Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
The room is very big, but the bathroom is quite small for me tho.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Bad hotel, no elevator, small bathroom

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Clean and close to the railroad station.
Cons: Put an elevator in, which is impossible....
Location: Nothing much to do nearby, some local restaurants relatively OK. Walk to the center of tow relatively short...
As I mentioned before, the hotel had no elevator. We, two older people and in not great physical condition, had to walk up and down the equivalent of 4 normal floors (actually 2 high floors) with luggage, and several times a day without it. The hotel was clean and close to the Florence railroad station, which was a plus for us. The bathroom was totally unacceptable, extremely small, with a shower head over the toilet and a drain in the ground. Everything got wet when taking a shower and we had no extra towels to dry the toilet or floor... A total mess. On top of it, we had to stop up about 6 in. to get in the toilet which was also greatly inconvenient, especially at night when we were sleepy... The common breakfast area was in a small corridor and very cramped, no a decent breakfast area at all... The hotel was very disappointing, not at all at the minimum standard expected from an Expedia recommendation.. In my opinion perhaps good only for very young and brave backpackers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Bathroom was disappointing: no hand towel, toilet located in the shower, very loud fan sounds like an airplane, small space.. Beds were alright. Breakfast was alright, but limited space available. Location isn't central, but walking to the city centre wasn't terrible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aleks from Vancouver, Canada

Not a great neighbourhood, but close to train

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Complete refurbishment.
Great Staff, very friendly. Great Cappuccino in the morning. But the hotel is old, lots of stairs and not quite worth what we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel closed to train station

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Staff are friendly. Free wifi
Cons: Heater was not working well.
Location: Fix the heater
The impression was that the hotel staff were very friendly although the facility was just so so (anyway the price is good). A free easy breakfast was enough for an easy trip. I was planing to buy a bottle of mineral water in the hotel because the drinking water in Europe is not free. However, the staff just gave my friend and me two bottles of water for free. You can find that their attitude was always good, smiled to you and tried to help with the problems. One problem was that the heater was not working well, fortunately it is April already.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

No frills, tile throughout echos, but great staff and location.

Posted Nov 3, 2011
This is sort of a hostel/hotel. On hostel websites it is called Hermes Hostel, so don't get your expectations too high. Bathrooms are shared - bring your sandals for the shower! Old furniture, old cabinetry, old linens, but clean. Walking distance to eveerything from Accademia, Uffizi, Pitti Palace and more. All of the staff is extremely helpful. The hotel is within 1 minute walking distance of the Florence train station and there are above-ground trains that run right outside the building. That in mind, when you close the windows and panels, the outside noise does not bother you. However, my first night I stayed in a larger room upstairs form the reception and was fine. The next night they moved me to the correct size room for my reservation and I was right by reception. It was terribly loud for bit with the tile floors throughout echoing other travelers coming in and some horrible buzzer for what I am assuming was a late night arrival. I would try to find a better place for a reasonable price before staying there again, but I would highly recommend it to younger travelers or travelers on a budget and looking for a convenient location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location, lots of stairs!!

Posted Oct 13, 2011
Hotel was in a perfect location if you are getting to Florence by train! Staff were friendly enough and helpful! Room and hotel are very plain and nothing fancy at all. Found bed and pillows to be hard and flat. But found the bathroom to be the trickiest. SMALL bathroom with the shower pretty much over the toilet and ended up with all the floor wet. But it all worked so your call. Good location but!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Tourist ( Molly )

Posted Oct 7, 2011
The hotel has shared bath room and lots of stairs, the toilet does not flush sometimes and others leave it dirty. As its on the main road its lots of traffic and for what ever reason the cleaner would make lots of noice at around 5am in the morning pushing trolly with sheets or towel around I assume and the coupboard doors in the hall way they would shut the door really loude. Not much choice with breakfast. no fan or AC. and the list goes on.
1 out of 5
by Stefanie from New York City

WORST HOTEL IN FLORENCE

Posted Jul 16, 2011
I've been in hostels all over Europe that were in better condition than this place. The pictures do not do it justice... barely any furniture, NO AIR CONDITIONER (they lie...there are a few plug-in units from the '70s that blow out hot air), shower over a toilet with nothing (no tub, no step) to stop the water from leaking out of the bathroom and all over your room. No elevator so you carry your luggage up 4 to 6 flights. At night you are locked in and can't leave...if you want to leave, you have to wake up the one person on duty and ask her to let you out (at which point she demands to know exactly when you'll be back). I now know what it's like to: 1. be in the army, 2. live in a convent. Have fun swatting mosquitoes all night while melting in the 95 degree heat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquillo ma...

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Bagno indecente,piccolo e puzzolente, scarico rumoroso, poco illuminato