Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Location and privacy
Cons: Tea, cofee plus kettle in room like in other hotels
Location: Very central and easy to reach tourist sites walking
Very pleasant and very central to museums and restaurants. Breakfast is something to look forward to and helpings ample. The hotel is a mixture of antique and fun and the garden is very relaxing and discreet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, shame about reception staff

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Good location, lovely breakfast and waiting staff, very well maintained hotel. Nice room.
Cons: The reception staff were downright obnoxious.This includes the manager. They don't like people with mobility issues, even those who don't need help.
Location: Very quiet. Nice little square with the super I Ghibellini restaurant that has GREAT pizza. The hotel is also very near the best ice cream shop.
This is a lovely hotel. It is beautifully decorated, well maintained and our room was very nice too. The breakfast room is charming and the breakfast bountiful and varied. The staff here deserve special mention for always refilling the buffet, providing cappucinos super quick and being cheerful and charming. However, the reception staff and manager were anything but charming, helpful or welcoming. It helps if you are not a foreigner ( Italian guests got a fulsome welcome) and don't take a wheelchair!!! My Mother is nearly 90 and has mobility issues. We were flatly told that they should have been told she uses "one of those" as she won't get around the hotel. I knew there were steps and Mum can do steps and I told them it was fine. There was no welcome, only lots of discussion between them. We ceased to exist. They were so rude. I was shown to our room to see if "she can get there, we are full!!!!". I told them the room was fine but could we have a garden room. I was told we would need to ask the manager, he was at lunch, she had no idea when he would be back, maybe 20 or 30 minutes and she just turned her back on me and I was just left there. The manager was worse. He went on and on about the hotel being 700 years old and that they were full. All I asked was for a garden view room and had to inform him, having a wheelchair was not an infectious disease!!! In the end I had to tell him how insulting and rude he was being to my Mother and he just walked away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old World Charm

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Loved this hotel. Very interesting antiques. Not your typical hotel. Very special place!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and close to local main attractions

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Amazing and inspiring experience, some sports and bigger tv would be great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Centrally Located

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The history of the building, the garden, the decor, and location.
Cons: Hair dryer in the bathroom. Noise level at the front desk for the rooms close to it.
Location: Centrally located. Most things are within walking distance.
This hotel is beautiful! I loved the decor, and it is centrally located. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We only stayed here one night as a stop before we got a connecting flight to Prague. Be aware that they have their own parking lot if you are driving to the hotel, but it is on the other side of the building and not where Google Maps will take you (as it is to their front door). There is a parking lot just around the corner from the building that actually charges you 2 Euros less than the hotel. Just as an FYI. I did not rate the room comfort a 5 because though the room was large enough, the bathroom felt quite cramped. Which is typical for the hotels in Europe, but this one was especially narrow. The room itself was spacious, the bed was comfortable (by European standards), but the room we were assigned was close to the Check-In desk, and though there is an extra door to help buffer the sounds, it was somewhat noisy. Since we were there during the summer, it helped to have the AC unit running with the fan to minimize the noise from outside. We had a good night sleep with the fans on. We did not stay for the breakfast buffet. The location is very convenient. We walked to the Ponte Vecchio, the Galileo Museum, the Uffizi, and the Pitti Palace. By the way if all the other places are too crowded, do not miss the Pitti Palace. It is beautiful and they have several paintings by the old masters (Titian, Caravecchio, etc.) in their collection. It is definitely worth it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to city centre

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Excellent location made it ideal to go and explore Florence. All the main sights were nearby. Hotel also had a garden which was a great place to sit in and recharge ones batteries!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excellent location

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Location and old ambiance.
Location: It's within a short walk of the cathedral, all other historical sites, museums and restaurants. Just a great location.
This hotel is in several connected buildings that were a small palace in the past. There is a wonderful garden in between and you need to cross this garden to reach the rooms in the back and side buildings. The common areas and rooms are furnished with old historical furniture and artifacts. The rooms and bathrooms are very small by modern hotel standards. For that reason, I hesitated to give it a 4 star rating, but gave it anyway because of its excellent location. But historic ambiance makes up for the small rooms. Breakfast is served in the quaint dining room; dinner and lunch are not available, but who needs to eat in the hotel when many restaurants are available within walking distance. Staff are very helpful, polite and speak English. But the best attribute of this hotel is its location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Hotel has a great history, formerly a palace. Every room different.
Location: Very close to the Duomo and other sites. Excellent restaurants nearby too.
Beautiful hotel with lots of character. Monna Lisa theme carried throughout. Excellent breakfast too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Affordable Quality

Posted Jan 29, 2016
It's not a Hilton but it's a great hotel located in the heart of Florence. Good rooms and staff, and hearty buffet breakfast so you can fill up for your day of travels. I went in January, off-season and it was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Gioconda, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review, we hope to see you soon at the Monna Lisa. Best regards. Annalisa Giammetta - Assistant Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle NSW

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Close to the centre of Florence
Cons: A lift. Also the staff at breakfast and the porter were not very friendly
Location: Near the duomo and the city centre - so good for walking
We were unaware that the hotel was in a back street. There was no lift in the hotel and the first room they put us in had no hot water. They did move us to a different room.