Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

... UNIQUE

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Funky spooky place. Disorganized check in, VERY challenging to find.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exc. service but property didn't meet expectations

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
The property is a huge mansion built in the 15th century and has grand proportions, but is tired and in need of restoration. Location was not easy to find. There was us and two friends of ours occupying a 2nd guest room so the place felt somewhat deserted. Our room and attached bath (shower, no tub) was clean. Service was excellent. The 4 of us were the only diners in the restaurant and they accomodated our request for dinner at 6pm (an hour earlier than their 7pm opening time). The next morning, we got up very late because of jetlag and time zone change, and had missed the breakfast time of 7 - 10. But when we got up, they told us that they had set aside breakfast for us and served it to us in the restaurant. Staff was very friendly and helpful. On balance, we gave it a low rating because we were expecting a luxurious, romantic setting (judging by their photos on their website) and were disappointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth every penny

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful villa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel, unique experience

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Staying here is an unique experience. We booked a standard room, but when we saw the superior/deluxe rooms, we decided to upgrade. These rooms are amazing with incredible paintings and vintage furniture. We got the feeling of travelling back in time while staying there. The building is actually 1000 years old and there is so much history in the walls here. The front desk lady was very friendly and helpful. We also got to meet the owner, an elderly lady who stops by in the evenings. Do not expect a 5 star hotel, the breakfast was poor and the waiter reminded us a bit of Manuel from Fawlty Towers. The charge extra for the eggs at breakfast and the drinks in the bar were a bit overpriced. The hotel could need some renovation and the garden had not been watered in some while. However, if you are willing to see through the fingers in these matters, you will have a memorable and fantastic stay here.
5 out of 5
by Raymond from Beaver pa

a hidden Itallian treasure

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
this villa may be a little hard to find w/o gps but is worth the trouble once inside this 900+ year old villa is fantastic the whole facility is just beautiful. gardens could use a little tlc but are great fruit trees rose bushes the swimming pool very clean food at restaurant was also very good, breakfast could use a little help. all in all just great
4 out of 5
by Robert from Dursley, Gloucestershire

Villoresi Stop off for MotoGP

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
We found this hotel when looking for hotels local to Mugello race circuit as all the very close hotels and b&b's were fully booked months in advance. It's a bit further out than I would of wanted from Mugello as it was 35km and 45min drive but none the less it was a great hotel steeped with history. A 12th century family house with beautiful views of tree lined hills in the background. The main hallway is something else! The main attraction was onsite parking and out of town as we were in a hire car and If damaged you get a hefty fine so nice for the car to be off the busy city centre streets like other recommend hotels in near by Firenze (aka Florence) The staff are very friendly and all spoke better English than I do Italian which always helps. I can't comment on food or drink as I didn't get to sample it with getting up early and coming home late from the MotoGP. But I only heard good things from others staying there. Rooms were fairly basic and bathroom was small but overall it was clean enough and I'm just happy to get my head down at night. The halls are very echoey so if you have noisy guests you can get woken up. The owner Christina was an absolute star! Couldn't do enough for us even when we wanted to check out at 4am! She even made us a super strong tasty espresso to keep us going before setting off.
5 out of 5
by zanobia from florida /usa

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
excellent location
4 out of 5
by Lene

Very special delightful experience

Posted Jun 27, 2015 on Hotels
this hotel is a gem, a refuge, a timeboble, it was a very special experience that we would love to go back to. We enjoyed the pool, the loggia, the garden, the whole villa with its cosy corners. The dinners we can recommend, not cheap but worth it. We got a small room on groundfloor, but it was fine. Staff are very nice and helpful, english speaking. It was difficult to find from the station and no taxi was around, when we arrived with train, nobody in Sesto seems to speak english. Its easy to go to Florence, Lucca, Pisa with train from Sesto. Only thing we could recommend upgraded is breakfast, more fresh bread and fresh cheese. Its mostly plastic wrapped things. But good capuchino.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from surrey

Quaint hotel - a little quirky.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: The staff are great.
Cons: Exterior lighting would be beneficial. Some light music in the restaurant as it was totally devoid of any sort of warmth or ambience.
Location: Sesto florentino town is very nice and there are several restaurants and bars. It's not buzzing but it is pleasant enough.
Quaint & quirky hotel. Staff could not have been more helpful. Slightly out of the way and grounds at night are poorly lit which leaves you feeling a little vulnerable. The hotel lacks atmosphere & ambience. Could do with a bit of updating and renovation and some wonderful 'il divo' whilst enjoying a meal in the restaurant. Whilst I had an enjoyable stay I would not rush back there.