Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Slovenia

Nice cousy

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Loud noise from reception, breakfast so so, good bus connection. Bus stops front of the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from athens greece

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Nice veranda
Cons: Elevator
Location: Didn't do much . Close to Nelson Mandela center .
The hotel was close to Nelson Mandela convection where I was walking every day for 5-7 min. The only thing I could be happier was not carrying my luggage two levels up ground.
3 out of 5
by Susan from Adelaide

Good for a quick visit.

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels
Easy to find hotel with helpful staff, although their English was not fantastic. Very small hotel, good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Not a bad hotel but quite far from the town centre

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Balcony that was pleasant to sip wine on in the evening
Cons: Breakfast could be better. Mosquito nets on the window.
Location: Quite far from the main town and not many restaurants near by.
A reasonable hotel but it is a good 30/40 minute walk from the centre of town. Not a massive issue if you are fit and capable and only staying for a short time (we stayed for 4 nights). The room and bathroom were clean and tidy and it was pretty comfortable - the only thing that wasn't so good were the mosquitoes. I would recommend taking some decent repellent. Don't expect a big breakfast as part of the package - it is very basic (but the coffee is lovely).
2 out of 5
by kay from Tennessee

Nitemare!!!

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
Let me keep this simple: 3 flights of stairs Bed bugs 20 mins away from center by bus Walls are extremely thin One 1 phone per internet service, and they cut it off the night before we left shower curtains had mold at the bottom Pro: hot water, and cold air bus stop in front of hotel do not carry no more than 1 bag eles you will be sorry!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Clean, comfortable and excellent value

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: - Clean, comfortable room. - Excellent air con. - Situation on main bus route.
My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Emma in July 2014. It's a small hotel situated in a relatively quiet area just north of the city centre. It's a 10 minute bus ride from Santa Maria Novella station on the number 11 and 17 buses, which stop right outside the hotel. The bus stop to go back into the city is just around the corner on Viale dei Mille. Our room to be clean and comfortable and had everything that we needed. The air conditioning was very good which was a real bonus given the hot weather. The buffet breakfast was adequate with a selection of cereals, pastries, bread, cold meats, fruit and hot and cold drinks. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only (very) minor negative comments I would make are that firstly the hotel is situated on the second floor of the building and as far as we could see there wasn't a lift. This was not a problem for us but could potentially be for some guests. Also, as the hotel is so small any noise that is made at reception or the dining room can be heard in the nearby rooms. Again though this wasn't a major issue. Overall we enjoyed our experience of Hotel Emma and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The owner has been very kind and helpful. Hotel is right at the bus stop which makes it very easy to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, a bit farther than ideal.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Very clean, well-managed, friendly staff, lovely rooms. There is a self-service laundry facility around the corner.
Cons: Nothing - the only drawback was the location, but at this point the hotel is where it is.
Location: Not much to do right around the hotel itself. Bus stop directly in front of the hotel takes you into Florence's historic city center.
We spent 2 nights at Hotel Emma. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was basic but adequate. Outside patio was nice, beds were comfortable, staff was friendly. Very good value for the price. The only drawback was that it was a bit far from the city center and we had to take a bus into the city (bus picks up and drops off at Santa Maria Novella train station) - however, the bus stop truly was directly in front of the hotel, so this was not too much of a hassle. We enjoyed our stay here and I would stay here again for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the wallet

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Very clean hotel. I picked based on reviews of other travelers. It is not close to the main sites, but several bus stops nearby if you don't feel like walking. We did a combination of both - walking and bus. One person said to go to track 12 from the train station, and we did this, but there was no way to get out of the station and had to go back to the main entrance. It is really very close to the train station. It is on the second floor as other reviewers noted, but there are more like 4 flights of steps to go up, so if you are not traveling light, you should keep this in mind. The reception area is secure as are all the rooms. You need to be buzzed in. I liked this and felt it added an additional layer of security. Our room did not have a view, but there was quite a nice outside patio area at the end of the floor. We did not take advantage of this as we were out and about except for sleeping.