Ratings based on 693 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great location and tasty breakfast!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Amazing location, tasty breakfast, clean room, friendly staff.
Cons: At the time of our stay, a group of teenagers was staying on our floor and were being noisy talking in the corridor at night.
Great hotel, in an amazing location (you can enjoy views of the Duomo whilst eating your breakfast). The room was well equipped for the price and very clean. The staff were helpful and allowed us to leave our luggage in the lobby after check out so that we could spend our last hours in Florence comfortably. We did not have to drive anywhere, everything was local and in a walking distance. At breakfast, the freshly baked bread rolls were really tasty, and there was a good selection of food and drinks. Would definitely recommend if you need a nice base from which to explore the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Nice hotel, very central

Posted Apr 17, 2017
When we booked this I'd not realised how close to the Duomo it was so that was a nice surprise. Also meant hotel was always really easy to find! Breakfast was good and rooms were spotless. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Cot was €10 extra per night, not really a problem for our two nights but bear it in mind if you're with little ones. Lots of good cafes, shops and restaurants near. Train station less than ten minutes walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Comfortable rooms.
Great location, and very good value. Rooms large enough and nice bathroom. Breakfast fine, and the staff were were helpful, everything you need for a long weekend in a beautiful city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near everything

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Staff very nice old hotel but near the tourist spot nice to walk at night
4 out of 5
by Terry L

Great location for a small budget

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is located in a great location for shopping; right off the main street. The people at the reception desk were very, very nice...along with the ladies who serviced my room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Location is very good 1min from Duomo, walking distance to all famous places to visit.
Room small, but has everything you needed, lift is available in building, stuff very pleasant, nice breakfast provided.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The location and rooms were fine. The staff were also fine.
Cons: The hotel, location and staff were fine. The internet service is a complete rip-off!! In today's modern world when you are booking online - there internet charges and the difficulty of the system would have me look for another hotel just because of that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Small hotel in the centre of everything

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Small hotel but great location! Clean room but small, friendly staff. Good breakfast, although they don't start serving until 7:30. So if you have to get out early, you have to get breakfast elsewhere. Thank God for McDonald's :) I was super happy with the location of this hotel across the road is the Baptistery and Cathedral behind is the Pallazo Vecchio, Uffizi gallery and Ponte Vecchio. There's plenty of good restaurants, gelateria, shopping. And if you need medicine? There's so many Pharmacies! Ha! Ha! Never been anywhere where there's so many pharmacies! I loved Florence but there's still so much to see! So if I do go back I will stay in this hotel again. It's not luxury, but it's in a good location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst customer service

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here two nights. The first night, the small shower drained slowly (read: took >1hr to drain). We let the front desk know the next morning. The next night, we arrived home late and again tried to take showers. The drain did not drain at all, and after a 3min shower, water was overflowing onto the bathroom floor. We called the front desk for more towels to sop up the wet (it was midnight). The next morning, as we checked out, we told the front desk again about the shower (we had expected it would be fixed after the first complaint). We were told it was our fault and we would receive no money back and nothing could be done, as we "had breakfast and a clean bed for sleeping." We were yelled at in the lobby in front of other guests in full earshot of the breakfast area. In the end, we decided to cut out losses and just get the heck out of there. Aside from that issue, the room is super dated, NO free wifi, breakfast is basic (croissants and meat and coffee). What you pay for is the LOCATION! Amazing spot right by the Duomo. You certainly don't pay for a shower. With similarly priced hotels plentiful in the area, go somewhere else where you're appreciated as a customer and not yelled at and berated in public for wanting a functional shower (or some sort of refund for the lack thereof!). We were sad to leave Florence, but grateful to be out of Hotel de Lanzi.