Ratings based on 939 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The staff was so helpful. Our room was lovely. My wife loved the bathroom.we enjoyed your hotel and city so much that we are coming back on 24 may.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not bother with the rooms with a view.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very nice, and clean. The breakfast was excellent. The location was good
Location: This hotel is with in easy walking distance of most places in Florence including the train station
We booked a room with a view, which was a little extra money. When we were taken to our room it over looked a VERY noisy square and it was extremely hot. We tried to turn on the Air Conditioning but it did not go on. We were told that in Tuscany, they are not allowed to turn the AC. (which by the way is not true, we were in restaurants, shops and museums that had AC) We asked to be moved and wound up in a room over looking a back ally, which was fine, it was a lot cooler and quieter. We asked for some money back on our bill and they refused, they said, they gave us what we asked for. It was not their problem we did not like the noisy, hot room. They did comp us for 2 glasses of wine, after I shamed them into it. Do not bother spending the money on the rooms with a view.. Also there are a lot of steps to go up and down, along the corridors going from the elevator to the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Lovely hotel, great staff, perfect location!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The size of the room, well-appointed bathroom. The special touches like the welcome fruit basket. The yummy breakfast!!
Location: Near the train station. Less then 10 minute walk to the Duomo; Less than 15 minute walk to the Arno River.
The Hotel Santa Maria Novella was the perfect location for my mother and me. We booked a suite (I highly recommend room #601) which had a 2-tiered private terrace. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was huge, homemade and delicious! The fresh breads were so so good!! We loved our location which was just 2-3 blocks from the busy areas, so a bit more quiet at night. And as other reviewers mentioned, it's a quick and easy 5-minute walk to the train station (dragging luggage and all).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Location, location, location....

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Wonderful staff, very accommodating, helped us out in a special situation. Location was great, easy access to all of Florence. Amazing decore that gave a real feeling of old world Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great position

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Friendly staff, very helpful. Hotel situated, in centre of city. Easy access to restaurants, train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DR

Nice Hotel in City Center

Posted Mar 17, 2017
We loved our stay at Santa Maria Novella. Breakfast is good amd rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated. Bathroom is small. It is located in Santa Maria Novella Square near equidistant to mayor attractions such as el Duomo, Academia and Uffizi & Ponte Vechio. Good restaurants and shops nearby. Loved the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near trains which made it easy to take day trips.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Images on expedia of the hotel were correct. Florence is a beautiful city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Location

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing to dislike.
Location: Set perfectly near to the railway station and the hub of what you want to see.
The hotel does not have a sign. We walked around for an hour and finally saw the doormat with the name on ! Quite incredible for such a lovely hotel !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crieff, U.K.

Lovely stay

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The breakfast room is lovely and as the hotel kindly provided packed breakfasts for us when we checked out early morning.
Cons: The 'turndown' service is great however our rooms were missed one evening which was a little disappointing.
Location: Great location for visiting all main attractions and definitely do not miss a visit to the Mercato Centrale and make sure you are hungry when you do.
We last stayed in this hotel in 2008 and were happy to see they have managed to keep up their great standards since our last visit! Upon arrival we were a little disappointed not to have a room with the beautiful views of the piazza but even so our room was still gorgeous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Nice hotel, close to city centre, would recommend to friends