Ratings based on 949 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Very good hotel, great location, breathtaking view

Posted May 22, 2017
Nice hotel, superb location, beautiful Santa Maria Novella piazza. Good room on the top floor with a breathtaking view of the piazza. Exceptional service, very nice and attentive staff, very clean everywhere. A little bit overpriced for what we got, would recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from East Coast USA

Tasteful and enchanting hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
Cons: The lighting around the bathroom mirror was inadequate and the shower head sprayed water in every direction Easily fixable Otherwise perfection!
Beautifully and tastefully decorated hotel with sizable rooms and efficient and delightful staff. Fresh flowers, intimate public rooms filled with antiques and quality paintings. Wonderfully located on the piazza and across from the historic church. Accessible to all of the historic city center. One-half km from the train station. Good restaurants abound in the area including two of the premier restaurants in Florence
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice location and quiet room

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Location, professional hotel staff, quiet and comfortable room
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Uffizi museum, Galleria dell'Academia, Duomo, nice restaurants, Pisa, Cinque Terre, Sierra, San Gimignano all doable distance
Located right by Santa Maria Novella Piazza, close to train station and sights, you really can't ask for more. Check in was quick, all hotel staff was professional and courteous. We were given a room on the top floor (6th) which was quiet and better than average size for EU hotel rooms. Room was well appointed and comfortable. Full buffet breakfast was served in a nice hotel restaurant. VIP+ perk of complementary bottle of prosecco was a nice touch! If we visit Florence again this is definitely the hotel that we will stay again. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Very lovely hotel in the heart of Florence.The room as lovely and overlooking the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We very much enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The staff was so helpful. Our room was lovely. My wife loved the bathroom.we enjoyed your hotel and city so much that we are coming back on 24 may.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not bother with the rooms with a view.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very nice, and clean. The breakfast was excellent. The location was good
Location: This hotel is with in easy walking distance of most places in Florence including the train station
We booked a room with a view, which was a little extra money. When we were taken to our room it over looked a VERY noisy square and it was extremely hot. We tried to turn on the Air Conditioning but it did not go on. We were told that in Tuscany, they are not allowed to turn the AC. (which by the way is not true, we were in restaurants, shops and museums that had AC) We asked to be moved and wound up in a room over looking a back ally, which was fine, it was a lot cooler and quieter. We asked for some money back on our bill and they refused, they said, they gave us what we asked for. It was not their problem we did not like the noisy, hot room. They did comp us for 2 glasses of wine, after I shamed them into it. Do not bother spending the money on the rooms with a view.. Also there are a lot of steps to go up and down, along the corridors going from the elevator to the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Lovely hotel, great staff, perfect location!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The size of the room, well-appointed bathroom. The special touches like the welcome fruit basket. The yummy breakfast!!
Location: Near the train station. Less then 10 minute walk to the Duomo; Less than 15 minute walk to the Arno River.
The Hotel Santa Maria Novella was the perfect location for my mother and me. We booked a suite (I highly recommend room #601) which had a 2-tiered private terrace. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was huge, homemade and delicious! The fresh breads were so so good!! We loved our location which was just 2-3 blocks from the busy areas, so a bit more quiet at night. And as other reviewers mentioned, it's a quick and easy 5-minute walk to the train station (dragging luggage and all).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Location, location, location....

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Wonderful staff, very accommodating, helped us out in a special situation. Location was great, easy access to all of Florence. Amazing decore that gave a real feeling of old world Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great position

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Friendly staff, very helpful. Hotel situated, in centre of city. Easy access to restaurants, train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DR

Nice Hotel in City Center

Posted Mar 17, 2017
We loved our stay at Santa Maria Novella. Breakfast is good amd rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated. Bathroom is small. It is located in Santa Maria Novella Square near equidistant to mayor attractions such as el Duomo, Academia and Uffizi & Ponte Vechio. Good restaurants and shops nearby. Loved the experience.