Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from FL

Cozy old world feel.

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great visit to Florence. Was north of city center by a little ways. About 5 min walk from Piazza San Marco.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr gute Lage mit einem ausgezeichneten Staff,

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Unser Zimmer war schön und die Mitarbeiter waren sehr nett und fruendlich und hilfsbereit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff, clean rooms and yummy breakfast. Would book again for sure!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, Ontario, CDA

Excellent location!

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: Loved the size of the bathroom.
Location: Short walk to see David. Plenty of restaurants nearby.
Loved our stay at Hotel Giglio! Owners were amazing-so helpful! Breakfast was delicious & plentiful. We'd definitely return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Giglio staff is wonderful!

Posted Oct 3, 2015
The best part about the hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Everyone I encountered were so pleasant, welcoming, and so helpful. I would stay here again. The bed could use an upgrade, but I only stayed one night (Room 3) so it worked for me.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Sarasota

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel but old. Very nice and helpful staff. Short walk to the Duomo. Maybe 15 minutes.
3 out of 5
by Suha from California

Would never stay there again

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
We were not impressed at all, and honestly were looking forward to leaving, upon arrival, it took us a while to figure out how to get in the hotel because doors were locked , then we were finally buzzed in, staff is wonderful during the day, they could not be any better, the guy that checked us in after midnight, was not so pleasant. The hotel is very old and not well maintained, starting with the shower, we showered with a shower head that gives water like a hose, toilet paper is pieces of tissue, not a roll, tiny soap bars. The pillows were hard as sleeping on rocks, when we asked for other pillows, we were told this is all they had. The entire hotel is on one floor and can get really noisy if you have one loud person staying there and the night staff don't seem to do anything about any noise in the middle of the night..one night there was a big fight, later someone was on the phone and was very loud in the hallway outside the room. Hotel location on. The other hand was good, you can walk to town and it is very convenient, but I would rather take a cab than stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Petrus from Longmont/Denver, USA

Excellent stay in hotel Giglio, Florence

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Janet and I were welcomed by the owners, who were very friendly and accomodating, helping with luggage and more importantly suggesting that we take the FIRENZE CARD, a pass, which is valid for 72 hours from its first use (cost $75.00 per person) and allows for access to all attractons in Florence, with minimal standing in line. Best buy we did. Actually we had prepaid tickets for the Uffizi museum, but swallowed this mistake. Arriving by car, pls use the valet parking service of the hotel - worthwhile as every attraction in town can be accessed on foot (bus service is incuded in the FIRENZE pass, but we never used it). Breakfast is pleasant, buffet style wiht many Italian specialties.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Good stay at this hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2015
First and foremost - the hotel staff is extremely nice and helpful. Marco was particularly helpful and went out of his way to help us out. Rooms are big and spacious and it is classic designed. It had AC in the room. The age definitely reflects in the room. However, the bathroom is very small. There was no tea / coffee maker in the room but upon request, we got a water heating kettle from the front desk. The breakfast was very good and elaborate. It included eggs, bread, cookies, fruits, cereal, juices, pie etc. This hotel is NOT at a walking distance from the station (Firenze SMN). Although their website says it is a 15 min walk, it is at least 30 - 35 min walking distance - especially if you have luggage with you - you will be going uphill so it is very exhausting. When we reached the hotel, even the staff was surprised that we walked all this way! Bus or taxi is a good option - Bus number 1 goes from the Station and drops you very close to the hotel. Overall, the hotel is at a good location - major attractions are close by and also has a stop for the sight seeing bus. It has a small elevator which was very helpful for taking the luggage to the second floor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Good hotel in great location, close to the train station. Good breakfast, clean rooms, excellent service. Old building but in very good condition.