 minutes walk from the train station, fantastic little cafe right next door
I booked 2 nights here as it seemed good value and the location was ideal. I've read some reviews before, but I thought I'm not that fussy, I'll be fine. The place looks old, the furniture and decoration shows that the hotel's heyday was before my grandparents' time, this didn't put me off. What did was the noise, my first floor room had single glazed window and all the street noise you can imagine. I barely slept, there was no heating, while the AC seem to have worked, when I put it on 35 I managed to achieve 19 degrees. Hot water was meagre and water pressure weak. While the place was clean and I was give a clean towel every day (despite putting mine on the rack to show I didn't need one) I wasn't given new shower gel - they come in a sachet - though when I went to the reception I was given a handful. Breakfast would have been an additional €5, I opted out as there was a lovely place right next door with great coffee and breakfast selection. It's a roof over your head if you're on a budget and you're really not fussed, but this hotel needs serious investment.