Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Francis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by William from London

Bad nighttime experience

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
This was a bad experience. Having booked in late in the evening, the night porter had no idea we were coming and was really rude to us. He argued with us that we had no reservation and suggested that we were lying. This put a negative start to the trip as it was late at night. He also made us pay twice which was disconcerting. The night porter had no idea what was going on and was not permitted to look at the email from hotels.com which was in front of him. He was also very rude about letting us in and out of the hotel as we had to go and park our car (which he gave no help or guidance with). The room was basic and in decent condition for the price paid. The hotel is in a perfect location for central Florence but parking is difficult. Would not recommend at all. Avoid if at all possible. Staff are useless and rude causing distress to residents.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2016 by the staff, Hotel Management
You never stay at our hotel , your reservation was cancelled cause your credit card was not valid (no money).How can you give us a comment without Knowing our hotel ?We have no words to describe your attitude.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Emiliano from USA

Stay for the location

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location, poor quality hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not What Expected

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Cons: I wanted water and I had to go down the street to buy some. I would have been nice if they provided it for their guests.
Location: It is near the train station and in the heart of Mercado Centrale. It is 10 minutes from the Duomo and 15 minutes from Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio
I stayed in Florence for two days. The hotel is not as nice as the pictures online. The pictures are taken in a way to make the hotel look nicer than it is. It is an old hotel on the third floor of a building with no elevator. The rooms are really basic and a little run down. The location is near the train station and in Mercado Centrale where all the vendors try to push their products on you everytime you walk buy which I didn't enjoy. It isn't in the nicest area of Florence, but all the tourist attractions are with 15 minutes walking distance. The Accademia and David are the closest to the hotel with only a 5 minute walk. I was disappointed and wouldn't want to stay there again. I would suggest a hotel near the Duomo or Ponte Vecchio if you want to be in a nicer area of Florence.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Smoothy from UK

Satisfactory

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
Satisfactory
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

A terrible hotel and not worth for money paid

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff was very friendly.
Cons: The whole hotel should be renovated.
Location: Lots of restaurants and shopping areas nearby.
Hotel should has been rated below 2 stars. The hotel room was so small. The air-conditioner in my room made continuous water drops to me while sleeping and it was too noisy that we could not sleep. The toilet bowl cover was not properly fixed and created inconvinces when using the toilet. Room was not clean enough.
2 out of 5
by travelarch from usa

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels
For USD330 I expected better. A ground floor room, the only window was into a (pleasant) courtyard/patio used for morning breakfast. The problem was several guests used the courtyard/patio for smoking and loud conversation most of the evening/night until about 3:00 AM. There was not a single clothes hanger in the wardrobe/closet, no towel rods or hooks in the bathroom, and no shelves or counters for toiletries. There was also a curious stair leading up 6 steps to a blank wall.
3 out of 5
by JapanTraveller from Tokyo

Expedia error

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Hotel Centro, Except weak WiFi, everything was OK here. Helpful staff. Clean overall and breakfasts are on the frugal side but are OK
Cons: Hotel Centro: WiFi need a stronger signal, and the walls/doors need better sound proofing so we don't hear lovers going at it.
Location: Hotel Centro: Location is great! Near Everything, specially Mercato Centrale which has nice and cheap food joints.
For some reason, the our reservation at this hotel through Expedia didn't go through. So they had no record of our arrival. But the manager was kind enough to find us a room at Hotel Centro (With elevator) located some 150 meters away from Hotel San Lorenzo (Which has no elevator to its 4th floor lobby) So the above rating is for Hotel Centro in via Taddea.