Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 1, 2016
No elevators, only for luggages, and every time you have to go up to your room. It was 4 story and breakfast start 7.30 am and most hotels 7.am and you need to go out and get buses on times. The price you paid is average for 4 stars so this hotel is not qualifying for that....I m not even thinking to go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Brilliant location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Hotel Bigalo has a fabulous location overlooking the Duomo. It's a comfortable, traditional Italian hotel with very friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent location

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Awesome location and room includes a decent breakfast. Hotel staff were extremely helpful. No wifi and rooms are tight and could use some updating. Enjoyed for a short stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Close to the Duomo

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Convenient location. Could have been a little cleaner, but it was satisfactory. Great view! Staff were friendly and breakfast was really good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy hotel right in Piazza Duomo!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
This hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Florence - we could see the Duomo right outside our window! Staff were friendly and always available. The room was old fashioned but clean. Breakfast was served in the dining room right outside our room and there was a good choice of toast, croissants, yoghurt, cakes, fruit, juices etc. The coffee though is self serve from a machine and not the best. Better idea to go to a nearby bar. Be careful with the lift we got stuck! Overall we had a pleasant stay at Hotel Bigallo and would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Could not have found a better location! Hotel was clean and staff very helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Layton,UT

Great Location

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: closeness to everything, free breakfast, air-conditioning, and elevator
Cons: Bathtubs seem to be in short supply in Italy. A bathtub would have been nice, also free wifi.
Location: The location was ideal-just steps from the main piazza. Lots to do and wonderful gelato shops and shopping literally right outside the hotel.
We stayed here for 3 nites the beginning of June. The room was very roomy, and although we did not have a view of the Duomo, neither were we bothered by the church bells, or the ambulance sirens that some people have complained about. The room was very comfortable with air conditioning which was a must with the warm weather. The breakfast was pleasant and filling, and a great start to our day. We were within walking distance of all the major sights, and the train station which was our primary mode of transportation in Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Brilliant Position

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Position of hotel - close to Duomo/main areas is first class. Hotel staff are very helpful. Breakfast is very good. Room good with good amenities and bathroom. (problem with shower fixed immediately and well) All in all a hotel I would thoroughly recommend. The ONLY negative we could find was its access. Four flights of stairs, with handrail a bit wobbly - is not what one would wish after a tiring journey. Well warned in past reviews though. The lift (not that well marked or signed) is very old. Frankly a bit of an ordeal for my wife but the alternative was worse. So much of a pity but we would still return to the hotel on any return visit. Worthy of note but the position staff etc make using it again a very strong possibility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A great location combined with beautiful room

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Spent a couple of days in great location with very comfortable room. Very friendly staff and beautiful deco. The breakfast is standard and Internet is charged, but you won't need Internet with so much to enjoy in the city :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA, USA

location for price is great

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Location: Florence is an easy walking city and the hotel is centrally located to most tourist destinations.
Clear signage from the street. Hotel is about 100 feet from Duomo square. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff helpful and always at front desk (everyone we dealt with spoke English). Free breakfast was filling and good. Small hotel practice of returning key when leaving building was not an issue (less to carry around and worry about while sight seeing). Easy early and late luggage storage was simple, free and very helpful.