Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The hotel was walking distance to everything. Room was clean, not large enough for two. Breakfast was acceptable, continental offererings. Staff excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel close to central train station

Posted Dec 2, 2016
This is a nice clean hotel that is within a short 5 min walk from Milano Centrale train station. Rooms were clean and big enough for our needs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location at a Great Price!

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Hotel Lorena five years ago and we couldn't have asked for more. The location was perfect, the room they gave us had a great view, they offer free Wi-Fi, they have specials that include free breakfast, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. All of that was the same this time except our room was quite a bit smaller. Since there is so much to see and do in Florence I don't care to spend much time in the room so things like luxury linens, antique furniture, free toiletries, TV, room service, etc don't do anything for me. It's really just a safe place to bathe, sleep and store my baggage while I go do other stuff. There are really only three things I look for in a hotel in a place like Florence: Location, Price, and Service/Cleanliness. On those three fronts, Hotel Lorena is the best! The highlight is definitely the location. It's four blocks from the train station, three blocks from the Duomo, one block from the San Lorenzo Market, caddy corner to the Medici Chapel, ten minute walk from the Piazza della Signoria, and there is a grocery store around the corner. The hotel is surrounded by tons of shopping, restaurants, and sightseeing attractions. If you're traveling on a budget and want to stay in a great location in a clean, safe hotel, look no further!
3 out of 5
by Juan from Canada

Location is good; the room and hotel, not so much

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The room is very small and it seems pricey, not only for the size but for the shared bathroom constraint. The staff (specially during the night shift) could be friendlier; a smile would not hurt at all and a polite indication for something as simple as where to take the garbage outside, would be quite welcome. Request for additional pillows was not met.
5 out of 5
by Madonna

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
All the staff were very inviting and friendly. Gave us a good orientation of surrounding areas. The hotel itself is older but very clean and great location. Walking distance to major sites, lots of great restaurants, market and laundromat. Wanted an authentic Italian experience and got it. Very pleased with this booking and would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by Rob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Heather from Las Vegas

Great central hotel!

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic location right next to Medici Chapel and market; 5 min walk from train station. Didn't try breakfast as it wasn't free; plenty of coffee bars on street level. Staff very nice and helpful. Wifi was pretty solid. Only issue was that our room was directly above the breakfast room, which the employees used as a smoking lounge - we came back in second day and our room reeked (we don't smoke, so it was particularly noticeable. Couldn't get rid of it. Would have requested room change if we hadn't been moving on next day. Avoid rooms 20 & 21 (triples). Otherwise, a quiet and pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
by Jae Hoon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location, friendly staff

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Ideal location, great value. Nice rooms (booked a room with two twin beds for myself and a friend). Some rooms have private bathrooms, others have shared (for a reduced cost). Even though we had a shared washroom there was still a sink in the room so we could wash up there which was really nice. The staff are friendly and helpful (we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel after checkout so we could tour the city one last time before catching the train).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Excellent location - almost everything you would want to see in Florence is within walking distance. 5 minute walk to the Duomo and main shopping area, 6 minutes from the Firenze S.M.N train station and about a 10 minute walk to Ponte Vecchio Bridge, and Uffizi and Accademia Galleries. Very small and basic hotel but the staff are lovely. As soon as I arrived, an elderly woman working there rushed down the stairs to help me carry up my luggage. At the desk, she spent 10 minutes showing me a map of Florence and all the main attractions and how long it would take to get there. I was traveling alone and had booked a single room but I was upgraded to a much larger room with a king sized bed which was a nice surprise. They also supply adapters if you don't have one. I bought one for Europe but some Italian hotels have require slightly different ones. It does get a bit noisy at night being in such a central location but not enough to stop you from sleeping. I would definitely stay here again.