Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

More like a hostel than a hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2008
Really hard to find. One person lift to the hotel check in on the fifth floor...then our room was down the street and around the corner. No phone in the room. No shower, just a drain that didn't drain so it soaked the bedroom. The shower handle fell off everytime you tried to move in the very small space. The full length window to the alley did not lock...it was a scary place. Obviously, we did survive our stay but I wouldn't suggest anyone else try.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Don't stay there

Posted Mar 2, 2008
Hotel is barely a 1 star hotel. Wouldn't stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Terrible

Posted Jan 17, 2008
When we booked the Hotel Derby we was fully aware that it was only two star hotel, but for the price of the hotel we expected more than what we actually got. Apart from the room being quite dingy, there were no curtains (the street was very brightly lit) and the double bed was made up of two single matresses, which were different sizes...neither of us sleep for two nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Anglia

Donkey Derby

Posted Oct 12, 2007
Our first impression of the hotel from the outside was'nt good,and things did'nt really improve when inside.Staff were initially friendly,but seemed to take umbrage when asked resonable questions about the state of our tatty,smelly room.Location is good & the view from the terrace very nice but that is all it has going for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Atlanta Guy from Atlanta

Hotel Derby

Posted Oct 10, 2007
Run by very nice and helpful people and in good location. Nice rooftop terrace view. Big negative was that we were sent around the corner to their other location which meant we had to walk to breakfast and the terrace. This would have been more acceptable if they had stated in their profile that this may happen. Also the bedsheets did not seem so clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by colette from Baltimore, MD, USA

Cheapest on Expedia and quite alright

Posted Aug 29, 2007
It was the cheapest offered near where I had to be and it was just fine; run by the nicest folk in the world; breakfasts were pathetic and espresso machine kept needoing repair but for the price-quality, it beat where my friends were staying. Plus the roof garden had a view of sunsets and Fiesole you cannot buy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good value

Posted Aug 6, 2007
Central, friendly staff, clean and air-con works! What more do you want!?!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Poor Service

Posted Nov 10, 2006
When we went to check in, I felt like I was in a dorm room. Our room was not available so, not sure why, they said it did not have a shower so they sent us to another hotel. Gave us a map and sent us on our way. The other hotel did not have a lift so we had to carry 50 pounds of luggage each up 5 flights of stairs. This was not a pleasant experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Very disappointing

Posted Aug 23, 2006
Very disappointing standard of accomodation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Flooding, moldy bathrooms make this hotel literally stink

Posted May 4, 2005
Derby is in a great location close to the center of Florence. However, the rooms are uncomfortable, poorly cleaned and, worst, smell of mold from the shoddy interior bathrooms. My daughter's shower flooded and the night manager treated her as at fault, until he finally realized the water was pouring out of a leak in the pipes.