Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by hind

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great location though streets were very noisy in the morning. The room was neat but a bit dusty as my friend and I both started sneezing after the first night. Breakfast was decent and the owner made a homemade ricotta cheese and spinach quiche that was delicious!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Posted Mar 22, 2016
The location is very good for train station, and Basilicas.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but slightly disappointing otherwise

Posted Feb 26, 2016
Pros: location
There is no doubt that the hotel has a great location but otherwise it was not an enjoyable place. The blanket in the room didn't have a casing - just a sheet that moved over night and then you end up sleeping with a blanket without a cover. The water pressure in the shower was really bad and it was really hard to get a decent water temperature as you shower. As far as I know it is not mentioned anywhere before booking or in the hotel description but they insist you leave your room key at the front desk every time you get out of the hotel. I know that other hotels in Europe do this too but I personally don't like it, plus the safe in the room didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Unicorno

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Cons: Elevator starts AFTER you make a 10-13 step climb to the landing....
We had a lovely stay in Florence (2 weeks) at the Hotel Unicorno. It was centrally located, near the train station, within walking distance of almost everything in the city. We used local bus transportation (the stop was just steps from our door) for some of the longer excursions (Fiesole in the hills was a beautiful variation). The staff was ever-so friendly, helped with recommendations for restaurants and GELATO! I would recommend it for those on an unpretentious trip and those on a budget. We were hardly in the room at all. At night, because our room was near the back, on the 3rd floor, it was quiet. Breakfast each morning was sufficient: scrambled eggs, "hotdogs/meat", toast, cereals, ham/cheese, breads, jams, COFFEE MACHINE with many choices, yogurts, fresh fruit as well as canned fruit to add to cereal or yogurt. The room had a nice shower (no bath), with fresh lines each day if asked for; we went 2 days on the same towels...Yes, we would recommend this hotel for the budget-minded folks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Ideal location with pleasing staff

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Location, clean, staff, bed.
Cons: the smells, better espresso machine, better breakfasts.
Location: It Florence and everything is less than 15 minutes away!
The room was of a decent size and the staff made our stay memorable. Location was ideal and the bed, comfortable. The downsides was the odd shower that spread water all over the bathroom floor. There were some odd smells around the hotel that made the place less than awesome. Honestly the downsides were few, but would be noticed by most. All in all, it was a good time at a good hotel. Minor inconveniences aside, I'd recommend it to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in great location

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Spacious room- had extra day bed and Murphy bed for children
Cons: Breakfast could be a little better- perhaps better variety of meats and cheeses, and freshly baked breads
Location: Less than 2 blocks from Santa Maria Novella- a. Easy walk to all the major sights, museums, and churches. Nice variety of restaurants nearby.
Room. Was largest one we've eve had in Italy- a nice surprise. Large windows that opened for fresh air, very welcoming front desk staff, comfortable beds, roomy closet, modern bathroom with tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: excellent location and good services
Cons: bathroom shower
Room was clean and comfortable and lot of spaces.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: The shower water pressure could have been stronger.
Location: Located on a lovely road of antique shops close to both the SMN station and the river.
Loved our stay at this hotel. The staff were super friendly and the breakfast was a typical European hotel breakfast. Not bad at all. It is definitely worth paying the little bit extra for the superior double. The interior is very modern and clean. The location was the best aspect, with the hotel being situated on a quiet road but still very close to all the main tourist spots. Even the furthest places only took thirty minutes at a leisurely pace. The river is just at the end of the road so navigating our way around the city was that much easier. Just being two girls we were a little worried about safety before we arrived but there was no need to worry at all. The hotel desk was staffed 24 hours and the whole area was very family friendly. All in all it was a really pleasant trip and I'd recommend the hotel to anyone else who wants to visit Florence and plan to walk around the city.
2 out of 5
by Jennifer from Los Angeles

A run down and stingy operation.

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
The photos posted by management are very misleading. The hotel is rundown, and all common areas have a discomforting odor (like a soiled kitty litter box). Our room, especially the bathroom, was freezing cold. The heater in our room was locked in "off" position, I had to go down th front desk to ask them to let me use the heater in my room, then go down again to take off limit that they placed on the heater. Thermostat was broken, showing 25*celcius in the room, when it was actually closer to 19 degrees. It was so cold one night we couldn't shower and wore our wool sweaters and down jackets to bed. Breakfast was meager.. they served canned fruit cocktail and diced up Vienna sausage. No kettle in the room for tea or coffee. Lots of stair climbing required despite there being a small elevator. Bed linens and blankets were threadbare and rough like cardboard. I really wanted to like this place, but the location is really the only redeeming here (the train station is only a couple blocks away).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was really nice and helpful. My room was a bit small, but overall comfortable. There is a spacious lobby, for working or reading. The position is just great. Overall, the hotel is a great value for the price.