Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Location, beds, soundproof.
Cons: Breakfast options.
Location: Central Market is 5 minutes away, 10 minutes to Duomo and Academia. Few good restaurants nearby.
I experienced problems with check in. We had to spend our first night in another nearby hotel, although I booked hotel stay nearly 3 months earlier. Breakfast is very, very limited choice and similar hotels offer better value. On the plus side, location is very good, 10 min to Train station and all main attractions. Beds are extra comfy and importantly very good sound proofing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect position for Florence city centre

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Very respectable and comfortable hotel. Good generous breakfast selection. Staff very helpful, especially booking trips, making suggestions and printing boarding passes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

average hotel with good location

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
The WiFi only worked once. You get the WiFi from the nearby hotel stronger then the Malaspina network. On arrival they tried to squeeze me in a single room even tho I booked a double with single occupancy. So be aware they try to make the most of you for their benefit. Apart from that breakfast is basic but fine and the location was pretty fine. Florence is not that big so in 10 min you are in the main square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't fault the location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
A 10 minute walk to the Duomo and train/bus Termini so an ideal location, and quiet. Hotel was a little disappointing having read reviews - Water pressure not good so shower poor and water barely warm. Fridge and air con could have been better bearing in mind 32 degree temperature. Free Wifi but no signal at all. Cold buffet Breakfast small choice but ok met my needs and great Cappucino !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect for short stays

Posted May 24, 2016
Nice hotel and staff....very comfortable beds and very convenient for local sights, station and shopping. The staff were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
4 out of 5
by Chris from Wolverhampton, England

Great location

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice clean hotel situated Close to the centre of Florence, a short walk to the train station, central market and the duomo. Hotel was clean and the staff helpful without being overly chatty. The breakfast was ok however there was no fruit available and a rather abrupt sign telling visitors that no food was to be taken away. Asking for a cup of coffee or hot water to make tea in the evening was a no go as it meant opening the kitchen up, I thought that was what hotels did, served the customers. WUlf I go back, probably not!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good central hotel in Florence.

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
The Malaspina was exactly what we were looking for, for our long weekend. Very central, meant we could walk to most of the sights, restaurants and shops. The facilities were probably a bit better than expected - good room, quiet, wifi, and an excellent continental breakfast. Staff were helpful, and other than a 3.50 Euro local tax per night - no surprises at checkout. We wouldn't hesitate to return.
3 out of 5
by John from London

All fine at the Malaspina and Donatello hotels

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
When I arrived I was informed that due to a plumbing problem I would spend the first two nights in the hotel next door which was the Donatello. The hotel Donatello was fine and met expectations. The transfer to the Malaspina after two days went smoothly. The room allocated by the Malaspina met expectations of a three star room, plus the breakfast also met expectations. Just to add to the points above whilst there was not tea making facilities in the room coffee was provided by the hotel bar without further charge plus air conditioning was not required given the time of year. Overall the two rooms were of a three star standard and my stay was enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing. You get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Positives. Great quiet location close to the station and all the sites. Staff on the whole OK. Breakfast good. Cheap. Not So Positives. Very tired hotel in all ways. Not the cleanest. Air conditioning not working in any of the rooms. Mosquito city so you can't open the windows. Fridge not nearly clean enough to consider using. To their credit they supplied an electric mosquito killer and offered to store stuff in their fridge but couldn't supply fans. Would pay more and stay elsewhere next time though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located central hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Cons: Size of twin rooms-other rooms fine
Twin room a bit small, but otherwise a convenient hotel, with helpful staff, and a good breakfast.