Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Retired2013

Close to train station

Posted May 13, 2013 on Orbitz
The hotel was walking distance to train and downtown Florence. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Room was adequate.
2 out of 5
by Traveler

Acceptable location, poor service

Posted Jan 2, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is in a good distance from main landmarks almost 20 minutes of walk. However, the hotel service is not very good and the breakfast is absolutely basic and consists of poor quality products. It maybe a good option for one night stay or if you need to urgently book and no other option is available. Considering the price and quality, not a recommended one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spend a Little More and Go Somewhere Else

Posted Oct 14, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was way overpriced for the spartan conditions. Badly in need up updates, poorly decorated, bathrooms so small you can't turnaround comfortably, beds were uncomfortable. With a little investment this could be a nice, charming boutique hotel. Right now it is just an old uncomfortable place to stay.
1 out of 5
by Jason

Best and Worst staff in one

Posted Sep 18, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel has the nicest person I met in my entire trip in Italy when I came in. However, I never saw him again, and he was replaces with the rudest guy ever. My TV didn't work, and it was never replaced (stayed for 3 nights.) Normally, I don't care about TV when I travel, but this was during the Olympics. Furthermore, whenever I asked for anything, a map, directions, the rude guy was outwardly annoyed. Given, I noticed some rude guests before me, but he shouldn't translate that anger towards the next customers. I expected more from a 3 star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad place to stay.

Posted Jun 13, 2012
Pros: location and hotel staff
Cons: breakfast, room decor just ok
Location: close to the train station, not too far from the center attractions
I was looking for a hotel near the train station and found this one. Convenient location for me but nothing special. The price was much lower than the high end hotels closer to the center. The walk to the center was pretty short with penty of places to eat nearby. The breakfast buffet was marginal at best. All of the staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The doors to the rooms were thin/hollow but my floor was quiet so there wasn't an issue.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last resort only

Posted Jan 2, 2012
Pros: Location, but at a cost
Good for lads (students) weekend away. Although great location, the upkeep of the hotel is poor. Dirty and shabby rooms and old beds. Clean bathroom only.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Byron in Florence - sub par

Posted Nov 23, 2011 on Hotels
This hotel is in a good location close to the bus station, however, it is in very shabby condition. The man at the reception was very friendly but the hotel is just in bad shape - appeared dirty and really let go.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2011 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Good location, close to everything. Bed was very hard though. Very basic room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenience Plus - Hotel Byron

Posted Oct 23, 2011 on Hotels
Hotel was just minutes from train station. We were able to drop our luggage and then enjoy the sights without encumberances. Hotel was a very easy walking distance from all major attractions. Personnel were pleasant and helpful. Room was quite adequate. Bathroom was great and all were extremely clean. Not luxurious but certainly filled our needs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Hotel Byron Florence Near to Station

Posted Oct 19, 2011 on Hotels
Nice hotel for the price. Staff very good room a bit small and in need of redecoration could also be a bit noisy. Beware of mosquito's in late September.