Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by John from Derbyshire

Florence - the hotel for you!

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely hotel, wonderfully helpful staff, nice breakfast and an easy walk to all of the sites in Florence. We would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel review

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Some of the hotel employees and the daily breakfast array.
Cons: Very little considering its age and location.
Location: Nothing in the way of entertainment. Tourist attractions all require a 15 minute or more quick walk.
A little away (10 minute walk) from the main tourist area. Hotel is on second floor with a very small elevator to service it for luggage or guests who don't wish to climb a flight of stairs. Only a small number of local restaurants nearby. Traveling in early November meant nightfall came around 5:00pm. Because restaurants in Europe don't typically open until 7:00pm you have 2 hours or so between the end of your sightseeing and when you can first begin your dinner hour. A close in hotel works fine for that because it allows you to freshen up and relax a bit before deciding among the many nearby restaurants. The location of this one however meant you either were willing to spend some 15-20 minutes walking to get back to it before dinner and another 10 plus minutes to walk to a restaurant other than the few available in the nearby area. Some staff members were aloof while others were very friendly. Overall it served its purpose of providing a quiet place to get some rest and have a decent breakfast each morning. It is a 10 minute cab ride from the train station.
3 out of 5
by Charles

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Clean and convenient with a very friendly staff. Sot of typical for an in town european hotel. A very good value.
3 out of 5
by barssin from RichmondHill

OK for a 3 star stay

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
This is a good 3 star hotel , the colors and decoration are a bit out dated , but over all it is an OK Hotel. Owner runs the hotel during business hours which helps to keep things in place
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from FL

Cozy old world feel.

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great visit to Florence. Was north of city center by a little ways. About 5 min walk from Piazza San Marco.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff, clean rooms and yummy breakfast. Would book again for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, Ontario, CDA

Excellent location!

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: Loved the size of the bathroom.
Location: Short walk to see David. Plenty of restaurants nearby.
Loved our stay at Hotel Giglio! Owners were amazing-so helpful! Breakfast was delicious & plentiful. We'd definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Giglio staff is wonderful!

Posted Oct 3, 2015
The best part about the hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Everyone I encountered were so pleasant, welcoming, and so helpful. I would stay here again. The bed could use an upgrade, but I only stayed one night (Room 3) so it worked for me.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Sarasota

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel but old. Very nice and helpful staff. Short walk to the Duomo. Maybe 15 minutes.
3 out of 5
by Suha from California

Would never stay there again

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
We were not impressed at all, and honestly were looking forward to leaving, upon arrival, it took us a while to figure out how to get in the hotel because doors were locked , then we were finally buzzed in, staff is wonderful during the day, they could not be any better, the guy that checked us in after midnight, was not so pleasant. The hotel is very old and not well maintained, starting with the shower, we showered with a shower head that gives water like a hose, toilet paper is pieces of tissue, not a roll, tiny soap bars. The pillows were hard as sleeping on rocks, when we asked for other pillows, we were told this is all they had. The entire hotel is on one floor and can get really noisy if you have one loud person staying there and the night staff don't seem to do anything about any noise in the middle of the night..one night there was a big fight, later someone was on the phone and was very loud in the hallway outside the room. Hotel location on. The other hand was good, you can walk to town and it is very convenient, but I would rather take a cab than stay there again.