Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Florence

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Nice Hotel close to the train station. Nice breakfast in the morning and very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by David S from Vancouver

Nice Italian vacation

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel! Staff very helpful and mostly spoke English. Safe was not working on first day, but fixed within 2 days of notifying staff and they provided temporary storage of valuables at front desk. Older hotel in quiet part of the tourist neighborhood. Air conditioned room. Walking distance to train station, restaurants , gelato places and major attractions. Good quality cold breakfast included in price.
3 out of 5
by Dennis from Mico, Texas

Not so happy

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
We elected to stay with Goldini because we had stayed there before. Good walking distance to attractions of the city. And enjoyed the elevator effect. However found breakfast service lacking...and some of the personnel very unfriendly. The beds were also uncomfortable, baths small and service for towels lacking. Doubt that we would stay there again. Obviously change in management. Machine made coffee in Italy does not make it in my book.
4 out of 5
by Murray from Saskatoon

Firenze we love you

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Goldini had the best beds we had with good pillows, and a comforter. Florence is compact and easily walkable from the Hotel. Everything worked and the staff were friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Good location but everything else was basic

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Location was good. Room was clean.
Cons: Read above. Facilities in the room. Less shouty children and adults in the morning would be a good start. Better breakfast.
Location: The Piazza Michaelangelo is worth a visit (and worth the climb up the hill) for the view over Florence. The Cattedrale di Santa Maria is very pretty.
The hotel is in a good location - it's close to all the major transactions and to some nice restaurants. The hotel itself isn't great. The night porter didn't speak English. The room was very basic though it was clean. The mini bar didn't work - it was plugged in but empty and not even slightly cold. The front of the safe had been removed, so the safe couldn't be closed, let alone locked. So there was nowhere secure to put our passports or anything of importance when we left the room. The air con was good. The room we were in was right next to the reception. At 7.30/8am each morning children would come shouting down the corridor. It was like they were in the room with us - the door/wall offered no sound cancelling. The women who presumably worked there and the cleaners would shout down the corridor to each other which was very loud. We could hear the radio and tv from the bar in our room throughout the day and night. The breakfast was typical continental - I think - presumably if you got there early enough there would have been meats and eggs etc available but by the time we got there - an hour into a two hour breakfast period, all that was left was bread, preserves and cereal. On the whole, we were quite disappointed. Yes, it is a cheap hotel, but as a basic I would expect the facilities (minibar, safe) to work and not to be awakened by screaming children and shouting adults each morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great location, rooms dull, Wifi non-existent

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi, rooms need an update
Location: All the sites are walking distance
We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel, and booked it expecting a basic hotel in a central location. The location was superb, walking distance to everything. Our room was basic at best - it was cold and dull and not like the pictures on the website (cold white floor tiles, white bedsheets and pale walls). The bathroom was clean but very small - so small that when sitting on the toilet, your legs were under the basin! There was no air-con...It was fine for 1 or 2 nights, but 3 nights was pushing it! Also, the "free Wifi" was basically non-existent. If I stood near the window of our room I could get 1 bar of wifi signal!! Anywhere else in the room it would drop out, so I often had to go and sit near reception to use the wifi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is situated on the second floor of an old building. The elevator is from the 40's era, with doors to be closed manually and only for 2 persons. on the 2nd day of our stay the elevator was out of service. We are elderly people and my wife has difficulty climbing stairs. One can imagine what we went through getting to our room on the 2nd floor. This being an old building, each floor is very high. Our night mare started during our chech out time when I had to go up and down several times to bring our luggage and my wife down. Breakfast is at most average, nothing special to write home about. Bath room is very small and shower door is about 12 inches wide. It was difficult to exen enter sideways. One can see our stay at this hotel was not a pleasant one. I am a seasoned world traveller, and complaining is not my nature. But this hotel does not deserve to be recommended anything higher than below minimum. I wonder who rated this as a 3 star hotel. Calling it a 2 star will be a stretch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Nice family run hotel in centre of Florence

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the breakfast each morning. It included cereal, coffee, tea, juice, toast, small bread rolls, croissants, and jams, cream cheese, nutella.
Cons: We would like to see more protein in the form of eggs or cold meats with breakfast.
Location: We were able to walk to many interesting locations around Florence from this hotel, and we were close to markets as well as train and bus station.
We enjoyed our 6 night stay at Hotel Goldoni. It was family run, and very clean. Hotel staff were very helpful, and able to answer questions about areas to visit. We were able to enjoy their nice breakfast in leisurely fashion before starting out our day. We felt very safe and secure in this hotel, and would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Well situated and comfortable.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Close to all the attractions and the shower.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Everything.
The hotel was very well situated for the main attractions of Florence and one street away from the River Arno. Typical of the hotel was the retro lift which took you up to the second floor hotel, an interesting feature. The room was comfortable with a good bathroom and a super shower. The beds were comfortable but there were no facilities for making tea and coffee which meant nothing until breakfast, oh, and the tv didn't work but we didn't have time to watch it any way. The breakfast was a meagre continental affair with cereals, tea, coffee and fruit juices, a toaster which never made decent toast and a variety of croissants. Having pointed out the negatives, we did have an enjoyable stay and quite liked the old fashioned elegance of the hotel.