Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Fealty from Hong Kong

terrible management,no room but refuse refund .

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels
A disastrous experience that ruined my honeymoon. When we dragged our luaagage walked half hour to the hotel, they can't find my prepaid booking, later we found out they were lying, they knew we would come. They shed the whole responsibily to hotels.com, leaving us standing there, calling and waiting for hostels.com to arrange another hotel, yet not successful. We were standing at the counter for 3hours, without a seat, exhausted and starved at mid-night. They even tried to stop us using their phone to call Hotels.com for help.Finally need to found another hotel ourselves. Later when hostels .com deal with our case, the hotel refused to refund. was just horrible.
2 out of 5
by Kayes from Boulder, CO

Old and deccrepit

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Cons: Everything. demolish and Rebuild. keep the staff.
The lectric outldt do not work. The bathroom faucet was broken. The rooms are really old and decrepit. Avpid this place and get a Motel 6 if you can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim from Virginia

Lorenzo il Magnifico

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: The staff, the breakfasts, that it was clean and convenient to get to even if not in the "downtown" area near the great tourist sites.
Cons: They need to buy a printer so that the guests can print their own boarding passes. Big fail there.
Location: Within walking distance of the train station but otherwise, you mostly need to take cabs to places like Il Duomo or Ponte Vecchio.
Very nice hotel in Florence. Nothing overly special but clean and comfortable and a great staff that could easily fetch a cab and tell you places to go and how to go there. The room had a nice king-sized bed but a queen with a nice chair would have been a better option. The courtyard was a bit dreary but maybe that is expected in late September. But otherwise a nice place.
5 out of 5
by Gerard M from Chicago Il

No Room at the Inn - Manager was exceptional

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels
After a slight mix up with availability, The Manager Eric was professional, took ownership of the mistake and found us another room for the night. The hotel was clean, well appointed and in a great location. I'd go back and stay there on our next visit to Florence.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet Hotel with Good Service

Posted Nov 3, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel seems to cater more to business travelers than to American tourists, but we really enjoyed our stay. We were traveling by car and needed a hotel with parking but also not too far from the city center. This hotel was perfect for our needs. You do have a long walk to get to major sites (Duomo or main train station for example) but the hotel is fairly close to the museum of San Marco and the Ospedale degli Innocenti, so you have things to stop and see as you head to other sites. We found this hotel to be pleasant, clean, convenient and comfortable. We will definitely return if we have the opportunity.
4 out of 5
by Isabel A

Good value for money

Posted Oct 11, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel is a bit further away from the historic centre, but not that far from the station. This makes it a good vaue for money choice for a 4 star accomodation. The room was not massive. but nicely furnished and overall very clean. The TV reception was not very good. Only one channel seemed to work., but it didn't bother us, so we let it go. The free WiFi connection in the room was also a bit hit and miss. Internet access was much better in the hotel lounge.The breakfast was ample for Italian standard. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by KamaoleParadise

Nice place with More than the basics

Posted Sep 12, 2012 on Hotels
Nice bathroom including an ever-so-small tub to soak those well worn feet...since you'll have to hoof it pretty far to see all the sites! Great wifi and even a PC we used to upload photos to a website. Bedspread and blanket could use a good cleaning but the room was spacious and clean otherwise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

A Hidden Gem in Florence

Posted Dec 17, 2011 on Hotels
Should you choose to book a reservation at the Lorenzo il Magnifico, you are in for a delightful surprise. Its environment reflects the fact that it is a renovated palazzo. Each morning I enjoyed soaking in an oversized tub with jacuzzi jets. The breakfast was delicious with many options, and included freshly made cappuchino. The staff was solicitous, informed, and really helpful. I would come back here in a heartbeat. I hope your trip will include this wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Lorenzo Magnifico Florence - calm in busy florence

Posted Jul 15, 2011 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay very much. Getting back to our nicely air-conitioned room after a few hours in the hustle and bustle of Florence in the summer was always a welcome relief. The conceirge was extremely helpful, our room was large and had character, the internet was free, and the free breakfast was very satisfying. Only downside was twenty minute walk (or 10 euro cab) from train station. Recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lorenzo II Magnifico

Posted May 31, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel was awesome. It was so beautiful with the high ceilings and beautiful decor. I absolutely loved the room and the breakfast was really good too. The only drawback for me was that the location was farther away from most of the sight seeing we did and trying to get back and forth at night was somewhat of a hastle. If you like being away from the crowds, this would be the place to stay.