Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to train station

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Leaving it
Cons: Communication,
Location: All of Florence
Hotel could not adjust a booking error. Click said there was nothing he could do about paying for three nights for a two night stay. The shower in the bathroom was like a small RV. This is NOT a *** 3 star hotel. I would hesitate to give it a 2
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarborough ,Ontario

Good location

Posted May 6, 2016
Good location 5 minutes walk from train station . Short walk to Duomo. Clean, friendly staff. OK breakfast. Rooms , bathroom, beds only basic, For the price, one of the cheaper hotels its OK, nothing fancy , very basic, for budget traveller OK.you get what you pay for.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gulfport, MS

Book ANY Other Hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: A remodel of the carpet, floors, and walls might help. Internet access in the room!
Location: The location is perfect.There is a Market nearby with delicious fresh food & dining! It's open until midnight. It's a great place to escape your room
Do not prepay for a room at this hotel because you will not have any recourse when you are disappointed. The lobby is old and drab and there is no internet in the rooms, only in the lobby. In 2016, that is unthinkable. I do not recall the last time I did not have internet in the room. They have a decent continental breakfast every day, but no bar as advertised. There is a bar on the second floor, but no bartender. I guess you can wait for a bartender to serve a drink, but we got tired of waiting and went out instead. It is not a bar in any sense of what you would expect in a hotel. The bathroom in Room 304 is dangerous. It has a window which is nice, but the shower spurts out into the bathroom and into the bedroom, turning it into a skating rink. I slipped and fell twice and my husband fell once, trying to take a shower. If they would enclose the shower with a stall instead of a shower curtain, it might not be quite so dangerous. The furniture in the room is drab and old. The location of the hotel is perfect, but there are plenty of other accommodations nearby and I would stay at one of those rather than this hotel. The staff is very nice except for the male night clerk who fell asleep making our wake-up call, 15 minutes late on December 30, 2015. We had to be at the airport at 5:00am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Great location in Florence for those who travel by train. We enjoyed our stay and found the staff very helpful and professional.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very low quality

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Hotel should be renamed into motel without any stars. Room: old furniture, guest bed that move when you turn around, AC is leaking or not working at all. Bathroom: very small - you don't have space for the toilet - have to move, shower doesn't exist - it is just a curtain so all get wet. At night roaches came out and the hotel staff offered us the spray because the hotel was full.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, Canadab

Posted Jun 22, 2015
I had a good experience at the Ascot hotel. The staff were fro friendly and ego to please especial Nino who accommodate me with a fan in my hot room. He managed to find a better room for me which increased my experience in Florence.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Offers essentials.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Everything is in walking distance, The Duomo, markets, train station, The Academy, Uffizi gallery
The hotel is not luxurious but it offers the essentials: cleanliness, comfort, warm, friendly staff and it's centrally located.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chino Hills, California

Worth extra money to stay at better accommodations

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The location was good.
Cons: The toilet area. It's almost impossible to use the toilet in its current location. Internet should be available in the guest rooms
Location: Very close to train station. Almost everything within Florence is within walking distance. All museums and shopping was between 5-15 minutes by foot
The internet only worked in the lobby, therefore, each night, there were constantly 5-8 people crowded in the 2 uncomfortable sofas in the Lobby. To sit and use the toilet, I had to cram myself into the corner. Anyone over 5'7" won't even fit in my opinion! The toilet area was so cramped I avoided it as much as possible. The shower area was nothing more than a curtain in the bathroom. If you weren't careful, you got everything in the bathroom wet, including the toilet paper and bath towels while you were showering. I was next to a room with several young ladies who kept me up all night laughing and cackling. I even had earplugs, which didn't help.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States

Do not stay at this hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything could be improved, cleanliness, friendliness of staff, heating units, smell of hotel. I really am not sure where to begin.
We showed up and were given a room that had no heat. We waited for 2 hours and were told that someone would come to take a look. Nobody came (as only one person was working at the front desk) and then we were told that our group of 3 would be split because there were no more triple rooms. Both of the rooms we were given also didn't have heat (mind that this was December and temperatures reached 0C or 32F) during the night. One of the rooms we were given didn't even have a bed, but rather two cots. After another 3 hours they came and gave us a space heater since the heating unit was clearly broken. Now mind that we said this for 3 hours, but the front desk attendant claimed that it was not broken. While the location was great (right next to the train station) the hotel was awful. I have stayed at some pretty shady places before, but this one is the worst I've been to yet. Oh, and I forgot to say that the whole place smelled like a sewer (the smell moved from 1st floor up to 3rd flood over the 48 hours we were there). I wouldn't give any stars to this hotel since I wouldn't really call it a hotel. We were horribly mislead by the posts and reviews on this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hotel close to attractions and transportation

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Everything is close by, the Duomo is less than 10 minutes away. Palazzo Vecchio is 15 minutes away.
I stayed at this hotel from 5 nights and it was close to all of the attractions I wanted to see. The main metro and bus station ins only 1.5 blocks away, there are restaurants and shops in the area and the staff was very nice. At one point the tv wasn't working and staff came to my room the moment I told him that the tv wasn't working and he fixed the problem. The breakfast is pretty average but it beats paying for a breakfast in such an expensive city. My bed was fixed every day but I'm not sure that they changed the sheats every day or cleaned the bathroom floor every day, although they did provide me with plenty of towels. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you plan to stay for a short amount of time. I slept well in the bed, the only issue was that there's a restaurant across the street from the hotel that closes late.