Ratings based on 404 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

If you don't mind dirty bed

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The location and the staff of the hotel are amazing, but the room bed was disgusting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NS Canada

Loved the hotel it was just what I was looking for

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Loved it. It was my daughter's first trip to Italy and I wanted to make it special the hotel helped me do that.
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Caring staff and great room!

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast was mediocre at best. The room was gorgeous though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Location and privacy
Cons: Tea, cofee plus kettle in room like in other hotels
Location: Very central and easy to reach tourist sites walking
Very pleasant and very central to museums and restaurants. Breakfast is something to look forward to and helpings ample. The hotel is a mixture of antique and fun and the garden is very relaxing and discreet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, shame about reception staff

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Good location, lovely breakfast and waiting staff, very well maintained hotel. Nice room.
Cons: The reception staff were downright obnoxious.This includes the manager. They don't like people with mobility issues, even those who don't need help.
Location: Very quiet. Nice little square with the super I Ghibellini restaurant that has GREAT pizza. The hotel is also very near the best ice cream shop.
This is a lovely hotel. It is beautifully decorated, well maintained and our room was very nice too. The breakfast room is charming and the breakfast bountiful and varied. The staff here deserve special mention for always refilling the buffet, providing cappucinos super quick and being cheerful and charming. However, the reception staff and manager were anything but charming, helpful or welcoming. It helps if you are not a foreigner ( Italian guests got a fulsome welcome) and don't take a wheelchair!!! My Mother is nearly 90 and has mobility issues. We were flatly told that they should have been told she uses "one of those" as she won't get around the hotel. I knew there were steps and Mum can do steps and I told them it was fine. There was no welcome, only lots of discussion between them. We ceased to exist. They were so rude. I was shown to our room to see if "she can get there, we are full!!!!". I told them the room was fine but could we have a garden room. I was told we would need to ask the manager, he was at lunch, she had no idea when he would be back, maybe 20 or 30 minutes and she just turned her back on me and I was just left there. The manager was worse. He went on and on about the hotel being 700 years old and that they were full. All I asked was for a garden view room and had to inform him, having a wheelchair was not an infectious disease!!! In the end I had to tell him how insulting and rude he was being to my Mother and he just walked away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, old world charm, very romantic!

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is amazing! If you are looking for historic old wold charm that is friendly, clean, and romantic - this is it! Plus breakfast serves the best cappuccino ever! A must to stay here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a very old palace and there was no ventilation at all so we left our window open. The outside noise was loud very early morning and there were mosquitos, of course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old World Charm

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Loved this hotel. Very interesting antiques. Not your typical hotel. Very special place!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and gracious small hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the Monna Lisa's beautiful old staircases and windows and garden and tiles and people. Very good location and charming experience. The bed could have been a bit softer but otherwise all perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and close to local main attractions

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Amazing and inspiring experience, some sports and bigger tv would be great.