Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Excellent location, friendly staffs, clean n tidy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi
No wifi and awful bathroom, however location was very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Nice hotel close to train station and old town

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Our second stay during our trip to Florence and Tuscany. This time we got a very quiet room on the second floor. The staff is very professional and helpful. Room was dated, but clean and practical. We had a good night's sleep before getting an early taxi to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Great hotel close to train station and old town

Posted Apr 5, 2016
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Got some great suggestions for places to see and places to go. Got a great breakfast every morning. The room was clean and fairly spacious. The only concern was the noise from traffic outside and people yelling until around 4in the morning. I would ask for a room away from the street next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Posted Mar 22, 2016
The location is very good for train station, and Basilicas.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but slightly disappointing otherwise

Posted Feb 26, 2016
Pros: location
There is no doubt that the hotel has a great location but otherwise it was not an enjoyable place. The blanket in the room didn't have a casing - just a sheet that moved over night and then you end up sleeping with a blanket without a cover. The water pressure in the shower was really bad and it was really hard to get a decent water temperature as you shower. As far as I know it is not mentioned anywhere before booking or in the hotel description but they insist you leave your room key at the front desk every time you get out of the hotel. I know that other hotels in Europe do this too but I personally don't like it, plus the safe in the room didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Unicorno

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Cons: Elevator starts AFTER you make a 10-13 step climb to the landing....
We had a lovely stay in Florence (2 weeks) at the Hotel Unicorno. It was centrally located, near the train station, within walking distance of almost everything in the city. We used local bus transportation (the stop was just steps from our door) for some of the longer excursions (Fiesole in the hills was a beautiful variation). The staff was ever-so friendly, helped with recommendations for restaurants and GELATO! I would recommend it for those on an unpretentious trip and those on a budget. We were hardly in the room at all. At night, because our room was near the back, on the 3rd floor, it was quiet. Breakfast each morning was sufficient: scrambled eggs, "hotdogs/meat", toast, cereals, ham/cheese, breads, jams, COFFEE MACHINE with many choices, yogurts, fresh fruit as well as canned fruit to add to cereal or yogurt. The room had a nice shower (no bath), with fresh lines each day if asked for; we went 2 days on the same towels...Yes, we would recommend this hotel for the budget-minded folks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Ideal location with pleasing staff

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Location, clean, staff, bed.
Cons: the smells, better espresso machine, better breakfasts.
Location: It Florence and everything is less than 15 minutes away!
The room was of a decent size and the staff made our stay memorable. Location was ideal and the bed, comfortable. The downsides was the odd shower that spread water all over the bathroom floor. There were some odd smells around the hotel that made the place less than awesome. Honestly the downsides were few, but would be noticed by most. All in all, it was a good time at a good hotel. Minor inconveniences aside, I'd recommend it to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in great location

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Spacious room- had extra day bed and Murphy bed for children
Cons: Breakfast could be a little better- perhaps better variety of meats and cheeses, and freshly baked breads
Location: Less than 2 blocks from Santa Maria Novella- a. Easy walk to all the major sights, museums, and churches. Nice variety of restaurants nearby.
Room. Was largest one we've eve had in Italy- a nice surprise. Large windows that opened for fresh air, very welcoming front desk staff, comfortable beds, roomy closet, modern bathroom with tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: excellent location and good services
Cons: bathroom shower
Room was clean and comfortable and lot of spaces.