Ratings based on 650 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 10021

Great Location

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Overall looks great Should have a piano player during happy hour at the least. Big sitting area is great.
Cons: Generally a dull place ! Needs flowers and more reading material Computers have worn out keyboards ! so unless you know where the letters bad.
Location: Large Piazza and best stores steps away Ponte Vecchio is an easy 10 minute walk....
Be warned no AC during warm periods...I found myself in a hot box with no recourse. Spent eight days sweltering in MARCH. Breakfast was typical but nothing special. The fruit was somewhat overipe. Very limited TV selection of channels Lots of Mosquitos in March...Thinking warmer will be worse. Rooms and bedding very clean and crisp.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire UK

Perfect Location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The décor, location the staff.
Cons: The prices of the drinks in the bar
Location: All the main sights of the city are within easy walking distance. Try ll Lantini restaurant five minutes walk from Hotel.
This is a very comfortable Hotel in an excellent position within easy walking distance of all the main sights of the city. The staff are very helpful, the bar, reception, restaurant and rooms are all furnished to a high standard and the bedroom was comfortable and very clean with lovely linen. The breakfast had a large selection of fruits and cheese and meats. The only drawback was the bar was expensive. Happy hour between 6-8pm offered small bites to eat which were good but the drinks were not reduced as is the case in many "happy hours". I think there would be many more takers for the bar if the Hotel reduced the prices of the drinks during this time as the bar area was very comfortable and inviting..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and central to everything

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Loved the stay there very central and beautiful hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: The location was great , the hotel is clean, the staff is wonderful.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is located on a quiet pedestrian street, no thru traffic. Easy walk to the duomo, ponte vecchio and piazza republica. Great dining nearby.
Quiet pedestrian street, 5 minute walk to the duomo, breakfast was plenty, staff were attentive. Clean and spacious room. Italian charm. This was my 2nd time staying at this hotel and would definitely go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Better pillows, better ventilation.
Good location and great view out of my room, but Florence is very noisy at night and we needed to have windows closed to sleep. Air conditioning would not work and room was much too warm. Had to open windows. Pillows are very thin and bed is quite firm. Breakfast was good but service seemed rushed and scattered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from millbrook, ny

Perfect location for site seeing or shopping

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Location, decor, room, staff... with very few exceptions.
Cons: Drain in our bathroom. Breakfast... chef was not there so no omelette or eggs... just buffet... almost everything had gluten... so we did not eat.
Location: Piazza Antinori is at the top of the Via Tornabuoni... the high rent shopping street of Florence... short walk to Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio, etc.
I stayed in the Hotel de la Ville many years ago and I am happy to say their renovation efforts have been a great success. They have a charming bar area and lovely sitting room adjoining it. Well stocked bar, good wine list... grappa... and very nice decor. Very pleasant and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holyoke, MA USA

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: none
Location: Duomo, Bell towers
Clean, polite and very close to everything. Staff was very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything.

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Staff and the bar
Cons: Bed a little hard
Location: Perfect location in Florence. Easy walk to all the sites and the train station
Very beautiful lobby and bar area. Great breakfast. Hot appetizers in bar. Staff very helpful .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

centrally located, great staff

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed there on several occasions and have always been well satisfied with the hotel. However the standard twin rooms are small
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay, great location

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Overall our stay was very pleasant. Staff was friendly and helpful from check in to check out. We stayed in the jr suite and it was a beautifully decorated spacious room. Hotel has a very convenient location in the center of Florence close to everything, including all attractions, train station, shopping and dining. Our stay included breakfast buffet, which was delicious. Hotel does have a bar, which was fun, but pricey (expected of hotel bars). There were just a couple things that were not as great. Hotel did not have an iron and there was no tea/coffee maker in the room (which maybe is not bad, since there aren't so many cafes around). Last night there were some sort of repairs being done outside right under window starting 5am, so we had a really early morning, because we could hear everything! We only stayed 3 days, but I would expect that this is not more of an isolated incident than a regular occurrence. Window sound proofing is definitely minimal though. Overall I really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.