Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location, facilities, staff, cleanliness
Cons: Better coffee
Location: Location meant a one hour walk to the centre, or short taxi ride... both perfectly acceptable
Very pleased with the experience of using this hotel, which I will definitely use again and recommend to my friends and colleagues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los angeles

Friendly and helpful staff

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: close to bus stop and shopping area, breakfast buffet was complete
Cons: Wifi in every room, and all over the hotel.
Location: close to all churches and sightseeings,,,, walking distance to almost any attrasction.
the room we had was built for two people and enough for two., They added two more beds, ad there was hardly any room to place our luggage. Wifi was not working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas,TX

Great Location and excellent staff

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Location to the city center very near, walking distance, supermarket and a laundry in case you need to wash clothes.
Location: Location very near to the city center. We didn't mind to walk since that's how you can see more stuff. Nice having the supermarket so near.
Room side was small but we didn't care if we can sleep at night and had a good service. So nice to have a small refrigeration.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London - UK

Basic & Convenient!!

Posted Jun 5, 2016
A very simple basic hotel which is about 20mins walk into the city centre. Taxi fare from Pretola Airport is approx 30 Euros. Breakfast is provided but it's nothing exciting. Shop bought pastries and one type of cereal, toast, coffee and juice. Rooms are quite small - we had a double room but was a very tight squeeze. TV channels all in Italian. WIFI worked ok. Shower very slow. However, if you need somewhere basic, cheap, clean & close to the city centre - this hotel will suit you. We spent our days out exploring and back late at night - so it suited us very well. Hotel staff are very friendly and they helped us sort out our sightseeing experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Ca

Charming hotel with a nice free breakfast.

Posted Oct 17, 2015
The Meridiana hotel was a wonderful hotel for my wife and me. Our small room was in the back of the hotel and away from the street so it was very quiet. It looked over a picturesque view of charming older buildings with the Forence hills in the background. The free breakfast was beautifully served in a large, cheerful, bright room. I looked forward to it each day. It consisted of hot drinks, juice, assorted breads, eggs, a variety of meats, cereals, croissants, fruit, and milk. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and very welcoming. All the ones we met spoke excellent English. The lobby was comfortable, with ample seating and a tv. It had a computer in a small adjoining room. Documents that needed to be printed could easily be arranged on the hotel reception's printer. The hotel was a ftfteen to twenty minute walk to the edge of most of the historic sights. it would have been nice if it were a little closer for us. Howerver, there is a city bus we used less than five minutes from the hotel that goes to most of the tourist sights and comes every twenty minutes. The cost was only 1.20 Euros. Within 20 minutes it will pass close to the vast majority of tourist places of interests. It also has a stop across from the Santa Maria Novella train station. The hotel offered free wifi. It worked only some of the time from my room on the fourth floor. However, it worked perfectly in the Lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was okay but not as good as 2007.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: It felt safe and it was clean. The breakfast room was depressing and the choice of food on offer not inspiring.
Cons: The breakfast room and the way staff respond to particularly people visiting on their own.
Location: It is near to everything major in Florence but not many immediately appealing pubs or restaurants.
I had difficulty travelling alone getting the staff to pay attention to my queries. Also it cost €3 to log on to a computer for 10 minutes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jem from UK

Nice enough, close enough...

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: Quieter location, just on the outskirt of centre...but still easy walking to the sights of Florence.
Location: Plenty of places to eat, bus stop 2 minutes down the road, although easy walking into centre (20 minutes into the heart of it).
clean enough...unfortunately we had a problem with the shower drain leaking and flooding the floor- but reception were quick to get it rectified and left us a complimentary bottle of wine to apologise. However if you asked a particular receptionist anything he was most unhelpful. When asked where to eat, he advised one of the most expensive places to eat....when asked about the bus to the airport he said it was not possible only taxi- when we pointed out we knew there was a bus he said it didn't run daily so would be no good! It does in fact run daily every 30 minutes at a fraction of the cost of a taxi, but we had to walk to the tourist information office for details!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bit out of town but reflected in the price

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: Quiet, room window security..ie shutters Breakfast adequate
Cons: Wifi and tea n coffee making facilities in room
Location: Nil
No free wifi was a bit painfully.when we purchased it didn't work Today wifi should standard capability
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from London, UK

Perfectly good hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Air conditioning
Cons: Cost of the wifi
Location: About 15 minutes walk from Florence centre
Perfectly nice room which was about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Florence. I would happily stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shazza from London, UK

good for anyone,maybe not children.

Posted Feb 20, 2013
Pros: Comfort cleanliness and helpfull staff
Cons: Breakfast was basic, would have preferred some hot food.
Location: Not in the busy centre a little out of the way but not far to walk once you know where your going and plenty of buses.
At first we felt as though we were away from the action, however short walks or bus rides took us to everywhere we needed to go. (tip, wear comfortable shoes there is plenty to see.) The Hotel was close to public transport and was clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent and extremely helpfull.