Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Centereach, NY

Very nice Hotel.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Florence is a must see and the Athenaeum Hotel is in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good place to see Florence

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable and in a good location
Location: Great location within walking distance of the sights and shopping.
Great location, walking distance to all of the sights and restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA United States of America

Modern hotel a 20 minute walk from the Duomo.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The hotel has modern facilities and a good breakfast. The triple room was a good size.
Cons: The single bed in the triple room was small and uncomfortable. Hotel is on a busy road so many rooms are noisy. The keys have your room number on them and you have to leave them at the front desk when you go out.
Location: Near the Academia and University and a 15-20 minute walk to the Duomo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Attention to every detail and needs.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Our overnight stay in Firenze was made perfect by the staff at Hotel Atheneum. From our late check in to arranging a snack and service when the restaurant was closed, to the personal arrangements for a taxi to the airport for 4 people at 4 am. every detail was cordially handled for us with professionalism and personal care.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Quiet Location

Posted Oct 4, 2016
The hotel staff did not inform us of any of the amenities of the hotel when we checked in. The room was a good size however, the vents were extremely dirty and the room was very dusty. I left after several days with a cough and sinus issues. I wonder if it was from the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Blocks from city center

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Great hotel, nice staff, and only a 5 min walk to the Cathedral. I got the superior room with a large balcony. The room was clean and comfortable. I would stay here again. In fact I plan on it in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Bad hotel bad location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
The room was outdated and poorly laid out. Could not find light switch iin bathroom which was hidden under the hair dryer. Shower was dangerous to get out of. Hotel was away from main attractions. The air conditioning was noisy and there were bright lights that were shining all night into the room. Closing the curtains did not help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loccation was great close to the Duomo.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: The front staff and location.
Cons: repair/replace the carpets and bedspreads. Introduce a quality system regarding housekeeping. Your hotel has great potential.
Location: Many tourist sites and Duomo within walking distance.
Hotel Staff were great, location was good, Lobby was very nice and inviting. When the elevator door opened and we were exposed to the hall carpet it was clear that we may be disappointed and sadly we were. The carpets throughout were old stained with dirt and what appeared to be cigarette burns. This carried on through to the room. The bed spread, well we were afraid to touch it, the stains and visible dirt was unfortunate. There was hair between the bed spread and the sheet thankfully none between the sheets. We have traveled to many places and always wipe down items such as remote light switches etc... we had never experienced the dirt that we cleaned up especially off the toilet push flush mechanism.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Best staff!

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Cons: Cleanliness could have been improved. The the cleaning staff only did our bed and didn't clean the bathroom.
Location: The gallery where David is! Piazza San Marco, Boboli Gardens, etc!
Staff member Santiago was the best. He was very helpful with helping us navigate around the city. The restaurants and tours he recommended were all really great. We got a room upgrade because of our honeymoon and I thought that was very kind! Close to major places you want to see! My husband and I walked everywhere so it was a very enjoyable experience. Breakfast was good and it was an overall enjoyable stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

unclean and smelled

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything needs improvement at this hotel, especially training for the hotel staff who are suppose to clean the hotel rooms,
Location: had to walk a bit to get to fun things to do
When we got there the bathroom smelled i called downstairs and asked that someone clean it, they sent up a man who dumped something into the bodee and left. It still smelled bad, to top it off, they have bed bugs - I got bitten twice on the first night. They also had see through curtains, so it felt like we had no privacy and i hung up towels on those curtains just so I could use the bathroom. AND when the sun hit your side of the building the room was HOT - their cheap curtains let all the heat in so the AC barely cooled the room. This place was the worst hotel I ever stayed in, it was dirty, it smelled, and it had bed bugs....obviously the place was not cleaned properly, wondering if my bedsheets were even cleaned. This hotel needs to reimburse me for that stay. This place was horrible!!